List your home
Apply filters
£ to

View from the main pool

Villa | 3 bedrooms | sleeps 6

Key Info
  • Beach or lakeside relaxation
  • Swimming Pool
  • Great for children of all ages
  • No pets allowed
  • Private garden
  • Car not necessary

Upendo Zanzibar brings a new concept to the island... luxury, style, comfort and the services of an excellent boutique hotel.. incorporated within a stylish serviced luxury villa with pool & lounge/ restaurant!

Tailormaid services to help make your stay in Zanzibar unique and unforgettable.. as we want you to come back!

Upendo brings you 'chic on the beach'!

Check out our beautiful beach which was used in a Vogue UK fashion shoot in the March 2011edition!

The owner of this exclusive stylish villa has fused together two very different styles, (a contemporary home beautifully finished using local materials and craftsman) giving you all the modern comforts you could need.

The furniture (designed by the owner), is made from beautiful coconut wood. This all adds to the atmosphere and gives inspiring personal touches.

An efficient team comprising of your own private chef (optional); butler; housekeeper; gardener and security guard, ensure that you are well looked after and help to make the retreat an unforgettable experience for those who stay with us.

Our cuisine offers fresh sea food, including, crab, lobsters, prawns, fish, tropical fruits and of course our famous Zanzibar spices. Everything at the villa is cooked to order by your private chef who will help plan your daily meals including delicious vegetarian options.

There is a private plunge pool on the deck of the villa, as well as a main pool area located next to a full service restaurant and bar on the same site. There are sun decks around the pool area that a great for relaxing and perfecting that holiday tan! Dedicated high speed internet is included in the rate. Full laundry service also available and a manger on site 24 hrs, arranging of excursions, water sports and tailor made trips.

Size Sleeps up to 6, 3 bedrooms
Will consider Corporate bookings, Long term lets (over 1 month), Short breaks (1-4 days)
Access Car not necessary, Wheelchair users
Nearest travel links Nearest airport: Stone town 50 km, Nearest railway: N/A
Family friendly Great for children of all ages, Suitable for people with restricted mobility
Notes No pets allowed, Yes, smoking allowed

Features and Facilities

Luxuries Internet access, Staffed property, Boat available, Sea view
General CD player, Wi-Fi available
Standard Kettle, Toaster
Utilities Cooker, Fridge, Freezer
Rooms 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms of which 3 En suites
Furniture Double beds (3), Dining seats for 10, Lounge seats for 10
Other Linen provided, Towels provided
Outdoors Balcony or terrace, Private garden, BBQ, Bicycles available
Access Wheelchair users, Secure parking
Further details indoors

1 Three spacious bedrooms: a master with bathroom on suite and two further bedroom, each with private balconies, sharing a large family bathroom

2 Spacious open plan living room, dinning and kitchen with beach views

3 Fully equipped kitchen with wine cooler, ice cube machine, American fridge/freezer, espresso machine etc

4 Beautifully designed bathrooms with bath tubs and European standard luxury rain showers

5 Large sun-deck overlooking the beach and the ocean with lounge & swing beds

6 Private access to stunning secluded beach

7 Private staff

8 Private plunge pool & large club house pool on site

Unlike most villas our staff are full time and always on hand to assist you.

All linen, towels, beach towels are included. Our staff – your staff during your stay – will clean the villas every day and provide snacks and drinks at any time to suit you.

We have high speed internet/WIFI free within the house

A beautiful large deck running the length of the house overlooking our unique and beautiful beach with stylish comfortable double lounge beds & sing beds where we guarantee you will spend most of your time when at the villa!

An onsite lounge bar where you can also choose to relax and socialise with other guests if you wish!

Further details outdoors

The area of Michamvi is as yet a little off the beaten track but within easy driving distance to night life and busier beaches if you so wish..

This is one of the most unique and stunning corners of the island with many secluded coves and beaches to discover on your walks.

We are close to excellent diving and snorkelling spots, kite centres and deep sea fishing locations depending on your interests!

Everything can be arranged for you and we are happy to communicate and organise whatever you need prior to your arrival should you wish..

Further details


The Zanzibar region

He presence of microlithic tools attests to at least 1,000 years of human occupation of Zanzibar. The islands became part of the historical record of the wider world when Persian traders discovered them and used them as a base for voyages between the Middle East, India, and Africa. Unguja, the larger island, offered a protected and defensible harbour, so although the archipelago offered few products of value, the Persians settled at what became Zanzibar City (Stone Town) as a convenient point from which to trade with East African coastal towns.

The Old Fort and part of Stone town

They established garrisons on the islands and built the first Zoroastrian fire temples and mosque in the Southern hemisphere.[4]

During the Age of Exploration, the Portuguese Empire was the first European power to gain control of Zanzibar, and the Portuguese kept it for nearly 200 years. In 1698, Zanzibar fell under the control of the Sultanate of Oman, which developed an economy of trade and cash crops with a ruling Arab elite. Plantations were developed to grow spices, hence the term Spice Islands. Another major trade good for Zanzibar was ivory. The Sultan of Zanzibar controlled a substantial portion of the East African coast, known as Zanj; this included Mombasa, Dar es Salaam, and trading routes that extended much further inland, such as the route leading to Kindu on the Congo River. Zanzibar was famous worldwide for its spices and its slaves. It was East Africa's main slave-trading port, and in the mid-19th century as many as 50,000 slaves were passing through the slave markets of Zanzibar each year.

Monument to the slaves in Zanzibar

Sometimes gradually and sometimes by fits and starts, control of Zanzibar came into the hands of the British Empire; part of the political impetus for this was the 19th century movement for the abolition of the slave trade. The relationship between Britain and the German Empire, at that time the nearest relevant colonial power, was formalized by the 1890 Heligoland-Zanzibar Treaty, in which Germany pledged not to interfere with British interests in insular Zanzibar. That year, Zanzibar became a protectorate (not a colony) of Britain. From 1890 to 1913, traditional viziers were appointed to govern as puppets, switching to a system of British residents (effectively governors) from 1913 to 1963. The death of the pro-British Sultan Hamad bin Thuwaini on 25 August 1896 and the succession of Sultan Khalid bin Barghash of whom the British did not approve led to the Anglo-Zanzibar War. On the morning of 27 August 1896, ships of the Royal Navy destroyed the Beit al Hukum Palace. A cease fire was declared 38 minutes later, and to this day the bombardment stands as the shortest war in history.

The islands gained independence from Britain in December 1963 as a constitutional monarchy. A month later, the bloody Zanzibar Revolution, in which thousands of Arabs and Indians were killed in a genocide and thousands more expelled,led to the establishment of the Republic of Zanzibar and Pemba. That April, the republic was subsumed by the mainland former colony of Tanganyika. This United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar was soon renamed (as a portmanteau) the United Republic of Tanzania, of which Zanzibar remains a semi-autonomous region..


The area of Michamvi is also famous for its bay called Chwaka Bay and a little sandbank island called Paradise island where you can excape and sunbath, snorkel and where we can arrange fo you to take a packed beach pick nick

You can do a village tour where you can get a feel for local ife and traditions or do a mangrove boat trip on a local fishing boat called a dhow or nglawa

Close by we have excellent snorkelling & dive spots as well as kite surfing schools and deep sea fishing areas .. trips/ training can be arranged on request for all

We are within 40 mins of the area of Kizamkazi famous in zanzibar for those who wish to swim with dolphins.

Jozani Forest: The only remaining natural forest on Unguja Island is a heaven for nature lovers! With a rich variety of bird species, Jozani also offers the unique opportunity of seeing the very rare Red Colobus Monkey, which is indigenous to the Island of Zanzibar.. its only 1/2hr away from us here at Upendo!

Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor

Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor

Review 1-10 of 13

14 Jan 2014


"Nuit insolite dans un bungalow en feuille de cocotier sur la plage!"

Upendo propose aussi un petit bungalow entiérement en bois et coco sur la plage. Le tout sur fond de musique lounge du bar de la piscine design. Un mélange des genres que nous beaucoup apprécié, c… More

6 Apr 2013


"More guesthouse than villa - poor quality accomodation"

Two of us stayed at Upendo Villa for 4 nights in the main bedroom on a bed and breakfast basis.THE GOODThe staff are incredible. Helpful, friendly and passionate about their work. Some of the best ser… More

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review us and for your kind words with regards to the service you experienced and the overall set up and food at Upendo.

I would like to address however the areas that you were not to happy with point by point so that you have my feedback for all items.

You mention in the review that you had raised to management that you were unhappy with several things in the villa but that you were not asked for the details.
The first day of your arrival you were met by Anna my manager so I was no there to greet you, however on the following two evenings I was at the restaurant and sat and spoke with you and your wife over drinks and you had not mentioned any of your points that you have raised here in the review, which I am disappointed by.
The Shower:
I had come to you to apologies for the issue with regards to the shower and offered you the use of the other bathroom in the villa (as had Anna before me), however I understand you preferred to continue using the one en suite to your room. The pressure was fixed however you seemed to require the water to be very hot and so we adjusted the thermostat for you a number of times to ensure you had what you required, but seemed we could't find the correct temperature that you required. I believe Freddie (one of our main guys on the team) personally adjusted the temperature for you 3 times during the course of one evening in order to satisfy your requirement. I believe we did the best we could to accommodate your request.

The Rates & Card Charges:
In regards to the rates, my apologies that I quoted an outdated rate to you over the phone which usually I do not like to do as we usually accept all enquiry over email to ensure this kind of mistake doesn't occur. I believe I had been upfront ad advised you that I had made the error and nothing further was said. You had not asked for me to honour the previously quoted rates and I would ask that you remember you yourself were unsure what package you wanted Full Board, Half Board etc and went back and forth a number of times.
On confirmation that you would like to book I had sent you and email asking for a deposit payable by card online and clarified the 5% service charge added by the card issuer (a standard practice for all issuers). Given that this had been clarified to you in writing and that you and advised you would be paying the balance of your accommodation and extras in cash, i believe we had covered the issue of charges.

The Mosquito Net:
On the second evening whilst sitting with you and your wife over a glass of wine, your wife mentioned to me that there was a problem with mosquitos in your room and that they were getting onto the other side of the net. She said she thinks she can see how this is happening and could show me. I went with her to the room and she showed me a place in the corner of the netting where they could be coming through. This was all discussed on your last nights stay with us and later in the evening. I said I could ask housekeeping to change to the other net that we have as this maybe a better fit and as it was late and your last night it was agreed to leave it. I remember thanking your wife for advising and taking the time to show me the problem. We have since had new nets made to address the problem.

The Room:
You mention in the review that the room floor has cracking and that the general state of the room was below approval. This had not been mentioned to either myself or Anna. However, I will address this now for your reference: the cracking on the floor is characteristic of cement floors that are laid in this traditional method. Its very much part of the character of this type of flooring and we have never had any complaint before of this nature. I believe this issue is a matter of personal taste as I personally do not like terrazzo cement finishings or tiles.
In regards to the your comment that the room was unclean, the housekeeper is cleaning your room twice daily and I believe as you spoke Swahili you were conversing with him regularly. I have checked with him and Anna if you had raised this issue during your stay and both were un aware that you were unhappy. I can only suggest to you that it would be good for you to raise this to us at the time so that we could have actioned accordingly. On checking the rooms after cleaning we did not see this issue.

The Beach:
You mention that you had discussed with me the rubbish at the front of Upendo. I believe I had a long discussion about tides, where and what times its possible to swim even when the tide is out, the fact that we here in Zanzibar we have natural beaches where there is seaweed at certain seasons (such as when you stayed with us) and that as we are at the end of the stretch of beach in a small cove we at time 'collect' seaweed at our end which is impossible to clean except the obvious items such as plastic bottles, tins etc that is all cleaned every morning by our team. This is a challenging issue for all of us living in Zanzibar especially as you want to live in harmony within the community. They are experiencing huge changes and growth and the infrastructure is still trying to catch up. Waste disposal and its management is such an issue that we are trying to address. In short I feel its unfair to pinpoint only Upendo as having this issue and one needs to understand the position and location of our property in comparison to Dar House (that you mention) and understand how and what is causing the build up of natural MARINE waste on the beach. We clean vigorously the man made rubbish and waste that is left by tourists or locals as they enjoy the beach.
In summary, we thank you for your feedback and I am personally glad that you enjoyed and appreciated the good location, service and food as well as the comforts of Upendo. Your feedback is always welcome and helps us to perfect and rectify things that were not bought to our attention before.
We hope that you will consider us again in the future and give us the opportunity to demonstrate that we take your feedback seriously.

3 Mar 2013


"Terrific, quality beach retreat in Zanzibar"

Upendo is wonderful - a couple of cottages and a guest house with 3 bedrooms & a gourmet kitchen (apparently available to rent entirely, but we just rented the master suite for the 2 of us). A lovely … More

22 Jan 2013


"Upendo - An Instant Love Affair"

First of all I want to say thank you to Trish and her fabulous staff members including Anna and all the guys at the bar. As with anywhere - the people make it! The staff at Upendo were truly wonderful… More

1 Jan 2013


"Nice beach villa, yet overpriced!"

Nice beach villa, yet overpriced!
We stayed at Upendo Villa for 5 nights.
Located right on the beach, steps from the famed Rock  restaurant, views of the water are amazing!
Staff was very attentive and welcoming, especially Anna, Hamis and Frederic.
Food was very good, though lunch/dinner were not always consistent.
The Villa is rustic with pretty basic amenities - not reflective of the price.
There are no screens on the windows, so if you don't like flying creatures, it is not for you (beds are covered with  mosquito nets but some make their way in).
Water pressure is a big problem here, so there is no use for the rain showerheads, one of which doesn't work at all.
We did not find the Ipod docking system, and the wifi was very slow when it was available at all.
Overall the experience was nice, but the charge of 130$ for the laundry, which we assumed was part of the whole deal, was irritating. Not only was there no mention or price list, but we would have done it ourselves since the washing machine is located in the bathroom.
All of the excursions we booked through Trish, the owner/manager, were substentially marked up, by up to 50%!
Overall, it felt like we were charged for a 5 * hotel, but enjoyed a simple beach villa. I would reccomend staying here, but make sure to finalize all the fine details beforehand!

15 Oct 2012


"UPENDO means LOVE...It was created with love and attention to every detail.."

UPENDO is for you, if you want to feel at home, if you dream of wide beach and big turquoise ocean that stretches beyond the horizon bit off the beaten track (no big resorts in the proximity), if yo… More

28 Aug 2012


"Lil Paradise !"

spent 3 nights and felt bad not knowing about the place a week earlier ...very good servicesvery good foodvery clean and stylishly designedthe owner Trish and Anna are very helpful and took care of ev… More

26 Feb 2012


"Perfect holiday in paradise!"

We stayed at Upendo for 10 nights and we enjoyed every single moment! This was surely the best and most relaxing holiday we have ever had. The reasons for that are many:1) the staff was amazing, so fr… More

15 Nov 2011


"Tropical Island Paradise"

This is a hidden gem at the far end of the island in a beautiful national park. It's not a big, shiny resort but is a small, boutique place with very personal service. I was travelling by myself … More

9 Nov 2011



Trish the owner has fully destroyed our holiday for 7000 usd! !she is a fraud!Stay far away from this place if you do not want to experience the followings for a lot of money!!!The food is inedible ( … More

I am saddened to read your dishonest review on Trip Advisor, after the numerous efforts made by both my staff and myself to address your concerns and complaints.

However, I think it is important to respond to each of the points on your review one at a time given the serious nature of your allegations:
1. 'the food is inedible' – you were on our Half Board plan (breakfast and 3 course dinner). It was a surprise to me when after being with us for seven full days where you ate breakfast, lunch and dinner at Upendo, without one complaint or any aparent dissatisfaction with the food, that I read this on your review, especially given that I was present for all your meals (except one dinner) and took/ advised on choices for your meals.
2. 'the beds are loaded with fleas' – on the morning of the seventh day of your stay, you were to leave on your 2 day safari early the next morning, you told me that there were fleas in your bed, which of course I took very seriously and asked to see your room / bed, however, you told me to check for it later as you wanted to discuss compensation first. I asked again that we should look at the bed so that we can see the issue and confirmed twice with you that it was only your bed and the other couple were ok. You confirmed twice it was only your bed.
We stripped the bed, found no evidence of fleas but still disinfected the whole bed and room (luckily it's all cement), sheets and put new bedding in the room.
3. 'no water at night' – this was true on one occasion as we had a power outage in the early hours of the morning (these are frequent but short in Zanzibar whilst our new link to the mainland is being repaired) and our system uses a water pump, so for a short period while the generator is started you would experience no water. This was explained the following morning to make you aware and clarify the challenge.
4. 'her staff used the villa to cook for her restaurant' – we bake fresh bread on the premises for our in-house guests breakfast. This was explained and I further evidenced this by reviewing the restaurant menu with you to clarify that we do not serve any items requiring bread on the menu. Baking fresh bread in the villa oven kitchen for your breakfast is a small touch that our previous guests have all appreciated.
5. 'uses our bathroom to wash her staff's cloths' – in our family bathroom within the villa we have the washing machine where the housekeeper washes all linens, napkins, towels, and villa staff shirts as well as separately doing guest laundry. The in-house staff wear logoed polo shirts as uniform. We wash these to ensure staff are always in clean laundered shirts at the villa. Again this was explained. We are not a large hotel but a private villa (home away from home is our philosophy) with currently only one area to do all laundry for the villa. Staffs private washing is never done here. Like all establishments we charge for laundry unless guests are on an All Inclusive package where its included (standard amount).
6. 'She has promised to refund at least two days which we did not spend there (we went for a trip) but when we were back she denied it and did not refund a penny furthermore she re rented our fully paid house for other guest' – your booking was for 14 nights including the two days that you would be on safari, you clarifying that you wanted to keep the villa on and pay for it even though you planned to be away two nights. As compensation for the complaints that were made prior to your departure for the safari I offered to pay your airport transfer to Upendo plus your food and drinks bill (including sparkling & fine wines and spirits) upto that day(not an insignificant sum). In addition you had a taxi bill of $150 for taxi transfers that had been arranged for you but you left without paying. Upendo additionally settled this bill with the company used.
You asked that I refund you an additional two nights' accommodation as you would not be there but i clearified that would not be possible given that was the way you planned your original trip. On returning from your safari, you arrived at the villa and refused to speak with any of the staff who were there to welcome you. We had expected you early morning as per your instruction so after waiting for you until 10am, I had to leave as I had an important engagement in town. On your arrival back, you kept your taxi waiting, packed your luggage, that had been left at Upendo and checked yourselves out of the villa, returning keys. No attempt was made to contact or discuss anything with me, my staff called me to advise me that you had left, but at this point there was nothing I could do as I was already in town. I had no contact for you except email.
We heard nothing from you until the next day mid morning when you sent a text asking for a two nights stay refund, which had already been addressed and refused as adequate compensation had already been paid.
You arrived at Upendo late afternoon of the same day demanding to check back into the villa, which I advised was no longer possible as we had already rented out two of the rooms to walk-in guests that morning given that you had already checked out the day before. You then proceeded to enter the villa, (after many verbal attempts at stopping you) and walked into the master bedroom where my guest was breastfeeding her baby and demanded that she leave.
In order to resolve the issue and not cause more upset than had occurred already, I agreed to refund the additional two night stay that you had been demanding. This immediately resolved the issue and you were happy to leave. To clarify you were and have been more than adequately 'compensated' prior to your departure from Zanzibar.

I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay in Zanzibar, but it's clear that it was not your intention or within our control to deliver.

Review 1-10 of 13

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.


Min stay varies

Changeover day Flexible


This is the estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Contact the advertiser to confirm the price - it varies depending on when you stay and how long for.

Book your stay



 Your dates are available

Contact the owner


Payment options

Pay online via the Holiday Lettings payment platform with your credit/debit card or your PayPal account to be covered by Payment Protection. Learn more

You're booking with

Trish D.

  • 3 Years listed

40% Response rate

Based in Tanzania

Languages spoken
  • English

Payment accepted

Credit cards accepted