List your home
Apply filters
£ to

ROYAL CASTLE LODGE Exterior

Cottage | 1 bedrooms | sleeps 2

Key Info
  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Great for children of all ages
  • Car not necessary
  • Pets welcome
  • Private garden

Royal Castle Lodge is perfect for a couple on honeymoon or celebrating an anniversary or birthday. It is completely private and self contained. Martin or Margaret will check that you are comfortable and are available if e.g you need a lift for a special walk, but otherwise will leave you in peace!. The cottage is homely - a stable door leads into a beamed lounge with recliners, freeview tv etc. Fully fitted kitchen, Spacious bedroom with K/S bed and a tv, Bathroom has bath and shower over. The balcony, sheltered under the eaves, is a lovely spot for a glass of wine watching the world go by. You don't have to use the car, as lots of spectacular walks as well as the sea, restaurants and shops are just minutes away. (Buy cream teas, not parking fees!). Mountain Biking and Rock climbing, kayaking and horse riding all popular here. If you like railways, there is the West Somerset Steam railway, the Lynton and Barnstaple narrow gauge railway, a model railway, and the unique water powered cliff railway down to Lynmouth. There are so many things to do here - phone us to discuss your favourite interests - Martin & Margaret Wolverson (01271) 882449 any time 10am to 10pm 7 days. A warm welcome awaits.

Size Sleeps up to 2, 1 bedrooms
Nearest beach Lynmouth (600ft!)
Will consider Short breaks (1-4 days)
Access Car not necessary
Nearest Amenities 1 km
Nearest travel links Nearest airport: Exeter and Bristol, Nearest railway: Tiverton and Barnstaple
Family friendly Great for children of all ages, Suitable for people with restricted mobility
Notes Pets welcome, Yes, smoking allowed

Features and Facilities

Luxuries DVD player
General TV
Standard Kettle, Toaster, Iron, Hair dryer
Utilities Cooker, Microwave, Fridge, Freezer
Rooms 1 bedroom, 1 bathrooms of which 1 Family bathrooms
Furniture Double beds (1), Dining seats for 2, Lounge seats for 3
Other Linen provided, Towels provided
Outdoors Balcony or terrace, Private garden
Access Parking
Further details indoors

Heating is at your control - we are 'open' all year. There is a storage heater in each room and to 'fine tune' there is a moveable electric fire and a 'woodburner style' electric fire in lounge. In winter, the heating is left on even when unoccupied so the cottage is never cold. A dog is welcome throughout the ground floor but not upstairs 4 star visit britain grading lots of books to read lots of local information and walks suggestions.

Further details outdoors

Relax on the balcony looking over the garden and woodland. Ample easy level parking with level access into the cottage.

Bike storage available on request.

Large lawned area but note that it is not dog 'escape proof'!

The West Country region

Devon is famous for its coastline and pretty villages. This part of Devon has the added advantage of being in the EXMOOR NATIONAL PARK. If you prefer natural, rugged beauty, but 'softer' than Dartmoor you will love it here. As well as the famous beauty spots of Lynto, Lynmouth, Valley of Rocks, Watersmeet, Dunster, Tarr steps etc, try just heading off along a footpath off the beaten track, there are plenty to choose from and you will often be amazed at what you discover. Several guests have talked about the huge choice of walks, but never 'being more than half an hour from a cup of tea!' If you are keen on mountain biking, there is the possibility that I could give you a 'guided ride'. For more information on your interests, horse riding, theatre, whatever, phone Martin or Margaret for a chat, if we don't know, we should 'know a man who can' The last couple of winters have spoilt it, but we used to be able to say that Lynton rarely gets a frost, and if we did, it was always after Christmas. This is however, one of the mildest areas of the country.

Lynton

You are able, if you wish, to 'forget the car' as there is a choice of eateries, the nearest two are 3 minutes walk!, t he two small supermarkets are 5 mins walk You can enjoy a drink without worries. There is also a Lloyds bank, a Post office, garage, filling station nearby. At the bottom of the hill in Lynmouth is a very interesting model of the village how it was before the 1952 flood disaster, a model railway and of course the lovely harbour and even more choice of eateries. If you have a dog, note that at the moment EVERY pub welcomes dogs!

The outlook from the cottage belies the fact that all this is 'on the doorstep'. More details and links on our website www.primespotcottages.co.uk

Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor

Guest reviews no reviews

Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor

5 star
3
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0

Very Good 4/5

6 reviews Very Good 4/5

Help other travellers decide where to stay

Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.

Write a review

Write a review
Review 1-6 of 6

27 Aug 2014

5/5

"This is a place to stay"

This was our fourth visit to the cottage and, once again, we were not disappointed. Martin goes to great lengths to ensure that the cottage is clean and welcoming, and that it is a 'home from hom… More

Thank you so much. I look forward to welcoming you back for visit number five and hope that your Devon antiques are settling into their new environment ! Martin.

12 Aug 2014

3/5

"lovely exterior, tired interior."

North Devon is beautiful and Royal Castle Lodge is lovely on the exterior, offering dog friendly accommodation for two people. However, much of the interior of the Lodge including the fixtures and fit… More

Thank you for your review. Two things we can't control are utilities and the Devon hills.
So sorry for the water shortage problem - we only knew it had deteriorated four hours before your arrival. When you advised midweek that it was affecting you, we did offer a move to another cottage (with a private water supply)but this was declined.
North Devon and Exmoor has a 'usually acceptable' but not perfect TV reception due to the hilly terrain. We have a booster and an aeriel high in a tree overlooking the sea to pick up from S. Wales. This can be affected by atmospheric conditions or a very low tide, however, sometimes a 'channel search' will improve things and, if advised, i could have come over to do this for you.As a listed building in an 'area of outstanding natural beauty' and in the National Park, a satellite dish would not be allowed.
The interior is gradually being refurbished - new leather recliners two years ago, bedroom last year. As described in some detail, the 'just right' replacements for some items have not yet been found.
We market as 4star as that is the quality grade that VisitBritain have given us. They inspect annually and that is their opinion.
I'm happy to say that we seem to be back on full water pressure now, i'm just sorry that things were not perfect for you.

9 Aug 2014

3/5

"Disappointed with the interior"

Devon was a wonderful week away, beautiful sights and plenty of things to do.Cottage is picture postcard from the outside, such a shame the interior did not match, shabby fixtures and old and dirty el… More

Thank you for your review. To confirm our letter to you, we were very sorry that you experienced difficulty obtaining full baths - our larger than average size bath probably didn't help.
There was a water shortage/low pressure in July over which we had no control. We were unaware that the supply had deteriorated until reading your note after you had left. Had you contacted us at the time, we would have looked into finding you alternative accommodation not affected. As you know, i unfortunately missed you when carrying out my 'is everything OK?' check.
The Le Creuset saucepans will be replaced with stainless steel as steel looks cleaner and the rubber bath mat replaced- sorry about that, the visible part was fine but i admit to not fully unrolling it. I am at a loss to find any dirty electrical item.
There is no damp in the cottage (heating is on all winter regardless of occupancy), but as guests are out and about most of the time, the windows are often almost permanently closed, so possibly the lack of air circulation produced a slight mustiness. Never mentioned before so not usual. Everything is 'thrown open' during the four hour changeover. So sorry, but difficult to think of a remedy but thank you for the feedback.

3 Jan 2014

5/5

"Comy, cosy, cottage retreat - perfect for walkers"

We arranged a very last minute getaway, and to our delight, Martin responded to our booking on Christmas Day, enabling us to have the quiet New Year getaway we craved. The cottage is a delight, and we… More

Thank you very much for your kind comments.Yes, we can sometimes do a 'Last minute, Dot, come on !'so always worth a try. Hope to welcome you back sometime.

30 May 2013

4/5

""Cosy romantic retreat""

We stayed at The Royal Castle Lodge for a short break in December 2012. The cottage was very well equipped, cosy, good location, off road parking, warm, and comfortable. The cottage allowed smoking … More

Thank you so much. We look forward to welcoming you back.

15 Apr 2013

5/5

"Lovely, cosy and comfortable stay in a beautiful part of North Devon"

We had a wonderfully relaxing break over Easter 2013 in this beautiful little cottage. Martin was very helpful and amenable with our booking requirements and was there to greet us on arrival to ensure we had everything we needed. The cottage wouldn't be out of place in 'The Hobit'; it's so pretty and cosy but also with home comforts. It's location is close to shops, pubs, restaurants, great walks and the sea. Lynton and Lynmouth are both easily accessible by foot if you don't mind the hills. There's a lovely selection of walks along the coast, the River Lyn, wooded areas and the moors which makes it very varied. Be warned, all are hilly - what a great way to improve your fitness! The only downside (or positive) is that the TV, digital radio and 'phone reception are all tidal dependent and cannot be relied upon. It's great to escape the trappings of modern technology but you may want to take your own FM radio. Lovely holiday cottage, well equipped and good location.

Thank you so much for being our first reviewer on this site, glad you enjoyed your stay here. Hope to welcome you back now you have discovered this spectacular area. Kind Regards, Martin & Margaret.

Review 1-6 of 6

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.

Close

Min stay varies

Changeover day Flexible

from£42/nighthelp

This is the estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Contact the advertiser to confirm the price - it varies depending on when you stay and how long for.

Contact the owner

Close

You're booking with

Martin W.

  • 1 Years listed

95% Response rate

Calendar last updated:20 Aug 2014

Based in United Kingdom

Languages spoken
  • English
Landline
+44(0)1271882449
Website
Visit site

Also consider

Bideford
492 properties
Croyde
229 properties
Barnstaple
202 properties
Ilfracombe
147 properties
Exmoor
146 properties
Woolacombe
109 properties
Westward Ho
97 properties
Minehead
94 properties
Combe Martin
71 properties
Lynton
48 properties
Watchet
48 properties
Appledore
45 properties
Umberleigh
25 properties
Instow
16 properties
Saunton
16 properties
Porlock Weir
13 properties
Cowbridge
12 properties
Porthcawl
11 properties
Bridgend
9 properties
Williton
7 properties

Start a new search