List your home
Apply filters
£ to

Corbière Radio Tower

from £175 /night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

Very Good 4.5/5 Score from 9 reviews

Very Good 4.5/5 

from £175 /night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

Estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Contact the advertiser to confirm the total cost.

Fantastic views from the sea front position

Tower / 3 bedrooms / sleeps 6

Need more information about booking Home 34215 ?

Tower / 3 bedrooms / sleeps 6

Key Info
  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Suitable for children over 5
  • Car advised
  • No pets allowed

Set on a cliff top overlooking Corbière lighthouse on Jersey's south-west tip, Radio Tower is a striking observation tower built during the Second World War as part of Hitler's Atlantic Wall defenses; one of of 15,000 structures stretching from Norway to the Loire.

Constructed from more than 5,000 bags of cement this is a truly imposing site from both land and sea. Its location commands excellent views across the west coast of Jersey, and overlooks the iconic Corbière Lighthouse which stands on a outcrop of granite rock just offshore. The lighthouse was once manned but is now fully automated, you can walk there along a causeway at low tide.

Restored by Jersey Heritage in the German modernist style, the tower is set over six floors and boasts a 360 degree view from the panoramic windows in the lounge/diner.

The tower has three identical double bedrooms all with fitted wardrobes, handmade beds to fit the curve of the walls and their own adjacent shower room/wc. A fitted kitchen and additional toilet occupy the fifth floor; a spiral staircase leads up to a lounge/diner with spectacular views.

Size Sleeps up to 6, 3 bedrooms
Check in time: 14:00
Check out time: 10:00
Access Car advised
Family friendly Suitable for children over 5
Notes No pets allowed, No smoking at this property

Features and Facilities

Luxuries DVD player, Sea view
General Central heating, TV
Standard Kettle, Toaster, Iron, Hair dryer
Utilities Cooker, Microwave, Fridge
Rooms 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms of which 3 Shower rooms
Furniture 1 Sofa beds, Double beds (3), Dining seats for 6, Lounge seats for 6
Other Linen provided, Towels provided
Access Parking
Further details indoors

From the tower's rather functional beginning comes accommodation that is unique to Jersey. The tower has five floors with one double bedroom on floors one, two and three all with adjacent shower/WC. The kitchen and an extra WC is located on floor four and a narrow spiral staircase leads up to the lounge/diner on the fifth floor. The climb to the top room is more than worth the effort as the look-out post that once was the heart of the tower's activity now offers almost a 360 degree view of the west coast that must be seen to be believed, converted into a stunning living area that is as quirky as it is spectacular.

3 shower rooms (with WC), a kitchen and three adult double bedrooms have been made out of the six rooms that lead the way up to the look out post. The tower is perfectly situated for cliff walking, watching passing boats and clouds, beaches and bird watching but is also close to a bus stop, main road, restaurants and beaches.

The Jersey region

The Channel Islands are magical islands in the Bay of St Malo and at the closest point Jersey is just 14 miles from the French coast. Warmed by the waters of the Gulf Stream, spring arrives early and summer lingers on. The weather here consistently tops the UK resort charts for sunshine hours and temperature.

Jersey is well known for its magnificent sandy beaches, rugged cliffs, sheltered coves and crystal clear waters. Inland, winding, shaded lanes take you through wooded valleys and patchwork countryside.

La Corbiere

Corbière is the extreme south west tip of Jersey with a rugged coastline and dramatic views out to sea and across the sweeping St Ouen's Bay. Jersey is thoroughly British but with a distinct French flavour. Although firecely loyal to the Crown for more than 800 years, the French influence lingers on in local surnames and place and street names. The capital St Helier is packed with continental style bistros, restaurants and pavement cafes.

You do not need a passport to visit the Channel Islands unless you intend taking a day trip to France which is a short hop away by sea or air. You will need proof of identity for flights and sea travel to the Island. As on the UK mainland the currency is sterling but Euros are accepted in many shops and other outlets.

There is plenty to do in the Island from guided walks to a visit to one of Jersey Heritage's six historic sites, Durrell or the Jersey War Tunnels. Day excursions can also be made to the other islands.

Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor

Guest reviews no reviews

Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Excellent 5/5

9 reviews Very Good 4.5/5

Help other travellers decide where to stay

Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.

Write a review

Write a review
Review 1-9 of 9

26 Mar 2015


"Amazing Views"

My Husband booked the Tower for my 50th Birthday as a surprise. It's a lovely quirky place to stay, and full of history with absolutely stunning views from the top. Obviously it has a lot of step… More

Thank you for taking the time to review the Radio Tower following your stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday in this historic landmark. As you say care has been taking to customise all the furnishings in this unique space and make the most of the amazing views from every floor.
Following your feedback we have replaced the duvet and pillows, as well as putting new cutlery in the kitchen. We hope you return to Jersey and try some of our other properties.

18 Feb 2015


"Excellent stay with amazing views"

I stayed at the radio tower with 3 friends in the middle of February. This was an excellent break in an amazing holiday let. The radio tower won't be to all tastes and the steep stairs between ea… More

Thanks for your review, Paul. It's always great to hear when guests have had a great break at our sites. Like you say, the Tower has been renovated to fit within this iconic building and so some of the features may not be for everyone, but it certainly makes for a unique and unforgettable holiday! We hope you stay with us again and maybe try another one of our historic properties.

12 Sep 2014


"Excellent on all counts."

I am admittedly biased. I have visited this property several times, in the 80s when it was run by the coastguard, who gave our party a tour. Some years later during conversion into a leisure property,… More

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review of the Radio Tower. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back again to visit the tower or one of our other properties.

5 Sep 2014


"Satisfactory for a short stay"

Ok, let's acknowledge that you book the Radio Tower for the experience. You walk into an extension that feels like somebody's shed. Further in you are in the tower itself. The decor is, wel… More

Thank you for you review of the Radio Tower. We appreciate your feedback following your stay. We are glad you enjoyed the majority of your stay but appreciate you have some valid points.
As we explain to all guests upon booking, due to the nature of the building the stairs are steep and go up approximately 7 stories from the ground floor. As you stated, this means you have some amazing views but is something to consider for the whole family. As you rightly said, it is tricky to keep the windows clean due to the tower's proximity to the sea but we do have a team to clean the large windows regularly.
We will look at wi-fi following your feedback but we do detail that it is unavailable at this property.
The smell you experienced is unacceptable for any of our guests and we did try to rectify this during your stay, however we could locate the source of the issue at the time following visits. A member of staff also visited the property to see if anything further could be done. It is something we are looking into but it has not occurred again following your visit. The fuse on the extractor fan is also being replaced. The coffee stain on the wall is also unacceptable and we have discussed this with our site manager and cleaning staff. General maintenance is scheduled every year during our quieter periods, but we will look at general work again following your feedback.
We hope the issues did not spoil your stay and hopefully you return to Jersey and may look at our other lets which are around the island.

29 Jun 2014


"Disappointed with accommodation, location superb."

Radio Tower JerseyProsFabulous view from top floor, almost 360 degreesLocation very picturesqueHeatingGood quality linensWelcome groceries - bread, butter and milkGood bus routeExcellent restaurant on… More

Thank you for your review of the Radio Tower, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. The Radio Tower is one of Jersey's most iconic properties with stunning views across the rugged west coast of Jersey. As the Tower is in a picturesque location it is popular with visitors taking in the view to Corbiere Light House, which sits just offshore from the Radio Tower.
Due to the Tower's historic importance, as with all of the properties we manage throughout the island, great care has been taken to furnish and decorate the property to the best standard whilst maintaining the unique structure and character of the property. We hope you will come back to Jersey and possibly have a look at staying in one of our other properties which are dotted throughout the island in equally picturesque locations.

30 Apr 2014


"Corbiere Radio Tower"

Our first visit, as a family, to Jersy. Superb location. Amazing views (almost 360 degrees) from the sun room at the top of the tower - well worth the climb to the top of the spiral staircase. Extreme… More

Thank you for your review, Judith. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay at the Radio Tower. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our iconic properties in the future.

28 Sep 2013


"Unique, with outstanding views"

My partner and I booked this place for a week as part of our wedding celebrations. We stayed with two other couples, each of us having a double room with a shower room/wc next door on each level. Th… More

18 Nov 2012


"You want somewhere different to stay? Well, this is it. Terrific."

What a terrific place to stay, fantastic veiws and such a novel experience, may not suit everyone, especially if you do not like stairs, 71 from bottom to top, so you need to have a reasonable level of mobility. Once settled in you can just watch the world go by, sun rise to sun set. Landscape photographers dream location, not to mention good food, beer and walks all on your doorstep. Something you should try at least once anyway. Would we go again? We most certainly would.

5 Mar 2012


"2008 - The one unique holiday rental"

We already went there in 2008, but this is still THE holiday rental of all times in the experience of all participants. When I rented it I told the group it was special, but I wasn't going to tell them more, so when we rode up to the tower the first reactions weren't enthusiastic - it does look ugly from the outside, even though even right there you could see the LOCATION was terrific. Then we climbed up to the living space - and I was afraid they weren't going to come down again to unpack the car, ever ! We have spent do many hours up there, regardless of the time of day, the wheather.... it was always fantastic. We still talk about it a lot, the pictures are on everybodies walls.... unique ! Not to forget about all of beatiful Jersey all around us of course ! And the Jersey Ice Cream Van that came to the parking lot for the lighthouse everyday was a MUST, too

Review 1-9 of 9

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.

Contact the owner

This price is an estimate based on the latest rate information available to us. Contact the advertiser to ask for the exact price, including any additional fees.

from £175 /night help Price for guests, Nights approx:

Estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Contact the advertiser to confirm the total cost.

Email the owner

    You're booking with

    Kim Bouguard and Deborah Shead O.

    • 7 Years listed

    100% Response rate

    Calendar last updated:28 May 2015

    Based in United Kingdom

    Languages spoken
    • English
    +44 15346 33304

    Don’t let an old browser slow down your holiday

    Your browser is out of date and might not work well with our website. Download the latest version to speed up your hunt for the perfect holiday home.

    Just click on the icons to get to the download page

    We've updated our Privacy Policy. You can read it here.