List your home
Apply filters
£ to

Sea Breeze Chalet - Kovalam - South Kerala - India

from £10 /night help

Score from 1 review

Chalet | 1 bedrooms | sleeps 2

Key Info
  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Nearest beach 0 km
  • Great for children of all ages
  • Car not necessary
  • No pets allowed

Sea Breeze Chalet is in the popular beach resort of Kovalam, South Kerala.

This region of Kerala is very like Goa and has been growing in size and popularity since the flower power days of the 60s.

Kovalam is located in the district of Thiruvananthapuram – quite a mouthful! Even the locals generally call it Trivandrum.

The Airport is in Trivandrum and so is the main Railway Station.

Lighthouse Beach is a two minute walk from Sea Breeze Chalet. Access is via little paths which wind round the coconut trees, past a number of interesting little shops and the beach is there.

Sea Breeze Chalet is part of Hotel Sea Breeze.

It has the same ensuite twin room as any of the other hotel guest rooms.

The difference is: Sea Breeze Chalet has its own entrance and private sit-out.

The bathroom consists of a wet-room shower plus toilet and wash basin.

There are no other rooms inside this accommodation.

Sea Breeze Chalet is far enough from the beach to avoid the hassle from beach vendors selling their wares. It is perfectly situated for a stroll to Lighthouse Beach and the many restaurants and gift shops.

See reviews in photo section.

Size Sleeps up to 2, 1 bedrooms
Nearest beach Lighthouse Beach 500 m
Will consider Long term lets (over 1 month), Short breaks (1-4 days)
Access Car not necessary
Nearest Amenities 500 m
Nearest travel links Nearest airport: Trivandrum 20 km, Nearest railway: Trivandrum 20 km
Family friendly Great for children of all ages
Notes No pets allowed, No smoking at this property

Features and Facilities

Rooms 1 bedroom, 1 bathrooms of which 1 En suites
Furniture Single beds (2)
Other Linen provided, Towels provided
Outdoors Shared garden
Access Parking

The Kerala region

TELLING IT LIKE IT IS ...

Kovalam was initially a fishing village with beautiful beaches lined with coconut trees. Now, you could be forgiven for thinking you had landed in Benidorm. High rise accommodation has sprouted up everywhere as landowners seek to attract the tourists. Some of these structures are illegal construction so the powers that be could, in theory, have them removed. However, India thrives on bribery from a few rupees to crores of rupees and Kovalam is no exception. While bribes are paid, illegal buildings will stand.

The likeness to Benidorm ends with the new high rise buildings as a quick scout around the area will confirm. The Indian people are not good at maintenance. 'Build it and leave it', seems to be the motto. This is partly due to the caste system which still pervades. There is an attitude of 'its not my job' – especially when it comes to cleaning toilets. They have yet to get a grip on that one! It is also partly due to the monsoon season which has to be experienced to appreciate how difficult it is to keep a respectable veneer on the buildings.

The monsoon weather is relentless in its destructive powers.

It is surprising how children wearing bright clean crisp school uniforms pop out from such dingy buildings on their way to equally dingy schools. At the end of the day, still without a messy blob on them, the kids return home.

Electricity supply all over India is somewhat erratic. They even have set times when the current will go off. This can be fun but not if you are in the shower and wondering where the towel might be! There are some very good solar power and wind up torches available now. Suggest you take one with you.

Most of the water in Kovalam comes from wells. It is generally safe. These guys have been digging wells for hundreds of years. (The well digging caste of course!) They know what they are doing. However, taking care of tummies is always a good idea, otherwise the holiday could be spent on the toilet – or hovering over one if you dare to use the Indian squat version. Acidophillus tablets help keep the digestion in order. A bit like eating yoghurt, acidophillus boosts the good bacteria which helps prevent 'Delhi Belly'.

The language is Malayalam.

Cultural activities include:

Kathakali: The 300 year-old dance form known as Kathakali is exclusive to Kerala. It combines opera, ballet, masque, and pantomime to create one of the most elaborate and technically difficult dance forms.

Theyyam: This is a highly ritualistic dance, well preserved with its rare and gorgeous make-up and costume. It represents a glorious period of folk-life in Kannur.

Kalaripayattu: Kalari meaning school and Payattu meaning combat, Kalaripayattu is one of the advanced combat sciences of the world and has reproduced many a hero whose exploits are celebrated in legends and folk songs.

CLIMATE

Temperature is low in December and January with records as low as 20° Celsius. On certain days the night temperature may go down to 16° Celsius. During the months of April and May, the mean daily maximum temperature is about 35° Celsius. August can be very humid and clothes feel continuously damp.

The best time to visit Kerala is between the end of October and the beginning of April.

Kovalam

Lighthouse Beach is lined with small restaurants and gift shops. The restaurants serve a wide variety of meals and snacks – Indian, Continental and Chinese. Also there are tailors who will stitch you an outfit to order.

It is common practice to wander up and down the sea front promenade in the evenings. Strangely enough (and I still don't know how the locals do this), they soon know who you are and where you are staying!

Most of us enjoy a beer on a hot summers day. In Kovalam, beer is available but it could arrive at your table in a tea pot – or the bottle might be wrapped in newspaper and placed under the table. Alcohol licences are very expensive in Kerala, no doubt controlled by gangsters and police. The restaurant owners resort to the good old bribe system and we must be thankful for that!

The sand on the South Kerala beaches is black in parts – rather like the volcanic beaches of Lanzarote. The beaches are well used. Some people are adventurous enough to try body surfing on the waves. Unlike the rest of Kerala it is quite normal to sunbathe and swim wearing skimpy cossies. There was a time when Kerala men would bus in to see the half naked foreigners and their strange activities. Now they are used to such sights and will probably just try to sell you something.

The popularity of Kovalam has partly grown around the availability of the ancient healing practice of Ayurveda and traditional medicines. There are many Ayurvedic practices within the resort. Certain standards have recently been stipulated for the running of such an establishment – but there are always those bribes – so do make sure you are not being massaged with old cooking oil.

Yoga is also very popular and many studios can be found in and around Kovalam.

Tuition in Kalaripayattu (Kerala martial arts) can also be found, though only a basic grounding can be expected during a short holiday. It takes years of dedication to become expert. Details on You Tube can be found at Kalari at Hotel Sea Breeze - Kovalam - Kerala - India

Ayurveda, Yoga and Kalaripayattu can be arranged. Talk to Guru Suresh - Kalari Instructor - he is an expert in Ayurveda and Kalaripayattu. Guru Suresh will welcome you to Sea Breeze Chalet.

A stay at Sea Breeze Chalet gives you a comfortable bed in a convenient location - budget style. You will hear jungle noises from wild life in the nearby trees which can give a wonderful feeling of relaxation - the unforgettable sounds of India.

Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor

Guest reviews no reviews

Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor

5 star
0
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1


1 review

Help other travellers decide where to stay

Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.

Write a review

Write a review
Review 1-1 of 1

18 Jan 2014

1/5

"Doesn't do what it says on the tin"

The description of this property indicated that it had air conditioning and a fridge. It has neither, nor does it have hot water. This is truly a place for the budget traveller only. and if what you … More

Hello Des,
Hope you enjoyed Kerala. Sorry for your disappointment with our Sea Breeze accommodation.

I don't think you took up our offer for you to stay the night at Sea Breeze while you found another room in Kovalam, so I hope you were able to quickly find something more to your taste with the Rs8000 refunded by the staff at Hotel Sea Breeze.

In your message to me, you stated, " … the description you have on Trip Advisor is really very misleading".

It is difficult to get correct descriptions on Trip Advisor because there is no contact with them and they collect information from many places.
I had been trying to change our Trip Advisor listings for months.
I recently succeeded after resorting to twitter.
However, one picture on our Hotel Sea Breeze Trip Advisor listing is still wrong. It is a picture of a guest room at our Malabar Cove Beach House - 12 hours north of Sea Breeze! I have given up trying to change that.

The accommodation you requested in our Hotel Sea Breeze is separated from Hotel Sea Breeze on Trip Advisor because that room is offered on Holiday Lettings who link to Trip Advisor - but it is still one of the rooms at Hotel Sea Breeze in Kovalam - all very complicated.

Most of our bookings come via airbnb.com where they do have correct descriptions but do not link to Trip Advisor as Holiday Lettings does.

I hope you will appreciate Des that air-conditioning cannot be provided for Rs600 (£6) a night. A further £6 a night would be required to run it. Most guests are happy with the traditional Indian ceiling fan but I appreciate that all guests are different.

Thank you for your feedback and I hope my reply has helped to clear up the misunderstanding.
Kind regards,
Lynne
Hotel Sea Breeze - Kovalam - South Kerala - India

Review 1-1 of 1

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.

Close

Book your stay

Enter dates for more accurate prices

*
*

1 night min stay, Changeover day Flexible

*

Sleeps 2

from £10 /night help

Estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Excludes fees (if applicable). Enter your dates to see the total cost.

Subtotal

Enter dates to see your price

This home can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank transfer)

Pay online via Holiday Lettings with your credit/debit card or your PayPal account to be covered by Payment Protection

Contact the owner

Need more information first?

Close
*
help

Tick this box to request a quote for your stay. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online. Note that other guests may have received a quote for the same dates. The first one to pay gets the booking, so make your payment asap to secure your holiday.

This home can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank transfer)

Pay online via Holiday Lettings with your credit/debit card or your PayPal account to be covered by Payment Protection

You're booking with

Treat Yourself (.

  • 2 Years listed

80% Response rate

Calendar last updated:24 Dec 2014

Based in India

Languages spoken
  • English

Payment accepted

Paypal accepted

Credit cards accepted

Don’t let an old browser slow down your holiday

Your browser is out of date and might not work well with our website. Download the latest version to speed up your hunt for the perfect holiday home.

Just click on the icons to get to the download page