List your home
Apply filters
£ to

Owlswick

Cottage | 4 bedrooms | sleeps 8

Key Info
  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Nearest beach 23 km
  • Swimming pool
  • Great for children of all ages
  • Car advised
  • Pets welcome
  • Private garden

This beautfiul thatched cottage sits on a quiet back water of he River Bure in Horning, with a large waterside garden with private mooring if you have your own boat or wish to hire a boat. The village provides good local amenities including pubs, shops and restaurants.

Large garden with lovely views.

Size Sleeps up to 8, 4 bedrooms
Nearest beach Sea Palling 23 km
Will consider Short breaks (1-4 days)
Access Car advised, Wheelchair users
Nearest Amenities 1 km
Nearest travel links Nearest airport: Norwich 18 km, Nearest railway: Woxham 6 km
Family friendly Great for children of all ages, Suitable for people with restricted mobility
Notes Pets welcome, No smoking at this property

Features and Facilities

Luxuries DVD player, Boat available
Pool Shared indoor pool
General Central heating, TV, CD player, Wi-Fi available
Standard Kettle, Toaster, Iron
Utilities Dishwasher, Cooker, Microwave, Fridge, Freezer, Washing machine
Rooms 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms of which 1 Family bathrooms and 1 En suites
Furniture Single beds (4), Double beds (2), Dining seats for 8, Lounge seats for 8
Outdoors Shared indoor pool, Balcony or terrace, Private garden, Private fishing lake or river
Access Parking, Wheelchair users
Further details indoors

This charming cottage offers wonderful views of the river from the large lounge windows. All new furniture in 2011.

Further details outdoors

Boats are available to hire through Riverside Rentals too.

The village has a public swimming pool nearby (approx 5 mins walk).

Refundable breakages deposit required. Dogs allowed (small charge). The river frontage is unfenced, we recommend children are supervised and wear life jackets when playing in the grounds or enjoying river pursuits. These can be supplied if pre-booked.

The East Anglia region

The Norfolk Broads is a network of inland water ways. It attracts many visitors wishing to enjoy the scenery, wildlife (especially birds), watersports, beaches, cycling (it's quite flat!) and charm of the area.

Horning

Horning is situated on the River Bure in the heart of the Norfolk Broads about 10 miles from Norwich and 3 miles from Wroxham. The family friendly village provides good local amenities including 3 riverside pubs (all serving food), restaurants, Chinese takeaway, tea room, deli, butcher, newsagent/grocery store, post office, hair & beauty salon, swimming pool and fishing tackle/bait shop. Fine sandy beaches are a 20 minute drive away.

The property has its own mooring and there is a slip way nearby for Trailer Sailors. If you bring your own boat, or you hire one locally, there is so much to discover and explore. For peace and tranquility or uninterrupted sailing and fishing, head for the Black Horse Broad or Ranworth Broad. If you want to go with the flow head up river to popular destinations such as Wroxham (1 hour cruising) or Potter Heigham with it’s famous bridge (1½ hour cruising). Throughout the year there are many sailing events from Horning including the challenging annual Three Rivers Yacht Race.

Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor

Guest reviews no reviews

Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor

5 star
3
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Excellent 5/5

6 reviews Excellent 5/5

Help other travellers decide where to stay

Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.

Write a review

Write a review
Review 1-6 of 6

27 Jun 2013

4/5

"Peaceful Retreat"

Rented Owlswick for 1 week mid June. Lovely cottage in an ideal location, beautifully maintained. Carol was so helpful and made available boats at very short notice. Highly recommended.… More

12 May 2013

5/5

"Excellent property"

We spent avery enjoyable week at this well equipped house. Warm and comfortable and Riverside rentals is helpful and efficient. The owner showed us round the other properties on Grebe Island, all of… More

29 Apr 2013

5/5

"Wonderful stay"

Spent a wonderful week staying at Owlswick in March 2013 with friends. The accommodation is of a very high standard with everything you need. The location is lovely and it was nice to sit and look out… More

28 Apr 2013

5/5

"An idyllic location and Wonderful property set on the broads and a great village location"

We stayed for a week in this property with 2 other couples with young children and we all had a wonderful stay. The Children were enthralled to watch the Swans and Herron from the living room and the … More

23 Apr 2013

4/5

"Clean, comfortable, lovely location and friendly welcome."

All 8 of us thoroughly ejoyed our weekend together. the cottage had plenty of room and is in a brilliant location. We hired a boat for the 2 days which was great fun and so relaxing. Hope to return so… More

Glad you enjoyed your stay at Owslwick and had a good week and hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Riverside Rentals. :)

10 Apr 2013

4/5

"a great holiday"

We spent a week in Owlswick cottage which was very comfortable. Carol was very welcoming and helpful. Having the day boat was great because we went to different places and saw a lot of wildlife. Horning is great for food; there are 3 pubs within 5 minutes of each other ( by foot) and a lovely delicatessen. There is also a very good fish restaurant. We went to Cromer, Norwich, and lots of little villages on the way. The seaside resorts are fantastic. We went on a trip to see the seals and we were not disappointed, we saw a lot of them. The weather was freezing, like everywhere else in the UK but it never rained and the lounge was south west facing so we had the sun all afternoon and evening.
We were 4 adults and 2 teenagers and the cottage was fine for all of us. The fact that we could walk to the shops, restaurants and pubs was a great advantage.
The only problem was the mobile reception: it was non existent for us ( we are with EE or formerly Orange) so we had to walk in the middle of the street to get a signal. Apparently Vodaphone and O2 are better.
Despite the weather it was a lovely holiday and the area is definitely worth the visit.

Many thanks for your lovely review and we are glad you had a good holiday. We hope to see you again very soon.
Regards
Riverside Rentals :)

Review 1-6 of 6

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.

Close

Min stay varies

Changeover day

from£71/nighthelp

This is the estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Contact the advertiser to confirm the price - it varies depending on when you stay and how long for.

Contact the manager

Close

You're booking with

Claire Guyton (Property Manager Riverside Rentals)

  • 8 Years listed

Calendar last updated:18 Sep 2014

Based in United Kingdom

Languages spoken
  • English

Payment accepted

Credit cards accepted

Landline
+44(0)1493368300
Website
Visit site

Also consider

Great Yarmouth
232 properties
Cromer
110 properties
Norwich
94 properties
Lowestoft
76 properties
Wroxham
67 properties
Dereham
62 properties
Happisburgh
53 properties
Holt
51 properties
North Walsham
46 properties
Sheringham
46 properties
Surlingham
32 properties
Mundesley
26 properties
Melton Constable
25 properties
Potter Heigham
18 properties
Ellingham
15 properties
Aylsham
14 properties
Beccles
14 properties
Harleston
8 properties
Corpusty
6 properties
Sea Palling
6 properties

Start a new search