List your home
Apply filters
£ to

Jasmin cottage in spring

Cottage | 2 bedrooms | sleeps 4

Key Info
  • Nearest beach 35 km
  • Great for children of all ages
  • Car essential
  • Pets welcome
  • Private garden

Jasmin Cottage is a cosy detached single story cottage with modern facilities. It is in a rural area but not too isolated with countryside views from all windows. It is finished to a high standard. It has 2 bedrooms, one with a double bed and one with twin beds. It has electric heating, constant hot water and fully equiped bathroom with shower and bath. Outside there is a patio with barbecue and a garden for relaxing. There is ample garden furniture. All heating, towels and bed linen are included in the price. There is plenty of off-road parking space by the cottage and within its own boundaries.

Whether a couple, a family, or a group of friends you will find a very warm welcome. It offers peace and quiet but yet only 10 minutes drive from the local town of Hesdin with its history, cafes, restaurants and shops (5 supermarkets), plus newly opened swimming pool, sauna & 10 pin bowling complex. Beaurainville is only 5 minutes away. This is a small town and has a range of shops including supermarkets (1 with with fuel station), post office and launderette (self-service)

There is a large 1 acre grassed fully enclosed area at the far end of the property which can be used for relaxing or sports activities (badminton/tennis (with net), boules, football (with goalposts) and cricket equipment are provided). There is also a children's paddling pool.

Across the courtyard is our other property available for holiday letting called Laurel House. This can accommodate up to 6 people in 3 bedrooms. Please enquire if you wish to book the house as well.

Size Sleeps up to 4, 2 bedrooms
Nearest beach Berck-Plage 35 km
Will consider Long term lets (over 1 month), Short breaks (1-4 days)
Access Car essential
Nearest Amenities 500 m
Nearest travel links Nearest airport: Lille 100 km, Nearest railway: Hesdin 5 km
Family friendly Great for children of all ages, Suitable for people with restricted mobility
Notes Pets welcome, No smoking at this property

Features and Facilities

Luxuries Internet access, DVD player
Pool Children's pool
General CD player, Satellite TV, Wi-Fi available
Standard Kettle, Toaster, Iron, Hair dryer
Utilities Cooker, Microwave, Fridge
Rooms 2 bedrooms, 1 bathrooms of which 1 Family bathrooms
Furniture Single beds (2), Double beds (1), Dining seats for 4, Lounge seats for 4
Other Linen provided, Towels provided, High chair
Outdoors Private garden, Shared garden, BBQ
Access Secure parking
Further details indoors

All accommodation is on the ground floor. The cottage had a complete make-over in 2012 with new heating, lighting and new linen. We have made further imprvements in 2013. There are 2 bedrooms each with bedside cabinets and wardrobe. One is a twin and the other is a double bed room.

Fully equipped galley kitchen with microwave, small oven and a separate gas hob. There is a fridge with freezer compartment. Bathroom with shower over bath, toilet, handbasin and hair/body dryer. Lounge/diner with comfortable suites for 4, Freeview satelitte TV (English channels) and DVD player. Guest controlled electric panel heating in all rooms. Constant hot water. Wireless broadband also available at extra cost.

Further details outdoors

The cottage has it own patio area with outside dining facilites with views to open countryside. The patio has been fully re-furbished with new BBQ and a selection of new garden furniture. The garden is flat with with an orchard and sports play area

There is ample secure off-road parking by the cottage adjacent to the cottage for easy unloading

Further details

There are 2 shallow steps upto the main entrance to the cottage and a step upto the patio but within the cottage everything is on one level

There is an information pack on arrival with details of local information and tourist attractions.

For your safety there is a smoke/CO detector in the living/dining area. There is a fire extinguisher, fire blanket and first-aid kit. The cottage is looked after by our reliable caretakers who live nearby and are on-call 24 hours to attend to any problems or queries.

Northern France region

Pas de Calais is a farming area and this becomes apparent as you drive through the countryside and see the vastness of the land used for agriculture. The history of the area is in abundance: Montrueil-ser-Mer (15 mins drive) which is a fortified town made famous by Victor Hugo and Les Miserables. Visit Arras (1 hour drive) with its history and lovely squares or follow the history of the First and Second World War sites and museums throughout the area. The battlefield at Agincourt is 20 minutes away. The long sandy beaches of the Cote d'Opale and the resort of Le Touquet-Paris-Plage are only 30 mins away. This is famous for its boutique shops and race track and is the resort visited by Parisians.

Further afield is Paris of course and a day trip is easily done using the quite motorways . It takes just over 2 hours to get their using the toll roads which are the quickest way to travel in France as they are not congested like UK motorways.

There are usually markets every day throughout the region and Brocantes (car boot sales) throughout the summer. Nearby Hesdin market (Thursday mornings) is particularly good. Baurainville is another small town with a Wednesday market and range of shops. It is only 5 minutes away

Hesdin

Hesdin is a pretty market town with the rivers of the Canche and Ternoise meandering through the town. A bustling and colourful market is held on Thursday mornings covering the town square and side streets. Hesdin has a wealth of history and many superb restaurants and cafes. The tourist information office is on the main square. Bikes can be hired in Hesdin square during April to September.

There is a historic chateau and winery at nearby Fressin.

Contes is a quiet peaceful village with its own fishing lake and Jasmin cottage is just 2 minutes walk from Hesdin Forest for walking or cycling. There is a bakery and shop just 3 minutes walk away.

Activities locally available are horseriding, fishing, canoeing, walking and cycling.

Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor

Guest reviews no reviews

Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor

5 star
7
4 star
8
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
1

Very Good 4/5

18 reviews Very Good 4/5

Help other travellers decide where to stay

Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.

Write a review

Write a review
Review 1-10 of 18

25 Sep 2014

5/5

"Enjoyable and relaxing stay"

Peacefull cottage, clean and tidy with nice patio and barbecue which we liked. Owners not their but looked after by nice couple nearby who are on call. They came down straight away when we couldn… More

21 Aug 2014

1/5

"dirty, tatty, not being maintained or cleaned gite in good location"

On arrival gite was not to standard of cleanliness expected and had to clean before using anything1. carpet runner full of dog hairs plus dog hairs all around the gite2. everywhere was unswept with di… More

Thank you for sending me a copy of your concerns directly. I was shocked and dismayed at your comments. I rang you immediately I received it to express my apologies that the standard of the cottage did not meet your expectations and explain what had happened that particular weekend. I went over each of your points in detail and trust we have resolved this amicably.

You told me that you enjoyed your holiday and said that although you had the local contact number you had not wanted to wait in for someone to come. I send guests a list of local contact details as well as our own, specifically so that any problems can be fixed straight away. If you had simply told us when you phoned on arrival, I could have arranged to send someone and any problems would have been rectified within one or two hours at the longest, including a replacement toaster.

Also your concerns with regard to the property being for sale; we are always given plenty of notice of any viewings and nobody would come to view without your knowledge and full agreement and the sign down could have been removed.

The person who looks after the property for us is extremely efficient and all our other guests have been very complimentary about the standard of presentation and cleaning. In peak season when there is a quick change over it is not possible to check that everything works e.g. the toaster. The toilet seat was not actually broken but designed to clip off for ease of cleaning.

We want all our guests to have a comfortable and stress free holiday so I am not sure of your reasoning in waiting till you got home to complain, when everything could have been rectified straight away if only you had communicated with us at the time.

15 Apr 2014

4/5

"A sweet country cottage."

A sweet little compact cottage. Ok for a short stay in France.Weather was lovely so was able to make full use of both gardens (private patio and shared garden) The market in Hesdin is well worth a loo… More

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your break at Jasmin Cottage. The weather in April in Northern France can be very warm and we are pleased you were able to enjoy the garden. The blossom on the pear trees is lovely at this time of year.

13 Aug 2013

4/5

"Quiet location, nearby towns, country, nice walks"

Comfortable compact cottage, with lots to see in local villages, towns and countryside. Nice walks to nearby villages & Hesdin Forest. Nice big garden/small field to exercise the dog before going out in the car. Friendly locals who are happy to cope with our dodgy French

13 May 2013

5/5

"Second time round and keeps getting better and better ."

We had our second visit too Jasmin cottage and and each time we come back is like a breath of fresh air ! Barbara + Ray have improved even more and more with many new additions , BBQ area and period lighting , and kitchen hobs etc . We where greeted with the usual fanfare ! sweets for the children ,wine , eggs etc ! And it did not take long to slip back into the peaceful and tranquil surroundings but with the classic slip in to the tourist surroundings if needed ! The new swiming pool (water slide )and bowling is amazing ! with soon to be added on more fun toboggan run ! We went to the local châteaux of Fressin ,and a new beach for us Merlimont plage with an amazing WW11 bunker blown up on the beach. We also visited for our third time Saint Omer and checked out the amazing public gardens and animal farm ,this town has it all and is getting really up market with LOADS of bars tobacs fashion stores and even Chinese restaurants. Also there is boat trips and a must I here is the trip to the famous brewery ! All in all its a fantastic place ,where the guy who owns the local bakery actually comes to work on his horse ! see you next year !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hi, thanks for the lovely review. Glad you enjoyed the new pool in Hesdin. We loved the photos which wonderfully illustrate just how much there is to do in this part of Pas de Calais. Look forward to seeing you and the family next year.

4 May 2013

5/5

"The peaceful location, the lovely cottage and the owners , complimented the excellent sunny weather we experienced ."

Ideally located for the likes of Agincourt ,the museum is a must . Montrueil worth a visit and nearby Hesdin has some excellent dining establishments . It was always nice to know that we had such a … More

We are glad you were pleased with the cottage and the location and look forward to seeing you again next year.

16 Mar 2013

5/5

"The cleanest and most comfortable stay we`ve had in France."

Jasmine Cottage was a gem of a find. Every comfort was provided for and the hosts could not have been more helpful and informative. The accommodation was well laid out, immaculate and what excellent value for money ! We look forward to visiting again soon.

Many thanks for taking the time to complete this lovely review. It is good to know that our efforts are appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.

9 Jan 2013

3/5

"Christmas Getaway"

We arrived at the gite to a warm and friendly welcome from the owner who then proceeded to show us around the well appointed cottage. There was a welcome hamper which included a bottle of wine.There … More

20 Nov 2012

4/5

"Warm, comfortable, and friendly."

Jasmin Cottage is a very nice gite. We've stayed in a few and this is one of the best. Barbara, the owner, has thought of everything. The rooms are very well furnished. The heating (it was November) worked a treat and helped create a warm cosy atmosphere. The bed was very comfortable too, which is certainly not always the case! There is the usual cooking facilities, a shower that really blasts you awake in the morning, and the added bonus of a tv with Sky so we could stay up to date with the news. In the garden there is ample parking and a barbecue area which we didn't make use of because of the weather.
The one issue we had was internet access. The gite is advertised with internet access/wifi. The wifi dongle that Barbara gave us to use was useless. This is no fault of Barbara's, it was due to very weak signal from Orange. However we had made it clear when we were booking that we would need internet access when we were there as we were house hunting and needed access to emails etc. If Barbara had told us that access was patchy at best we wouldn't have booked. As it was it did cause problems and that's why we have given 4 instead of 5 stars. I would suggest not advertising it with access and then nobody will be disappointed.
Provided you do not need to use the internet, I would definitely recommend Jasmin Cottage. It is a very, very nice ,comfortable, well appointed gite and Barbara is a friendly, helpful and knowledgeable host.

Thanks for your feedback. I am glad you were pleased with the facilities in the cottage, which we have tried hard to make as comfortable as possible. I am sorry you were disappointed in the Internet access and surprised at your comments, since you never mentioned it at the time. I make a point of asking to guests when they arrive to let me know if they have any problems straight away so we can remedy it. If you had informed us you were having difficulty, I am confident we would have come up with a way of improving the reception for you, which is better in some parts of the cottage than others. Other guests have used it satisfactorily and we use it regularly. We are in a rural location and telephone broadband is not available so we have to rely on mobile broadband, which is slower. I have added a note to the description on the web- site to make potential guests aware of this. Best wishes with your future plans.

6 Oct 2012

4/5

"Great value cottage in nice location"

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Jasmin cottage, this was our first time to France taking the dog on the pet passport scheme.

The cottage was very clean and comfortable and we were pleasantly surprised by the homely touches Barbara had made which made it feel very cosy - the welcome pack was much appreciated. There were also lots of other little extras which we haven't come across before at other self catering venues which are usually devoid of anything other than the furniture and basic kitchen utensils..

The 'service' was excellent for us in that the owners were on hand if/when we needed to ask anything but not in any way intrusive.

The cottage is in a lovely location and only a couple of minutes walk to the woods. We like this area of France as there is is a variety of things to see and do. There are several nice beaches with miles of white sand about an hour away, interesting towns and cities to explore and WW1 battlefields/memorials to visit.

Many thanks for your lovely review. We are glad you appreciated the extra touches. We want our guests to have everything they need to feel at home.
Look forward to seeing you again next year.

Review 1-10 of 18

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.

Close

Min stay varies

Changeover day Flexible

from £49 /night help

This is the estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Contact the advertiser to confirm the price - it varies depending on when you stay and how long for.

Book your stay

*
*
*

Subtotal

 Your dates are available

Contact the owner

Close

Payment options

You need to pay through the Holiday Lettings website to ensure your payment is protected. We can’t protect your payment if you don’t pay through us.Learn more

You're booking with

Barbara P.

  • 4 Years listed

100% Response rate

Calendar last updated:14 Oct 2014

Based in France

Languages spoken
  • English

Payment accepted

Paypal accepted

Also consider

Hesdin
76 properties
Le Touquet
67 properties
Belle Dune
39 properties
Le Crotoy
37 properties
Montreuil-sur-Mer
33 properties
Boulogne sur Mer
30 properties
Somme
29 properties
Saint Omer
22 properties
Wimereux
16 properties
Saint-Valery-sur-Somme
16 properties
Cayeux-sur-Mer
15 properties
Berck-sur-Mer
14 properties
Saint-Martin-Choquel
9 properties
Camiers
8 properties
Saint Pol Sur Ternoise
8 properties
Ergny
8 properties
Fauquembergues
8 properties
Hardelot Plage
7 properties
Cayeux Sur Mer
6 properties
Sempy
6 properties

Start a new search