from £186 /night help
Cottage | 5 bedrooms | sleeps 12
Originally a gamekeeper's cottage, Easter Duiar has been substantially extended to provide excellent self-catering holiday accommodation in Speyside for 2–12 people.
Located in one of the most beautiful areas of Scotland, this wonderful highland home is in the heart of Speyside on the edge of the Cairngorms National Park, just 8 miles from Grantown-on-Spey and provides an ideal base for exploring the Scottish highlands and the Moray Firth coast.
Whether you are looking to enjoy the many exciting outdoor pursuits nearby or are just searching for somewhere to put your feet up and enjoy wonderful highland views and stress free living, then Easter Duiar will hopefully be the place for you.
|Size||Sleeps up to 12, 5 bedrooms|
|Nearest beach||28 miles 45 km|
|Will consider||Corporate bookings, House swap, Long term lets (over 1 month), Short breaks (1-4 days)|
|Nearest Amenities||14 km|
|Nearest travel links||Nearest airport: Inverness Dalcross Airport 65 km, Nearest railway: Inverness 69 km|
|Family friendly||Great for children of all ages, Suitable for people with restricted mobility|
|Notes||Some pets are welcome - please contact the owner, No smoking at this property|
Features and Facilities
|Luxuries||Log fire, Internet access, DVD player|
|General||Central heating, TV, Video player, CD player, Telephone, Pool or snooker table, Table tennis, Satellite TV, Wi-Fi available|
|Standard||Kettle, Toaster, Iron, Hair dryer|
|Utilities||Clothes dryer, Dishwasher, Cooker, Microwave, Fridge, Freezer, Washing machine|
|Rooms||5 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms of which 1 Family bathrooms and 2 En suites|
|Furniture||1 Sofa beds, Single beds (6), Double beds (2), Cots (1), Dining seats for 12, Lounge seats for 12|
|Other||Linen provided, Towels provided, High chair|
|Outdoors||Balcony or terrace, Private garden, BBQ|
The Aviemore and the Cairngorms region
Availability Your dates are available
Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor
Guest reviews no reviews
Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor
- 5 star
- 4 star
- 3 star
- 2 star
- 1 star
Very Good 4/5
Help other travellers decide where to stay
Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.Write a review
10 Nov 2014
"Excellent Location, Excellent House"
Stayed here as part of a walking group, the house was perfect for us. The sun room in particular is a lovely part of the house, and coupled with the living room next to the kitchen, there is plenty of… More
22 Sep 2014
"Fantastic relaxing stay in a beautiful house and garden with surrounding walks"
We stayed at Easter Duiar for a week and had such a relaxing chill out time. The house is beautiful with everything that you need with an amazing garden and forrest walks at the rear of the property. I wish we had been booked for 2 weeks. We loved the huge master bedroom with the little balcony where we sat out most mornings with our cup of tea! We also loved the large sun room which was very relaxing looking out to the garden and views.
There was one little thing we noticed that one of the toilet seats was broken in the main bathroom but one phone call to the owner to report this and someone came out the next day to fix it.
We ventured out on a few occasions and found some really nice places to eat but also decided that we enjoyed using the BBQ and garden to the full.
We are definitely going to return to Easter Duiar hopefully for 2 weeks next time, it is a beautiful part of Scotland.
14 Sep 2014
"Great house in an ideal location, offering something for everyone"
Just back from our latest fabulous break at Easter Duiar late August/early September. The cottage has grown over the years, just as our family have also grown up, so it's always a pleasure to see what improvements the owners have made on our visits. The cottage is very well equipped, comfortable and stylish, without being pretentious. The sun lounge is really a fab place for big family meals, relaxing in front of the wood burning stove, listening to music and watching the birdlife in the garden. What a boon the games “bothy” is, which is a great attraction for the children (and teenagers) to be able to hang out in their own space.
The cottage is in a fabulous location, well placed to strike out for great walks and hill climbs and is ideally located to explore Speyside, including the new mountain bike centre at Glenlivet, as well as being close enough to the Cairngorms to easily catch a day's skiing.
We've had some great get-togethers with friends at Easter Duiar over the years and have lovely memories of watching the kids enjoying Easter egg hunts in the spring in the extensive grounds, autumn walks in the woodlands behind the cottage and great sledging and skiing in the winter months. Just realised that we've been visiting to Easter Duiar for over fifteen years and we're already looking forward to our next visit!
22 Aug 2014
"A long way from luxury – and don't bring children"
We rented Easter Duiar from the 9th to the 23rd August this year at a cost of £2900. We wanted a quality rental and the website for this property describes it as "excellent self-catering h… More
We are disappointed and upset to read the review from this guest and are somewhat taken aback by its inaccuracy and misleading nature. It's been a wonderful summer in the Highlands and we have had more than a dozen other parties visit during the summer months with no complaints. However, during his first week at Easter Duiar, this guest had the misfortune of experiencing the tail end of Hurricane Bertha as it hit the north of Scotland, producing the worst August weather for many decades and impacting on thousands of disappointed holiday makers. For over 20 years we have taken great pride in providing high quality accommodation and we always take feedback very seriously, whether it be positive or negative. Unfortunately this guest took the decision to leave early during the bad weather without warning or prior explanation so the reader will understand the difficult position in which we have been placed, particularly in light of a demand for a refund against the spectre of a bad review.
The reviewer has been very pointed in his comments so we feel that it is only right that we address each one in more detail below, in order that the reader can benefit from more rounded feedback:
• Our website accurately represents the quality of the accommodation and garden area. We have several additional photos of the extra bedrooms and other parts of the house taken between April and July of this year and whilst we may not be allowed to post them in this response they can be made available if requested via our website.
• We have a 4 star grading from Visit Scotland with the last inspection in April 2014 therefore standards are high.
• The location plan on our website clearly shows the location. The garden is secured on all sides by sturdy fences. Over the years we have probably had hundreds of children and at least 200 dogs staying who have all survived a holiday at Easter Duiar!
• The house is in an elevated position set back from the road with fantastic views across the Spey Valley. Additional photos again can be made available if requested.
• The garden provides a large area of lawn for small children to play on and a great woodland slope which can be explored, together with lovely woodland walks through a gate from the garden.
• Unfortunately we cannot legislate against wasps although we are obviously sorry to hear that anybody was stung. However they do exist in the Highlands as they do everywhere else. We would be keen to organise for any nests if found to be eradicated by a pest control company. However on this occasion the guests left before advising us that there was an issue.
• There is a pest control regime in place within the cottage. According to the pest control company who we have contacted for clarification, the boxes are “tamper resistant bait boxes which need a special key to open them for safety reasons and the bait used is in solid block form to prevent any spillage.” We have since requested that they secure the boxes in the cupboard to the walls to prevent them being moved.
• All electrical appliances and lamps etc have been PAT tested. We feel that stickers are unsightly and have a separate schedule with over 50 appliances and electrical fittings listed which all satisfy the relevant safety criteria.
• The photos show very minor issues which have been magnified to make a point. The alleged damp in the upstairs bedroom is a small area of discolouration in the paintwork at the window frame. These rooms are not damp but we will organise for the paintwork in the window surrounds to be refreshed.
• Highland council operate an alternate weekly bin collection service with an uplift every alternate Thursday for normal waste and recycling. If we are advised of any excess waste not having been uplifted on collection day then we will organise for our caretaker to remove it as soon as possible.
• The water system is a highly pressurised system where it is possible to have multiple showers. Occasionally the water filter may block and we advise in literature sent to guests, that in the unlikely event of a problem arising, they should notify us as soon as possible in order that we can rectify it without delay. We were not made aware of any such issues until after this guest had left the house.
• The property has ample heating provision with a combination of electrical wall panel heaters which heat up very quickly, storage heaters, a log burning stove in the sun-lounge and coal fire in the lounge. We advise guests to use discretion with electric heating to avoid anyone accidentally leaving heaters on 24/7 which is neither good for the environment nor from a cost perspective.
• We have invested regularly in upgrading Easter Duiar and this year alone have replaced all the carpets in the ground floor of the house together with the stair and upstairs hallway. We have also replaced the sofas and rugs in the lounge area.
• The child gate works well and the string is used to secure a fold down flap which covers the area over the top step.
• We are sorry that the reviewer has not found the standard of cleanliness to be up to their expectations. If this does ever occur we ask that guests report any issues to us immediately in order that we can organise for the situation to be rectified as soon as possible.
• All information regarding access arrangements and further general information for the property were emailed to this guest in June. I assume the reviewer must have forgotten this, although when I forwarded the information for the second time in August my original June email was attached together with the original attachments!
• On a general note we were not advised of the reasons for this guest wishing to cut their holiday short until after they had left!
As already mentioned we have had at least another 12 parties who have rented the house over the summer months including two on either side of this guest's stay and have had no other complaints. Indeed we have had many positive comments in emails received following guests having left the cottage which is why we are very surprised and confused by this review.
To say the least this review is deliberately misleading, perhaps partly attributable to a frame of mind brought about by the uncharacteristically inclement weather at the time, a hasty decision to leave early and a subsequent attempt to secure a refund under threat of a bad review.
22 May 2014
"Great House, Friendly Owner, Amazing location"
There aren't many luxury houses for large groups in the Cairngorms that are actually affordable so I was quick to book this one when I found it in a search. It was a great decision. The house itself is fantastic and feels very homely - with a fantastic main reception room with huge windows on three sides and a log burner which was perfect for group meals, playing cards, and relaxing with a glass of wine. If anyone wanted to watch TV (mostly sports) then there is a cosy snug with Sky Sports HD. The kitchen was very well equipped and meant that we can comfortably cook meals for the group each night without getting frustrated or compromising due to lack of equipment - in fact this is the best equipped holiday let I have been to.
The outdoor space is amazing - lots of trees and space to chill out outside, have a BBQ, or play table tennis (we played a lot of table tennis as the weather was great for the week!).
Be aware with this property that it is remote. There are no pubs, eateries or shops nearby so you will need to plan food & drink or at least be willing to drive to get it. However this was a massive plus for me and is exactly what I wanted from a trip to the Cairngorms - to feel isolated and cut off from the world, and aside from the necessity of a Tesco delivery that bought the week's food order, it was achieved.
One last thing to note is the fabulous owner who was very helpful and brilliant with communication before, during and after the stay. It's not often you rent a holiday house and get an email the night before to check that everything is ok, another during the stay to make sure you've got everything you need (included sending some good tips on where to go Mountain Biking!) and again just before we left - with the very generous offer to stay beyond the advertised check out time so that we didn't feel rushed on our departure. Highly recommended!!