List your home
Apply filters
£ to

Very Good 4.5/5 Score from 13 reviews

Sandray Cottage

from £54 / night help

Very Good 4.5/5 Score from 13 reviews

from £54 /night

Estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Excludes fees (if applicable). Enter your dates to see the total cost.

Opposite side of the canal

Cottage / 2 bedrooms / sleeps 4

Key Info
  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Great for children of all ages
  • Car essential
  • Some pets are welcome - please contact the owner
  • Private garden


Sandray is one of three former canal worker cottages making up a pretty hamlet of holiday homes at Kytra Lock, a tranquil and secluded waterside spot just outside Fort Augustus on the Caledonian Canal. The cottages boast polished wood floors downstairs and period fireplaces. The use of traditional fabrics also adds to the delightful ambience of these lock keepers' cottages, which have been recently restored by Scottish Canals.

Sandray Cottage sits on the east bank of the canal and is accessed by walking across the lock gates. Parking is on the west side of the canal. Sandray Cottage is one of two semi-detached cottages which provide spacious accommodation for four. The cottage opens into a central hallway off which there is a sitting room with a wood-burning stove and the added feature of a bay window with seating overlooking the canal. Also on the ground floor there is a light and airy open plan kitchen/diner and a spacious bathroom. Upstairs is the sleeping accommodation in a double bedroom and a twin bedroom. A private garden area with outdoor furniture provides the perfect spot for enjoying the canalside scenery.

The cottages at Kytra can be rented individually or booked together in order to cater for larger groups. A 10% discount will apply when booking two cottages together and a 10% discount for reserving all three.

Size Sleeps up to 4, 2 bedrooms
Will consider Corporate bookings, Long term lets (over 1 month)
Access Car essential
Nearest travel links Nearest airport: Inverness Airport 70 km
Family friendly Great for children of all ages
Notes Some pets are welcome - please contact the owner, No smoking at this property

Features and Facilities

Luxuries Log fire, DVD player
General Central heating, TV, CD player
Standard Kettle, Toaster
Utilities Clothes dryer, Cooker, Microwave, Fridge, Freezer, Washing machine
Rooms 2 bedrooms, 1 bathrooms of which 1 Family bathrooms
Furniture Double beds (1), Single beds (2), Dining seats for 6, Lounge seats for 4
Other Linen provided, Towels provided, High chair
Outdoors Private garden, BBQ
Access Parking

About this location

The Scottish Highlands region

Fort Augustus

About the owner

Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor

Guest reviews no reviews

Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Excellent 5/5

13 reviews Very Good 4.5/5

Help other travellers decide where to stay

Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.

Write a review

Write a review
Review 1-10 of 13

28 Aug 2014


"Very quiet and quaint cottage"

Sandray cottage is a well appointed and clean cottage in the heart of Scotland. It was a little more remote than we had initially thought but this only adds to the character and charm of it. The cotta… More

28 Aug 2014


"vacaciones inolvidables"

una casa encantadora. La decoración muy cuidada. muy bien equipada y el entorno vuelvo a escocia seguro que repito el alojamiento… More

3 Aug 2014


"Tranquil setting"

Sandray cottage is perfect for a relaxing weekend - cottage is well equipped, very clean and maintained to a high standard. We loved watching the canal boats pass through Kytra Loch - stunning views o… More

1 Aug 2014


"Non potable water, insects, sheep, bats, etc."

Was never told about water issue, and the sign in cottage warned us not to consume water, boil before cooking, etc. Bottled water was provided, but it made us very wary of taking showers, as it speci… More

Thank you for your feedback – we're always looking for ways we can improve our guests' stays with us.

We aim to give our guests the best experience possible and we're sorry you weren't fully satisfied with your stay. As you have highlighted, Scottish Canals is in the process of upgrading the water supply. The water in the area is from a private supply and we do have filters in place to purify the water supply to the cottage. However, whilst we are undertaking this work we are requesting our guests take precautions. We do have systems in place to advise guests of the issue prior to arrival and we apologise that our system appears to have failed on this occasion. We have reviewed the procedure and this should not occur again.

Sandray Cottage is located in a sheltered and secluded spot. There are fields in the surrounding area and sheep can sometimes be found within them. As the cottage is located in a rural area, sound travels further than in urban areas and the lack of other noises can make the sounds from the animals more noticeable. I'm sorry this disturbed your sleep.

Unfortunately, insects and bats are relatively common in the area and are quite unavoidable. Bats are also a protected species and actually help to reduce the number of insects in any given area.

The property is 3km from the main A82 and access is gained via the towpath. The towpath is regularly maintained but, while they are regularly repaired, unfortunately potholes do reappear from time to time. In the interest of safety, we always recommend driving at a slow speed on all of our towpaths as walkers, runners and anglers also use the canal.

The Scottish Outdoor Access Code allows people to move around on publicly-held - and even some private land - and, as such, there is very little we can do to stop camping in the area.

You should be able to open the windows in the upstairs bedrooms but now that you have raised this as an issue, we will investigate and if needed, remedy the situation. As for our beds, they are standard size single beds and a standard size double bed. I'm sorry you found these to be unsuitable.

Many of our guests find it refreshing to be out of mobile phone reception and Wi-Fi range as they feel it helps them to relax. However, we are looking into the demand for, and feasibility of, adding Wi-Fi access to our properties.

We hope that this experience does not deter you from trying some of our other Canalside Cottages, perhaps in more urban areas.

1 Aug 2014



Having just returned from a week away in this absolutely stunning location and cottage. Everything about our stay was amazing. Would highly recommend...although definately one of our best kept secrets… More

2 Jul 2014


"Wonderful with waterproblems"

The Cottage is placed very beautifully . And the canalsite is really wonderful. Inside the cottage is everything you could want for and even more. But we were greeted by a leaflet with informations a… More

11 Jun 2014



We stayed at Sandray Cottage for one week and we enjoyed every single Minute. It's placed next to the Kytra Lock and it's very interesting to watch the lock keepers at their work. The house was clean, nice and looked inside exactly as on the photographs. It takes about 10 minutes drive from Fort Augustus and it is a very quiet place. You need to buy your goods in Inverness or Fort William, because there is no big Supermarket in Fort Augustus or in the other Villages around it.

21 Apr 2014


"Peaceful, pretty, prefect stay."

Sandray Cottage has to be one of my favourite short breaks I've had in Scotland. The glorious weather helped but even if it had been raining it wouldn't of mattered, Sandray is a slice of he… More

10 Apr 2014


"An ideal base to relax and unwind."

This little cottage is beautiful. It was spotlessly clean , warm and welcoming. Being true townies, the fire was a great source of entertainment as were the boats on the canal. My teenage children … More

8 Jan 2014


"Perfect get away from busy city life."

Arriving at the property we were greeted by the cheery lock keeper, who was nothing to do with the property but was an invaluable source of local information. Everything was exactly as we had been tol… More

Review 1-10 of 13

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.


Book your stay

Enter dates for more accurate prices


3 Nights min stay

Sleeps 4

    from £54 /night help

    Estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Excludes fees (if applicable). Enter your dates to see the total cost.


    Enter dates to see your price

    Owner fees cover things like cleaning. Click Book now to review a full breakdown of the cost before making your payment.

    This home can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank transfer)

    Pay online via Holiday Lettings with your credit/debit card or your PayPal account to be covered by Payment Protection

    Contact the owner

    Need more information first?


    Tick this box to request a quote for your stay. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online. Note that other guests may have received a quote for the same dates. The first one to pay gets the booking, so make your payment asap to secure your holiday.

      This home can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank transfer)

      Pay online via Holiday Lettings with your credit/debit card or your PayPal account to be covered by Payment Protection

      You're booking with

      Esther M.

      100% Response rate

      Calendar last updated:31 Mar 2015

      Based in United Kingdom

      Languages spoken
      • English

      Don’t let an old browser slow down your holiday

      Your browser is out of date and might not work well with our website. Download the latest version to speed up your hunt for the perfect holiday home.

      Just click on the icons to get to the download page