Villa | 3 bedrooms | sleeps 6
Set in the Spanish suburb of santa ana (es castell) the villa is located in an ideal position for access to local shops, supermarket, post office, fishmongers all within walking distance.
Also the villa overlooks the beautiful fishing harbour of Calas Fonts with it's many shops,stalls and restaurants accessible within 5 minutes from the the end of the road via wooden steps and a board-walk visible from the rear terrace of the villa.
You can also see from the villa all the boats coming in and out of the port of mahon.
|Size||Sleeps up to 6, 3 bedrooms|
|Nearest beach||Sol de Este 300 m|
|Will consider||Long term lets (over 1 month), Short breaks (1-4 days)|
|Access||Car not necessary|
|Nearest Amenities||300 m|
|Nearest travel links||Nearest airport: Mahon 6 km|
|Family friendly||Great for children of all ages|
|Notes||No pets allowed, Yes, smoking allowed|
Features and Facilities
|Luxuries||DVD player, Sea view|
|General||Central heating, Air conditioning, TV, CD player, Satellite TV|
|Standard||Kettle, Toaster, Iron, Hair dryer|
|Utilities||Clothes dryer, Dishwasher, Cooker, Microwave, Fridge, Freezer, Washing machine|
|Rooms||3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms of which 1 Family bathrooms and 1 Shower rooms, Solarium or roof terrace|
|Furniture||Single beds (4), Double beds (1), Cots (1), Dining seats for 6, Lounge seats for 6|
|Outdoors||Balcony or terrace, Private garden, BBQ|
The Balearic Islands region
Menorca is in my opinion the prettiest and most unspoilt of the Balearic Islands and ideal for all ages and especially for families with children.
All restaurants are child friendly both during the day and at night and there are many beautiful beaches from 15 mins to an hour drive. Mahon the capital is a 10 minute drive or bus ride and Cuitadela the main town at the other end of the Island is 45 minutes drive or bus ride both places are beautiful and worth a visit .
Cals Fonts is the fishing harbour directly in front of the villa and is a 5 minute picturesque walk via a wooden board-walk from the villa.It has many shops, stalls bars and restaurants and is especially beautiful by night.
Also there are many shops, bars and restaurants in Es Castell itself which is a 10 minute walk from the villa.
There is a small but pretty sun bathing Cove (Sol de Este) 5 minutes walk from the villa which also has a small beach and bar.
Availability Your dates are available
Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor
Guest reviews no reviews
Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor
- 5 star
- 4 star
- 3 star
- 2 star
- 1 star
Very Good 4/5
Help other travellers decide where to stay
Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.Write a review
16 Nov 2013
"Location, location ,location"
Stayed here at end of July and really enjoyed staying in the villa. The villa is nicely furnished with everything you could need. Stunning views from the terrace of cala fonts and from the roof terra… More
18 Mar 2012
The villa was spectacular, the furnishings comfortable and modern.The kitchen was very well equipped.The beds lovely, the best nights sleep we have ever had on holiday.To top it all off the views over Mahon harbour were spectacular.It was a short walk to the shops and the wonderful Calas fonts restaurants, ( try Lidias Tapas, LLengal ) all in all one of the best villas we have ever stayed at. Thank you
1 Nov 2011
"Beautiful home from home in idyllic situation."
There were three generations of our family holidaying at La Palmiera for two weeks this summer. The villa was spotless and spacious with a beautiful kitchen and two lovely big bath/shower rooms, great when sharing with 3 teenagers! Magical to sit on the balcony with breakfast overlooking the boats sailing into harbour. (Perhaps it would be nice to have a slightly bigger table out there?) The generous sized pool is set in a charming garden. lots of seating space.The roof terrace offers the most amazing views; you feel as though you are in a crows nest! The owner's own artwork graces the walls of the living area. The villa is in a residential area that felt very safe, only 5 minutes from the enchanting Calas Fons; a small harbour with restaurants lining the waterfront. There are market stalls set up at night selling local arts and crafts, jewellery and leather. About 10 minutes walk away is a very good spar and a far too tempting bakery. There are bigger supermarkets 5 minutes drive away. There is a regular bus into Mahon bus station where you can get connecting buses all over the island so it's not really necessary to hire a car, though helpful to reach some beaches. There is information in the villa and the management team were very helpful. We would return to this villa in a heartbeat and have no qualms about recommending it to friends.
13 Oct 2011
"Very disappointed - not the experience we were expecting"
When we booked the villa it was advertised as having a heated pool (which was the reason we booked it as we were visiting in May and we knew the water would be too cold otherwise). The owner confirmed the pool was heated and said he would have to charge us 50 Euros for heating. We paid the balance about 6 weeks prior to our holiday and did not hear anything further from the owner for the next 2 or 3 weeks. No acknowledgement of the money, no replies to our emails, we had no address of the property and at one point we began to think that the owner had just disappeared. Eventually we called by phone and he seemed surprised that we had been worried and said he had not received our emails. He thought he had sent us the address of the villa and how to gain entry, but he had not - on the whole a very unsatisfactory communication. We then asked how he wanted us to pay the 50 Euros for the pool heating and he said "we can sort that out later" which we thought was odd as we were not expecting to have any further contact. When we arrived at the villa the pool was absolutely freezing cold and not able to be used. We called the contact that was on the details at the villa and she said she did not know the pool had any heating! She said she would check and get back to us. She called back to say the owner had said that it broke down a couple of days ago and could not get it fixed in time! Later in the week we saw the person that cleans the pool and he said the heating had been broken for quite a while! We also saw a friend of the owner who visited the villa to pick something up and he said the heating had been broken for a while. The fact that we were unable to use the pool for the whole of the week we were there totally changed the type of holiday we had. I am aware that the pool is now advertised as unheated, but I was extremely disappointed that the owner was so ready to pull the wool over our eyes and also the total lack of communication involved in the booking process. The villa itself was fine but unfortunately our holiday experience was ruined. We rent villas all the time and this is the first time we have been let down. We sent an email on our return to express our disappointment and the reply we received did not even contain an apology but just reiterated that the heating had broken down shortly before our stay. I would not recommend renting this villa.
We did not charge for the pool heater as we were informed that 2 days before the clients arrived that there was a fault with it and would require a part replacing which would have to be imported from the U.S.and could take a considerable amount of time to arrive.We have no idea who informed them that the heater had been out of use for some time as i was in the villa a week previous using the pool and heater.
We did not have a direct contact number to speak with them to explain so our managing agents done this.
We are sorry if this caused an inconvenience but sometimes things do breakdown and are difficult to fix immediately because parts are not readily available on the Island.
We had 14 separate bookings this year and not 1 other problem and am sorry that these people had to suffer this unfortunate incident.
30 Jun 2011
"power cut as owner had not paid electricity bill, villa shabby, owner did not want to know once we had paid him ."
We have already submitted reviews to ownersdirect and holiday lettings. On arrival villa was very shabby - broken wardrobes, badly cracked leaking sink, blocked shower, no blankets, etc etc. one t… More
This person did stay at our villa last year (2010)and did have an unfortunate unintended incident with the electric being cut off due to a mix up at the local bank accidentally stopping the existing debit to the electricity company which was a complete surprise to all of us including our management company.
Every effort was made by our management company to rectify the problem which i'm afraid took a considerable time to eventually contact the correct department of the electric company who are based in Madrid to issue an order to reconnect the electric.
In the meantime my management company representative tried to make the experience as painless as possible providing lighting,bedding and coolboxes for food storage.
They also re-imbursed 100 euros on our behalf for loss of food in the fridge.
The clients were so pleased with the response of our management company that they gave a present of a bottle of wine and a thank you card to their representative.
With reference to the broken basin and wardrobe door these were caused by a rather boistrous family that stayed in the villa the previous week and were deemed not dangerous or leaking and replaced the following week after these clients left which was the final rented week of the season.
On a final note we have been renting this and another villa previous with Holidaylettings and Ownersdirect since 2003 and have had no other complaints this was an unfortunate incident and we are genuinely sorry for any inconvenience that was caused at the time to the clients concerned.
You need to pay through the Holiday Lettings website to ensure your payment is protected. We can’t protect your payment if you don’t pay through us.Learn more
You're booking with
- 4 Years listed
75% Response rate
Calendar last updated:11 Feb 2014
Based in United Kingdom
Credit cards accepted
- 91 properties
- Arenal d'en Castell
- 59 properties
- Son Parc
- 58 properties
- Son Bou
- 58 properties
- 54 properties
- Cala Galdana
- 54 properties
- Es Mercadal
- 53 properties
- 48 properties
- Cala n Porter
- 44 properties
- 42 properties
- Torre Soli Nou
- 34 properties
- Es Castell
- 33 properties
- Addaya / Addaia
- 30 properties
- Sant Lluis
- 26 properties
- 17 properties
- 16 properties
- Es Grau
- 13 properties
- Sant Climent
- 11 properties
- 9 properties
- Na Macaret
- 9 properties