List your home
Apply filters
£ to

Eastcraig Cottage

from£93/nighthelp

Excellent 5/5 Score from 32 reviews

The baywindow in the Master bedroom with a sitting area to enjoy the fantastic outlook.

House | 3 bedrooms | sleeps 6

Key Info
  • Nearest beach 6 km
  • Great for children of all ages
  • Car not necessary
  • No pets allowed
  • Private garden

Eastcraig Cottage is perfectly suited for your city break. Explore the beautiful city of Edinburgh, walk through the Nature reserve into picturesque Morningside with all its individual shops, cafes and bars or venture further afield. Whatever you decided to do you will appreciate coming back to this haven of tranquility after a busy day. Relax after sightseeing on the sunny patio with a glass of wine and a barbecue, or enjoy the peaceful outlook over Craigmillar Park Golfclub, the Royal Observatory and Arthur's Seat from the lounge or the sitting area in the master bedroom. Our cottage is als great for families. There is plenty of space in the well-proportioned rooms and the fully enclosed, walled garden. We provide games, video and toys and the cottage is fully equipped with extras that make daily life with children so much easier. Our welcome basket awaits you and you will feel at home from the minute you open the turquoise door.

Size Sleeps up to 6, 3 bedrooms
Nearest beach Portobello (Victorian seaside) 6.3 km
Will consider Corporate bookings, House swap, Long term lets (over 1 month), Short breaks (1-4 days)
Access Car not necessary
Nearest travel links Nearest airport: Edinburgh 15.3 km, Nearest railway: Edinburgh Waverly 4.1 km
Family friendly Great for children of all ages, Suitable for people with restricted mobility
Notes No pets allowed, No smoking at this property

Features and Facilities

Luxuries Internet access, DVD player
General Central heating, TV, Video player, CD player
Standard Kettle, Toaster, Iron, Hair dryer
Utilities Clothes dryer, Dishwasher, Cooker, Microwave, Fridge, Freezer, Washing machine
Rooms 3 bedrooms, 1 bathrooms of which 1 Family bathrooms
Furniture Single beds (4), Double beds (2), Cots (1), Dining seats for 6, Lounge seats for 6
Other Linen provided, Towels provided, High chair
Outdoors Balcony or terrace, Private garden, BBQ
Access Parking
Further details indoors

We have upgraded the cottage and we have added the option to have 2 single beds instead of the king-size bed in our second bedroom. Just let us know what you would prefer.

* Stunning views over Blackford Hill Observatory, Arthur's seat and Craigmillar Park Golf Club

* Beautifully restored with attention to period features

* FREE unrestricted parking infront of the cottage

* Easy access to the city centre

* Barbecue

* Socket covers, step for the sink , stair gate, cot and high chair on request

* Babysitting Service on request, subject to availability

* Internet access via dongle

* Sledge

Further details outdoors

From the kitchen you can access the sheltered, sunny patio area with a table and chairs. This is surrounded by a herb garden. From there you can access the grassy area with a bench to relax and surrounded by apple trees. The garden is fully enclosed by a wall. You will be able to catch the sunshine all day long. This is the perfect place for everybody to relax. Behind the garden are fields.

To the front of the property there is a garden mainly laid with gravel. From there you can watch the golfers or start off for a walk along the Hermitage Nature Reserve. Your walk will take you along a stream, over bridges, through woodlands and past the Hermitage visitors centre. You will hardly believe you are so close to the city centre. WALK TO GOLF IN 10 MINUTES.

Further details

RUGBY SPECIAL: 3 nights for the price of 2

Free WELCOME PACK provided on arrival. Late check-in no problem.

Wir sprechen auch Deutsch. (German spoken as well)

The Lothians region

Edinburgh is one of the most beautiful capital cities in the world. It is a place to visit all year round to admire the stunning architecture, get engrossed in fascinating history, soak up the buzzing atmosphere, enjoy art and music, play golf, treat yourself to delicious meals, enjoy the shopping experience or just relax in our many pubs and restaurants.

Scotland is the home of golf. There are 24 golf clubs within the boundaries of the city of Edinburgh and a vast number within easy driving distance. Whether you are a novice or an expert, you will find a new challenge and experience friendly hospitality.

Edinburgh is also a great place to visit for a family. You will soon discover the vast parks and green spaces within the city, interactive museums, fantastic play parks and Children's Festivals.

Edinburgh is a city of Festivals, the most well-known being the International Festival and the Fringe in August and the Hogmany Party over New Year. If you want to do something a bit more energetic you could climb Arthur's Seat, one of Edinburgh's 3 extinct volcanoes or go skiing on Europe's longest dry ski slope.

Edinburgh

Eastcraig cottage is one of 4 farm cottages that were built over a hundred years ago. A very short walk along the Braid burn (the Scottish word for stream) will take you into the Hermitage, a picturesque nature reserve.

This beautiful walk will bring you out in Morningside, one of the most sought after areas in Edinburgh. You will love exploring the individual shops and delicatessen and enjoy relaxing in one of many bars and cafes.

Blackford Hill houses the Edinburgh Observatory, a beautiful landmark that can be seen from the lounge and Master bedroom. Arthur's seat, seen from the front of the property towards the north-east is a volcanic rock that can be climbed and that gives you a fantastic outlook over the city and far beyond.

Should you be lucky to have snow, the golf course infront of the cottage is just perfect for sledging.

The city centre of Edinburgh is beautiful, you will admire the fantastic architecture of Princes Street, the Royal Mile and the New Town. You will want to explore Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace (the official Scottish residence of the Queen), St. Giles Cathedral, our Dynamic Earth, maybe one of many galleries, ... Maybe you want to see Roslin chapel (Da Vinci Code) in real life, or visit the monument and grave of "Greyfriar's Bobby" - the story has recently been turned into a film, maybe you want to listen to the bagpipes or go to do Ceilidh dancing. You might also be interested in our many Festivals: Edinburgh International Festival (August), the Fringe (July/August), Edinburgh Military Tattoo (August), Hogmanay Party (New Year), Science Festival (Spring), Film Festival, and many more. There is so much to see, you will keep coming back to Edinburgh for more. For further information and lots of useful links please see our website.

Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor

Guest reviews no reviews

Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor

5 star
20
4 star
9
3 star
1
2 star
2
1 star
0

Excellent 5/5

32 reviews Excellent 5/5

Help other travellers decide where to stay

Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.

Write a review

Write a review
Review 1-10 of 32

30 Aug 2013

5/5

"Excellent Cottage - understated in the advert"

The cottage and location was excellent. The cottage was fully equipped and set in beautiful surroundings. We were there to visit the Edinburgh Tattoo and the cottage was great to go back to for peace … More

Thanks Sara, that is a lovely headline. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
Gertrud

14 Aug 2013

5/5

"Great Festival for Youth"

Brought my son and 3 other teenagers for Edinburgh Festival (they are all into theater), and used Eastcraig Cottage as a base. They all want to come back next year which probably says it all.Location … More

Graham, as always, it was a pleasure to have you stay. I will be in touch shortly regarding dates for next August. Gertrud

19 Jul 2013

5/5

"Very pleasant, well located and well equipped"

I visited the University which is next door.The house was clean, very conveniently equipped, in a quiet area.The town is very accessible by nearby buses.This was a perfect choice for our 2 weeks visi… More

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. You were so lucky with the weather, too and could enjoy our patio suntrap! Hopefully we'll see you at your next visit to Edinburgh.
Gertrud

2 Jul 2013

5/5

"A charming cottage in the city."

Eastcraig Cottage was charming, spotlessly clean, comfortable, cosy and well facilitated. The kitchen was extremely well equipped, toys & games available for the children, milk in the fridge when we … More

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Eastcraig Cottage used to be our home and is equipped as such. As we often stay in selfcatering accomodation ourselves and we try to add touches that make a holiday with children easier. We would be delighted to have you back. Gertrud

30 May 2013

2/5

"The good, the bad and the ugly."

Background: My wife and I stayed here with my daughter and her family for 4 nights in april. My daughter has 2 small children; her husband is a U.S.Military officer with Nato in Belgium. They were rea… More

Jim,
I totally agree that the issue with the WIFI was indeed very unfortunate, as already acknowledged in response to your daughter's earlier review. For this reason we provided compensation as we wish all guests to have a first class experience. We did our best to resolve the matter at the time, which was outside of our control, and have consequently changed WIFI suppliers.
The other difficulties you reported here could have been easily resolved by referring to the instruction folder we leave for all guests. In the 100+ bookings we have had to date at Eastcraig Cottage, our 500+ guests have not had the difficulties your group have reported. The heating system, which controls the hot water as well, has 96 pins in a clock/circle – each one controls the heating for a 15 min period in/out for off/on. It was installed because it was the simplest on the market. The TV and gas fire are pretty standard too. No faults were found with these by the staff who came out several times to assist.
We did our best to make your stay a pleasant one, and regret the inconvenience caused by the WIFI being down.
I'm pleased to hear you found the house attractive, and were happy with the location.
Regards
Gertrud.

29 May 2013

2/5

"Not what we expected"

We stayed here for 4 nights in april and were very disappointed. Both my husband and father needed to to work while here and were not able to. Although wi-fi and dongle access are advertised, there … More

Christy, I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. It seems that you had encountered several problems on arrival: you were unable to switch on the TV and gas fire (despite having the manuals at the cottage and having talked you through the required steps on the phone), the wifi signal was down and you could not get the dongle to work in your laptop. My handyman arrived quickly, switched everything on for you, showed you how the shower works (a mixer shower, standard in the UK and Europe) and spent an hour on his phone negotiating car hire deals for you as you hadn't managed to get online. He then drove your husband to the airport to pick up a hire car and let you borrow his own SatNav for the duration of your holiday, free of charge. In the meantime our neighbour generously provided you with her own internet password which gave you wifi. My daughter arrived and gave you IT support on your laptop and got that working with the dongle. She also went to the cottage on two more occasions to check the hot water as you kept reporting problems. Then you emailed that the central heating was not working. It had just been serviced and is on a very simple timer that guests are able to adjust themselves. We did not find a fault with that. I was on a week's holiday at the time of your stay but was always available by phone and email to assist.
As a sign of good-will and to acknowledge that internet access had not been available at the point of arrival, I sent you a cheque. You confirmed that this had been received.
I believe that the level of support you required is not generally offered in self-catering accommodation, somewhere with a 24-hour reception would have been more appropriate for you.
It's unfortunate that it didn't work out, we certainly tried our best. Gertrud

A note for our future guests: We have now reviewed our internet provision. We seem to have lost the BT signal and are therefore providing wifi through a mobile hotspot in addition to the dongle.

28 May 2013

5/5

"Very comfortable property in a quiet location"

Located at the edge of Edinburgh but just approx 10 min journey to the centre. Very good communication and information provided by the owner.… More

Hamish, Glad it worked for you. Maybe you'll have time to stay longer next time! Gertrud

5 Mar 2013

4/5

"Lovely spacious sunny cottage"

Eastcraig Cottage is in a great location with great views of Edinburgh. Easy to get to centre of Edinburgh by bus and to Pentland Hills/outskirts by car. Located on quiet lane with plenty of parking.P… More

Hi Nicky, glad you enjoyed your stay. I find that somebody else's toys are always a hit! Gertrud

14 Nov 2012

5/5

"More than we could have ever wished for"

A very nice and absolutely clean cottage in a good location. Easily accessible with good supporting infrastructure, it is surprisingly quiet.Booking, paying and entering we as easy as it can be and th… More

Thank you, Mario, great to hear that you enjoyed our cottage. It was really nice to meet you all, too. Just in case you want to base yourselves in Fife on your next trip to Scotland, I manage an apartment in Aberdour. I think you would love that location, too. Take a look at www.selfcateringAberdour.wikispaces.com.
Gertrud

23 Oct 2012

5/5

"EastCraig Cottage"

Lovely apartment. It contained everything we needed for ourselves and our two invalid parents travelling with us. Gertrud made sure via phone and email that we had everything we needed to find the pla… More

Dave & Carla,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Eastcraig Cottage and would be delighted to welcome yourselves or your friends and family in Edinburgh. Regards,
Gertrud & David

Review 1-10 of 32

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.

Close

Book your stay

*
*

Nights min stay, Changeover day Flexible

*

Sleeps 6

from £93 /night help

This is an estimated cost based on a weekly stay. Enter your dates to see exact cost.

Subtotal

Enter dates to see your price

This home can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank transfer)

Pay online via Holiday Lettings with your credit/debit card or your PayPal account to be covered by Payment Protection

Contact the owner

Need more information first?

Close
*

This home can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank transfer)

Pay online via Holiday Lettings with your credit/debit card or your PayPal account to be covered by Payment Protection

You're booking with

Gertrud M.

  • 5 Years listed

85% Response rate

Calendar last updated:13 Mar 2014

Based in United Kingdom

Languages spoken
  • English
  • German

Payment accepted

Paypal accepted

Credit cards accepted

Also consider

Edinburgh
1190 properties
Kilconquhar
59 properties
North Berwick
59 properties
Peebles
39 properties
Dunfermline
33 properties
Gullane
31 properties
Linlithgow
28 properties
St Monans
22 properties
Haddington
14 properties
Falkland
14 properties
Kinross, Scotland
11 properties
Falkirk
11 properties
Aberlady
10 properties
Innerleithen
9 properties
Leven
9 properties
Musselburgh
9 properties
Galashiels
8 properties
Kinghorn
8 properties
Aberdour
6 properties
Lower Largo
6 properties

Start a new search