List your home
Apply filters
£ to

The GateHouse

from £57 /night help

Very Good 4.5/5 Score from 11 reviews

The Gate House

Castle | 1 bedrooms | sleeps 4

Key Info
  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Nearest beach 0 km
  • Great for children of all ages
  • Car not necessary
  • Some pets are welcome - please contact the owner
  • Private garden

This Grade II listed, mini Gothic castle was built in 1850 and now makes an unusual and unique holiday home. It is believed to have been built as the gate house for the officers accommodation for the Dover Castle Garrison who were housed in an impressive crescent of homes in Victoria Park.

The Gate House stands part way up a hill, close to both Dover Castle and the town itself. The accommodation offers a turret, exposed beams throughout upstairs and down, open fireplaces and other historical features.

Dover has plenty to offer visitors including Dover Castle, the wartime tunnels, Roman painted house, easy access for trips to France and walks along the famous white cliffs. Castles at Walmer and Deal; the medieval town of Sandwich; many beaches around the east Kent coastline are all easily accessible and well worth a visit. Shops 0.5 miles, pub 0.3 miles.

Accommodation details:

Ground floor: Living room with double sofa bed. Dining room. Kitchen. Narrow stairs to first floor: 1 double bedroom with canopied bed. Bathroom with toilet. Beams throughout.

Facilities:

Gas central heating, electricity, bed linen and towels all included. Freeview TV. DVD. Microwave. Washing machine, Dishwasher. Enclosed garden. No smoking.

Size Sleeps up to 4, 1 bedrooms
Nearest beach Dover 500 m
Will consider Long term lets (over 1 month), Short breaks (1-4 days)
Access Car not necessary
Nearest Amenities 500 m
Nearest travel links Nearest airport: Manston Airport 15 km, Nearest railway: Dover 1 km
Family friendly Great for children of all ages
Notes Some pets are welcome - please contact the owner, No smoking at this property

Features and Facilities

Luxuries DVD player
General Central heating, Satellite TV
Standard Kettle, Toaster, Iron, Hair dryer
Utilities Dishwasher, Cooker, Microwave, Fridge, Freezer, Washing machine
Rooms 1 bedroom, 1 bathrooms of which 1 Family bathrooms
Furniture 1 Sofa beds, Double beds (1), Dining seats for 4, Lounge seats for 4
Other Linen provided, Towels provided
Outdoors Private garden

The Kent region

Kent is renowned for its beauty and is not known as the Garden of England for nothing! The lush countryside is dotted with pretty villages as well as numerous castles and historic properties. The coast has vast stretches of beautiful sandy beaches alongside pretty seaside towns.

Famous for its plethora of beautiful sandy beaches and annual folk week, Broadstairs is an olde-worlde seaside resort which is a must on a sunny day. There are several beaches to choose from including Viking Bay which is in the main town and Joss and Botany Bays which are more secluded. Broadstairs also has many quirky shops and restaurants and is the home of the Charles Dickens Museum.

Canterbury is a beautiful city with many historic buildings, not least, the cathedral which is the oldest in England. Cantebury's diverse shops are housed in many of the city's oldest buildings and a river tour around the centre of town is one of the best ways to see the medieval architecture.

Dover

Dover is an ideal place to stay to explore the Kent coast with its famous castle and White Cliffs. Just a short drive away you will find beautiful beaches at Broadstairs, fantastic shopping at Canterbury as well as its historic cathedral and the lovely seaside towns of Deal and Margate. It is also just perfect for day trips to France or Belgium as the Port of Dover is just 5 minutes by car or 20 minutes walk.

Within just a few miles are three wonderful castles, Dover Castle is just located behind the Gate House, while Deal and Walmer are a short 15 minute drive away. All are managed by English Heritage.

Dover itself has a spotless beach and harbour area which are great to stroll along on a sunny day. A few minutes drive away is the quaint seaside town of Deal which has a useful shopping area close to the stony beach and long pier. The Beach Parlour is a fantastic place to while away an hour watching the sea whilst enjoying one of their ice cream sundaes. The next town along the coast is Sandwich which is one of the best preserved medieval towns in the country. In Sandwich you will find a pretty quay with childrens park, the Sandwich River bus which offers cruises along the River Stour to see the Seals and plenty of ancient buildings.

Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor

Guest reviews no reviews

Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor

5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0

Excellent 5/5


11 reviews Very Good 4.5/5

Help other travellers decide where to stay

Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.

Write a review

Write a review
Review 1-10 of 11

16 Jan 2015

5/5

"Amazing cozy retreat - highly recommend"

Just returned today after a four night break in The Gate House & we absolutely loved every second of it, so did the dog! It truly is a getaway in a private, quaint little castle & has everything you c… More

I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thankyou for your kind words and for taking the trouble to leave a review. I'd love to welcome you back to the Gate House very soon.

1 Jan 2015

2/5

"Schimmel und Zugluft"

Wir haben unseren Aufenthalt nach drei Nächten von sieben abgebrochen.Einrichtung, Sauberkeit und Geruch empfindet jede Person anders,deshalb möchte ich mich dazu nicht äußern,sondern die offensic… More

I'm very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your holiday.
If you had problems with the cleanliness it really would have been preferable if you had contacted me at the outset of your stay to give me the chance to rectify this, however, the first time you brought it to my attention was when you emailed to say you were leaving early due to illness. I am so sad to hear this as the cottage guest book is filled with compliments about the cleanliness of the cottage.
As explained clearly in the description on Holiday Lettings website, this is a Grade II listed building built in 1850. I realise you dispute my reasons for not being able to make the building completely draft free and also being unable to replaster the inside, however,in the UK if a building is listed in this way there are extensive laws governing the changes you are allowed to make to a property, though extensive roof work was carried out in 2013. I would think it inevitable that a building of such age would have the odd draft, however, the heating system is very effective and the gas fire in the living room provides additional cosiness.
Once again, I am sorry that your experience of staying at the Gate House did not match up to that of other guests.

14 Dec 2014

5/5

"Excellent"

Stayed for 5 nights. Beautiful place everything that we could have wanted in a property. The gatehouse is a home from home all mod cons but period charm. We will be booking for next summer. Thank you … More

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please do come and visit again soon. Best wishes for a very happy Christmas and peaceful new year.

17 Nov 2014

5/5

"It was as expected and more"

Stayed here In October 2014 . I could find no fault with the accomodation . Everywhere was clean and tidy . We arrived ealier than expected but were able to move straight in . The custodian returned a… More

I'm so glad you liked the Gate House, though I completely agree with you about the steepness of the hill, a challenge especially on windy days and the one way system is tricky until you get used to it. Please do come back and visit again soon.

26 Jun 2014

4/5

"Cute"

We stayed here for a week after seeing the place on Homes Under the Hammer. We like to look for unusual buildings to stay in so this fit the bill nicely. We booked over a year in advance; despite bein… More

I'm very sorry to hear that you encountered a few problems during your stay at the Gate House. I shall endeavour to address each of your points. Unfortunately the ceiling height in the bathroom is too low for a stand up shower, hence the lack of attachment. When we refitted the bathroom, it wasn't possible to fit the bath in without guests having to be contortionists to actually get in it without removing the use of the window. The turret has a dressing table in, which most guests seem to like. Please do remember that this building is Grade II listed so there is no way we would be allowed to put a shower in that space. Sadly the Gate House roof suffered damage from the storms in December as many properties did. I did actually try to speak to all guests before their stay to explain about the cracks in the bedroom ceiling as the remedial works could not start until the dryer weather. This was completed in May. I have no idea about any tissue being put into cracks, this is not something I ever saw. I'm sorry you felt the cutlery was lacking. This has been checked today and found to be pretty much as new. The kitchen equipment is checked at every changeover. Unfortunately we do not own enough land with the cottage to create a dedicated parking space and again the listing would make this difficult. As you say, if guests encounter any problems and do ring us about them, then we are very happy to do whatever we can to remedy them.

17 Mar 2014

5/5

"Our own private castle!"

The Gatehouse at Dover was the perfect location for our Valentine's Day getaway. Beautifully decorated and very cozy, it made a wonderful couple's retreat. It is also ideally located, with an easy and convenient walk to both the town of Dover and the Castle proper. The customer service provided during booking was also very friendly and helpful. We would not hesitate to return.

We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. You booked a long time ahead to secure the Valentines weekend and it is so nice to hear that the Gate House lived up to expectations as the perfect romantic cottage.

29 Jan 2014

5/5

"Great Gate House - Well Worth The Visit"

We had a wonderful 3 day break in the gate house. The owner was very helpful start to finish and there were some lovely touches such as fresh flowers and milk in the fridge.I would highly recommend th… More

We're so pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Gate House and would love to welcome you back very soon. Best wishes.

4 Jan 2014

5/5

"Our very own Castle (for a few days at least)!"

We booked to stay at The Gate House for New Years after searching the get to get away for a couple of days r&r - and this place did not disappoint. From the get go, the correspondence and booking was … More

I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. There is indeed something even more special about the Gate House at Christmas/New Year time. We look forward to seeing you again in the summer.

27 Oct 2013

5/5

"Cozy and Lovely cottage with Historical touch"

One of the best cottages one can ever find. Very cozy and full of history. The cottage comes with carefully selected furniture and a lovely fireplace. Nice and very friendly owners. Simply, a must sta… More

We are so pleased you liked the Gate House. We chose the furniture really carefully to enhance the historical experience. We would be very happy to welcome you back any time.

28 Jul 2013

5/5

"Mini castle at steps of dover castle"

Gem of a find. Immaculately kept, was perfect for our requirements. Close to all that dover and kent have to offer, and can be used as a good base to explore the area… More

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would be delighted to welcome you back to the Gate House soon. Best regards.

Review 1-10 of 11

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.

Close

Book your stay

Enter dates for more accurate prices

*
*

3 Nights min stay

*

Sleeps 4

from £57 /night help

Estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Excludes fees (if applicable). Enter your dates to see the total cost.

Subtotal

Enter dates to see your price

This home can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank transfer)

Pay online via Holiday Lettings with your credit/debit card or your PayPal account to be covered by Payment Protection

Contact the owner

Need more information first?

Close
*
help

Tick this box to request a quote for your stay. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online. Note that other guests may have received a quote for the same dates. The first one to pay gets the booking, so make your payment asap to secure your holiday.

This home can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank transfer)

Pay online via Holiday Lettings with your credit/debit card or your PayPal account to be covered by Payment Protection

You're booking with

Michelle B.

100% Response rate

Calendar last updated:26 Jan 2015

Based in United Kingdom

Languages spoken
  • English

Don’t let an old browser slow down your holiday

Your browser is out of date and might not work well with our website. Download the latest version to speed up your hunt for the perfect holiday home.

Just click on the icons to get to the download page