List your home
Apply filters
£ to

A tranquil riverside hideaway

from£41/nighthelp

Excellent 5/5 Score from 18 reviews

Apartment is on the port, an area of Dinan which is reckoned to have been inhabited since 9AD

Apartment | 2 bedrooms | sleeps 4

Key Info
  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Nearest beach 18 km
  • Great for children of all ages
  • Car not necessary
  • No pets allowed

Duplex riverside apartment situated in a beautiful and tranquil spot on the upper two floors of an authentic Bretagne town house, featuring amazing views from every window. A two minute stroll from the heart of the old town, arguably one of France's most architecturally fascinating and well preserved walled medieval towns. Inspirational, fun and beautiful - everyone loves Dinan, with good reason, and this a great base to explore the town and the surrounding region.

Dinan is packed with lively squares, restaurants, shops, bars, nooks & crannies, and it oozes easygoing authentic Bretagne charm. An absolutely perfect year-round holiday apartment ideal for couples, small families or even alone - stay for three days or three weeks....

The apartment faces out to the enchanting and hypnotic River Rance. You can wave at the boats floating up and down if you like or just relax, take it all in and get lost in your own world for moment....aaaah

In the attic there are two double bedrooms, dressing area and and bath / shower room. Downstairs is the entrance hall, kitchen / dining room, lounge and WC. There is also a shared courtyard at the rear of the property suitable for BBQs.

Size Sleeps up to 4, 2 bedrooms
Nearest beach Various 18 km
Will consider Long term lets (over 1 month), Short breaks (1-4 days)
Access Car not necessary
Nearest travel links Nearest airport: Dinard 18 km, Nearest railway: Dinan 1 km
Family friendly Great for children of all ages
Notes No pets allowed, No smoking at this property

Features and Facilities

Luxuries DVD player
General Central heating, TV, CD player
Standard Kettle, Toaster, Iron
Utilities Cooker, Microwave, Fridge, Freezer
Rooms 2 bedrooms, 1 bathrooms of which 1 Family bathrooms
Furniture Single beds (2), Double beds (1), Dining seats for 4, Lounge seats for 4
Other Linen provided, Towels provided
Outdoors Balcony or terrace, Shared garden
Further details indoors

In the attic there are two double bedrooms, dressing area and and bath / shower room. Downstairs is the entrance hall, kitchen / dining room, lounge and WC.

The apartment faces out to the enchanting and hypnotic River Rance. You can wave at the boats floating up and down if you like or just relax, take it all in and get lost in your own world for moment....aaaah

Further details outdoors

Parking usually available on the road side directly outside

Shared courtyard at the rear of the property suitable for BBQs etc

Further details

English speaking representative will meet & greet you at the property

No fixed change-over day therefore you can arrive and depart any day Monday - Sunday to suit your needs

Please specify if you want linen / towels

The Brittany region

Dinan is one Europe's oldest and most enchanting settlements, with traceable history dating back 900 years

Peaceful riverside location 2 minutes stroll from the wealth of restaurants, bars and shops

A short drive from some beautiful beaches

Home of the legenday Fete des Ramparts

A fantastic part of the world to spend some time

Dinan

Dinan is a spectacularly well preserved medieval walled town which is truly wonderful and oozing with charm, beauty and fascinating architecture.

The town is a short drive from some beautiful beaches

Home of the legenday Fete des Ramparts

A fantastic part of the world to spend some time

Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor

Guest reviews no reviews

Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor

5 star
9
4 star
7
3 star
1
2 star
1
1 star
0

Excellent 5/5

18 reviews Excellent 5/5

Help other travellers decide where to stay

Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.

Write a review

Write a review
Review 1-10 of 18

27 Aug 2014

4/5

"Overall, very good, lovely location"

I would firstly like to say that this property was very clean and freshly decorated throughout and overall was very nice. We had a lovely time in Dinan, enjoying the local hospitality on offer.I can t… More

13 Aug 2014

4/5

"Wonderful setting"

we had a fantastic time in Dinan and the apartment is in a great spot, but the spiral staircase to the 3rd floor might put some off if you've brought too much luggage!! we didn't mind, but t… More

9 Jun 2014

5/5

"Wonderful riverside retreat."

Fantastically located riverside apartment in Port De Dinan.Stayed a few days in late May and could have stayed forever.Very comfortable and cosy property with everything you need for a relaxing break.… More

9 May 2014

5/5

"Charming waterside apartment with character in a tranquil location"

We stayed in April, the weather was a bit warmer than Blighty! On arrival the apartment was spotless and handover of keys seamless. Back up was provided by a local agent with a mobile number if we ne… More

22 Apr 2014

5/5

"A Fabulous Stay in France"

We have just returned from our first visit to Dinan and stayed in this apartment. Booking was easy and communication with the owner was extremely efficient. On arrival we were given a very warm welcom… More

4 Sep 2013

5/5

"Fabulous apartment in beautiful location"

I enjoyed an extremely relaxing week at this lovely apartment in Dinan. It is a two-storey apartment, and felt very much like a home from home - light & airy, and furnished with care and attention to … More

25 Apr 2013

5/5

"Highly recommended!!!"

Wow, I absolutely love dinan. Excellent location, great value, great for young couples! Great food wonderful wine! Got a decent deal from the owners- paid for 5 nights got the other night free. Hurt m… More

22 Apr 2013

5/5

"Great Flat, Lovely Location, Will return"

We stayed her last year and have just booked to go again. I have read the recent reviews and was really surprised to hear what a negative experience someone has had. It's a beautiful little flat with a quirky feel to it, enhancing the experience of being in France. The views over the river are superb and its easy to loose a few hours just watching the world go by out of the huge windows (made even better with a good bottle of wine!!) The apartment is child friendly and the fact that it is not 'overdone' means as parents you can relax without worrying about damage etc. It could do with a lick of paint here and there but that is reflected in the prices charged and it did not impact on our holiday at all in this lovely flat and city.

3 Sep 2012

4/5

"Great location, birght and airy apartment"

We are a family of 5 (3 kids 7,6 and 2 1/2), staying for 3 nights at the begining of august. We already know Dinan quite well (extended family living not far) . I must admit that I was a bit worried a… More

14 Aug 2012

2/5

"Lovely spot, terrible flat; misleading advertising"

The flat is wonderfully situated with great views over The Rance and up towards the old town of Dinan. We rented a car while in Dinan and had no issues being able to park it in the street outside, however, and this is of course no fault of the flat, our hire car was damaged by passing traffic overnight.

The flat itself is of very poor quality. Firstly, despite being advertised as being rentable by the day, we were forced to pay for a full week's rental for this flat, despite only needing it for 3 nights (we ended up requesting 4 nights as we were arriving very early so started the booking from the night before we arrived). As a result we ended up paying much more than the advertised rate. That said, the owner kindly chose to include linen for use (which is non standard apparently) which was handy as we had, by then, been travelling for four weeks.

The flat itself, while very well located, is in very poor condition. Faults included missing or broken curtain railings, broken door handles (one came off, and one was so loose it was only by being very careful with it that it stayed on), stained carpets, no screens (mosquitoes were a minor issue thankfully), and on the whole it was very dusty. Overall the flat was badly in need of maintenance. It was also the first flat I stayed on on the entire holiday that lacked any sort of wifi or internet access.

The flat is also advertised as being suitable for people with mobility issues. While this was not a concern for us I am concerned that, as it's at the top of a steep set of spiral stairs with very narrow doors, there is simply no way anyone in a wheelchair or even on crutches could access the place. Hence the claims made in the advertisement are patently untrue. Likewise it is advertised as child-friendly but really it is not, especially not toddler safe as there are many sharp objects, loose nails and screws, and unsafe windows.

The hot water is very hot, to the point of scalding, and we could not find the plug for the sink, so washing dishes was tricky. The flow from the cold and hot taps doesn't blend so you had to deal with occasional minor burns. Again as an adult this is fine but a child could seriously hurt themselves.

On the upside the flat included a working fridge, toaster, and coffee plunger. Dinan is littered with delicious places to buy fresh produce and so forth so we were able to eat breakfast in the flat every morning.

We had the opportunity to visit friends who'd rented a flat slightly closer to the old-town and their flat was beautiful; wonderfully appointed, and with excellent internet. The price per-person they were paying was roughly the same. So in terms of value for money our flat was quite a disappointment. If there had been any other places to stay in Dinan we'd not have stayed in this flat.

Thanks for your feedback. I'm genuinely disappointed that you feel you didn't recieve value for money because whilst I'm aware of the apartment's numerous shortcomings (several you mention, inc the door handles and blind, have already been remedied) I do try and price it accordingly in the hope all guests feel they have got a good deal ! I realise the place has taken a hammering this year and will receive a freshen up before christmas. I take your comment about not being suitable for children very seriously because we have had several young families to stay this year (inc my own) and I hadn't judged that to be the case ; our property manager will investigate this IMMEDIATELY. The place should not be advertised as suitable for people with mobility issues (my mistake - apologies) and the listing has now been changed. I sincerely hope that you decide to visit this amazing town again and next time you have a more pleasurable stay

Review 1-10 of 18

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.

Close

3 Nights min stay

Changeover day Flexible

from£41/nighthelp

This is the estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Contact the advertiser to confirm the price - it varies depending on when you stay and how long for.

Book your stay

*
*
*

Subtotal

 Your dates are available

Contact the owner

Close

Payment options

You need to pay through the Holiday Lettings website to ensure your payment is protected. We can’t protect your payment if you don’t pay through us.Learn more

You're booking with

Oliver B.

  • 3 Years listed

80% Response rate

Calendar last updated:29 Sep 2014

Based in United Kingdom

Languages spoken
  • English

Payment accepted

Paypal accepted

Also consider

Dinan
68 properties
St Malo
41 properties
Dinard
33 properties
Cancale
21 properties
Dol-de-Bretagne
21 properties
Saint Malo
19 properties
Saint Malo
19 properties
Saint Cast le Guildo
16 properties
St Briac sur Mer
12 properties
Sables-d'Or-les-Pins
11 properties
Plancoet
11 properties
Evran
10 properties
Combourg
8 properties
Frehel
8 properties
Miniac Morvan
8 properties
Sains
7 properties
St Jacut De La Mer
7 properties
Plouasne
7 properties
Broons
6 properties
Jugon les Lacs
6 properties

Start a new search