4 Sep 2013
"Fabulous apartment in beautiful location"
I enjoyed an extremely relaxing week at this lovely apartment in Dinan. It is a two-storey apartment, and felt very much like a home from home - light & airy, and furnished with care and attention to … More
25 Apr 2013
Wow, I absolutely love dinan. Excellent location, great value, great for young couples! Great food wonderful wine! Got a decent deal from the owners- paid for 5 nights got the other night free. Hurt m… More
22 Apr 2013
"Great Flat, Lovely Location, Will return"
We stayed her last year and have just booked to go again. I have read the recent reviews and was really surprised to hear what a negative experience someone has had. It's a beautiful little flat with a quirky feel to it, enhancing the experience of being in France. The views over the river are superb and its easy to loose a few hours just watching the world go by out of the huge windows (made even better with a good bottle of wine!!) The apartment is child friendly and the fact that it is not 'overdone' means as parents you can relax without worrying about damage etc. It could do with a lick of paint here and there but that is reflected in the prices charged and it did not impact on our holiday at all in this lovely flat and city.
3 Sep 2012
"Great location, birght and airy apartment"
We are a family of 5 (3 kids 7,6 and 2 1/2), staying for 3 nights at the begining of august. We already know Dinan quite well (extended family living not far) . I must admit that I was a bit worried a… More
14 Aug 2012
"Lovely spot, terrible flat; misleading advertising"
The flat is wonderfully situated with great views over The Rance and up towards the old town of Dinan. We rented a car while in Dinan and had no issues being able to park it in the street outside, however, and this is of course no fault of the flat, our hire car was damaged by passing traffic overnight.
The flat itself is of very poor quality. Firstly, despite being advertised as being rentable by the day, we were forced to pay for a full week's rental for this flat, despite only needing it for 3 nights (we ended up requesting 4 nights as we were arriving very early so started the booking from the night before we arrived). As a result we ended up paying much more than the advertised rate. That said, the owner kindly chose to include linen for use (which is non standard apparently) which was handy as we had, by then, been travelling for four weeks.
The flat itself, while very well located, is in very poor condition. Faults included missing or broken curtain railings, broken door handles (one came off, and one was so loose it was only by being very careful with it that it stayed on), stained carpets, no screens (mosquitoes were a minor issue thankfully), and on the whole it was very dusty. Overall the flat was badly in need of maintenance. It was also the first flat I stayed on on the entire holiday that lacked any sort of wifi or internet access.
The flat is also advertised as being suitable for people with mobility issues. While this was not a concern for us I am concerned that, as it's at the top of a steep set of spiral stairs with very narrow doors, there is simply no way anyone in a wheelchair or even on crutches could access the place. Hence the claims made in the advertisement are patently untrue. Likewise it is advertised as child-friendly but really it is not, especially not toddler safe as there are many sharp objects, loose nails and screws, and unsafe windows.
The hot water is very hot, to the point of scalding, and we could not find the plug for the sink, so washing dishes was tricky. The flow from the cold and hot taps doesn't blend so you had to deal with occasional minor burns. Again as an adult this is fine but a child could seriously hurt themselves.
On the upside the flat included a working fridge, toaster, and coffee plunger. Dinan is littered with delicious places to buy fresh produce and so forth so we were able to eat breakfast in the flat every morning.
We had the opportunity to visit friends who'd rented a flat slightly closer to the old-town and their flat was beautiful; wonderfully appointed, and with excellent internet. The price per-person they were paying was roughly the same. So in terms of value for money our flat was quite a disappointment. If there had been any other places to stay in Dinan we'd not have stayed in this flat.
Thanks for your feedback. I'm genuinely disappointed that you feel you didn't recieve value for money because whilst I'm aware of the apartment's numerous shortcomings (several you mention, inc the door handles and blind, have already been remedied) I do try and price it accordingly in the hope all guests feel they have got a good deal ! I realise the place has taken a hammering this year and will receive a freshen up before christmas. I take your comment about not being suitable for children very seriously because we have had several young families to stay this year (inc my own) and I hadn't judged that to be the case ; our property manager will investigate this IMMEDIATELY. The place should not be advertised as suitable for people with mobility issues (my mistake - apologies) and the listing has now been changed. I sincerely hope that you decide to visit this amazing town again and next time you have a more pleasurable stay
28 Jul 2012
"beautiful harbour location in stunning Dinan, Brittany France"
The location is very pretty next to river at harbour area of the medieval town of Dinan. The security is a bit excessive with three locked doors and we were a bit concerned how one would escape in the… More
25 Jul 2012
"Great location and view, needs a few updates"
Our family with two teen daughters spent four nights at this home in Dinan. The location was perfect, as we could easily walk to restaurants, there was a great patisserie shop a few blocks down and we… More
Thanks for your feedback and I fully concur with all the points you've highlighted ; I'm working to resolve them ASAP. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and as you said, the apartment is in a lovely location hence we've been very, very busy this year and the place has taken a bit of a beating although I realise that is no excuse for me not keeping on top of maintenance and running out of loo roll !! Sincere apologies. Thanks for your custom, happy future travels and if you return to Dinan please give us another try !!
19 Jun 2012
"Can't beat staying on the river"
Compared with most other local accommodation, this apartment has a good list of reviewers – the reason is simple, it is superb. It occupies the entire top floor plus the attic which houses two spacious bedrooms and a bathroom.
The external spiral staircase is no problem providing you are not lugging extra large suitcases. Once settled, you will appreciate the location, size, comfort and amenities of the apartment – especially the views of the majestic viaduct.
We spent a week here in early June and it is one of the nicest places we have stayed in our journey through France. Dinan is a fantastic town with its two distinct areas – the old medieval village and the Rance River with so much to see. This apartment offers the best of both worlds. It is situated right on the river only 250m to a good hotel (with WIFI and English breakfasts for 7E) and a further short walk to a bakery, a myriad of restaurants and the cobblestone road leading up to the town centre.
Apart from exploring the charming walled town with its old buildings, ramparts, magnificent views and shops, there is plenty do around the river – walking, riding and boating. We hired bikes for a day and also hired a small boat and motored up river to Lehon and beyond– fascinating to go through 2 locks.
Having a car is not important – we arrived by train (taxi to the apartment is 8E) and the #7 coach to Dinard (3E) is fairly frequent. If you have a car, parking is freely available just opposite the building. If you wish to hire a car and explore the local area, Europcar is 650m from the station or 500m from the town centre.
We cannot speak highly enough of the owner and his local English-speaking manager – the few and small queries were immediately attended to with the minimum of fuss. We have no hesitation to recommend this apartment and are already planning a return visit from Australia.
Also there is no refundable security deposit required which is often difficult to return to overseas customers - just a simple check-out/inspection process.
8 Nov 2011
"Great place to getaway from it all"
My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 days (great that the owner was flexible on the days that we could stay). The location was perfect - next to the river and only a few minutes walk into the old to… More
3 Oct 2011
Firstly, we found the location perfect - overlooking the river, within walking distance of all amenities and close to a channel ferry terminal. The accomodation itself was more than adequate for our needs with two large bedrooms and enough room in the living area for two adults and one grumpy teenager. Finally, the flexibility in being able to book mid-week to mid-week suited us perfectly and makes us think it would be a good place to return to.