List your home
Apply filters
£ to

Very Good 4/5 Score from 5 reviews

St Denys View

from £85 /night help

Very Good 4/5 Score from 5 reviews

House | 2 bedrooms | sleeps 4

Key Info
  • Nearest beach 65 km
  • Great for children of all ages
  • Car not necessary
  • No pets allowed
  • Private garden

St Denys View

A stylish 2 bedroom mid-terrace period cottage within the city walls with a beautiful view of a historic church.

St Denys View is situated round the corner from vibrant Walmgate and Fossgate, with some of York's most popular restaurants, cafés, second hand bookshops and other independent retailers. The city walls and the main pedestrianised shopping areas are both within 5 minutes walk. The major tourist attractions such as York Minster, the Castle Museum, Clifford's Tower and river sailings are all within 10 minutes walk. If you wish to travel further afield, hop-on hop-off city tour buses and buses to surrounding areas are on the doorstep. The nearest supermarket is 2 minutes on foot. The property looks out onto the historic St Denys Church with its green churchyard. When the leaves have gone you can glimpse the Minster.

St Denys View has been recently renovated and newly furnished by the owners to a high standard. The hall leads into a spacious dining area with a large table, enhanced by an impressive French antique mirror. French windows lead out to a walled courtyard with space for dining and relaxing, accompanied by two retired stone gargoyles from York Minster. Sliding doors lead to a cosy lounge with a two-seater leather sofa, elegant chaise lounge and an antique chair. There is a small flat screen TV/DVD/CD player and a selection of books, including local interest and Yorkshire-based fiction. Free WiFi is available.

The newly fitted kitchen has a beautiful wooden work surface and includes electric oven/grill, gas hob, fridge-freezer, microwave and washing machine - with a full range of equipment for self-catering.

A staircase with gallery landing leads to a double bedroom at the front of the house. A beautiful super-king-size wooden sleigh bed (with picture postcard views of the church tower - no chimes!) is complemented by a large antique French armoire. A second spacious bedroom contains two extra-long single beds and wardrobe. The bathroom is newly fitted (bath with overhead shower, hand basin and toilet).

Children are welcome. A travel cot and highchair are available, as is other equipment (bathroom step, non-slip bath mat, trainer toilet seat and potty). There is a small selection of toys for young children.

We provide a permit for parking in adjacent streets. Short term loading/unloading can take place at the door.

St Denys View is equipped for four people (plus baby). However, as the lounge is furnished in a continental style with only one sofa you may find it suitable for two people only. Please take a look at the lounge photographs, and if the seating meets your requirements, we are happy to take bookings for four.

Size Sleeps up to 4, 2 bedrooms
Nearest beach Scarborough / Whitby 65 km
Access Car not necessary
Nearest Amenities 100 m
Nearest travel links Nearest airport: Leeds Bradford / Manchester 30 km, Nearest railway: York 500 m
Family friendly Great for children of all ages
Notes No pets allowed, No smoking at this property

Features and Facilities

Luxuries Internet access
General Central heating, TV, Wi-Fi available
Standard Kettle, Toaster, Iron
Utilities Cooker, Microwave, Fridge, Freezer, Washing machine
Rooms 2 bedrooms, 1 bathrooms of which 1 Family bathrooms
Furniture Single beds (2), Double beds (1), Cots (1), Dining seats for 4, Lounge seats for 4
Other Linen provided, Towels provided, High chair
Outdoors Private garden
Access Parking

About this location

The Yorkshire region

Yorkshire, the largest and most diverse county in England. Not without justification do Yorkshiremen call their county 'God's own country'. From the stunning countryside of the Yorkshire Dales National Park with it's rolling hills and valleys studded with beautiful villages and old market towns to the historic North Yorkshire coast with it's famous resorts of Whitby, Scarborough and Filey and the wild North York Moors, Yorkshire is packed with ancient castles, ruined abbeys and majestic stately homes of the aristocracy. No other county can match it for its beauty and heritage.

Central York

York, the jewel in Yorkshire's crown, voted England's Favourite City, European tourism City of the Year. There is always something going on to surprise and delight the visitor.This beautiful old walled city has over 2000 years of history. York has been important to many invaders. Roman Fortress [Eboracum], home during the Roman occupation to the legendary Ninth Hispana and Sixth Victrix legions, Roman Emperors were acclaimed and died in this city. Viking Capital, [Jorvik], Viking Kings ruled from here. Norman stronghold, William The Conqueror fortified the city to subdue the rebellious North after the invasion of 1066. King George VI said 'The history of York is the history of England'.

The city is alive with history with every twist and turn of its narrow streets, York Minster, the ancient 'Shambles', Cliffords Tower, Merchant Adventurers Hall, Kings Manor, Treasurers House, Yorvik Viking Centre, the list goes on. World class horse racing,superb museums [the Yorkshire Museum, Castle Museum and National Railway Museum], old haunted Inns and pubs, year round festivals, street entertainers, ghost walks, riverboat trips, lively bars, cosy bistros all combine together to make York the city to visit whatever the season. York, a city where an ancient past feeds a vibrant present.

About the owner

Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor

Guest reviews no reviews

Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Very Good 4/5

5 reviews Very Good 4/5

Help other travellers decide where to stay

Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.

Write a review

Write a review
Review 1-5 of 5

27 Nov 2014


"I want to live here!"

Charming, beautifully furnished and fully equipped terraced townhouse within walking distance to everything you could possibly want to do or see in York. We arrived after 15 hours of travel that did … More

19 Oct 2014


"Comfortable home, convenient location"

We stayed at the property for five nights and were very pleased with the accommodation. The property is nicely decorated and very well equipped. It was a short walk to many of the historic attractio… More

23 Sep 2014


"Lovely location but small, uncomfortable and unhelpful owners."

Our flight from Abu Dhabi was delayed so we contacted the owner who said no problem and offered sympathetic noises, telling us to phone the care-takers when we arrived after our 23 hour journey. We ar… More

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at St Denys View and we would like to take this opportunity to apologise again that your holiday got off to such a bad start.
We are so sorry that communication clearly broke down on this occasion, as while we will always try to help we request on booking that you get in touch with the housekeepers in advance to agree a provisional arrival time. Our housekeepers are unable to offer arrivals after 9.00pm without prior arrangement and we apologise that this was perhaps not made clear to you at the time of booking. When you phoned our agent at 1.00am in the morning and told him you were en route to York he advised you that he did not hold any keys to the property and that you would have to make alternative arrangements for your first night's stay in York. we are sorry that this led to you spending a n uncomfortable night.
We wer very glad that apart from this you enjoyed much about your stay including the fantastic central location and that you found the house well presented and well appointed with good WiFi ( free of charge). We are so pleased that you found the upstairs lovely and that you enjoyed spending time in the generously sized dining room with it's French doors leading out to the courtyard, as well as finding the kitchen well equipped with everything you would need.

We are sorry you did not enjoy the style in which the living room has been furnished.Many of our guests love the simple continental style of seating, finding it elegant and comfortable and we generally open up the double doors between the sitting room and dining room to create a lovely large and light space leading out to the courtyard. However we do understand that it is not to everyone's taste and as you say, we do provide photo's and a written warning so that people can decide if it will suit them before booking. Thank you for alerting us to the problem with the television reception, this has now been fixed. We are sorry that you were bothered by road noise. While the house is in a relatively quiet area for such a central location within the city walls, being in the city centre there is some noise and the degree to which you find it troublesome will depend very much on what you are used to.
We are very disappointed to read about the problems you had with the central heating system and the car parking. Our housekeepers explain how to use the central heating system when guests arrive and there is a written instruction sheet provided. we have asked our housekeepers to to stress that if any problems arise during their stay our guests should give them a call so they can help.
We are also very sorry not to have known the problems you encountered with parking during your stay, particularly as, had we known, we would have been able to offer an alternative arrangement at no cost to yourself. Since the beginning of September we have changed our provision to car park which is even nearer to the property (100m) with ample access and CCTY monitoring and as before we include this free of charge with the stay.

Many apologies once again that there were these communication problems during your stay and please rest assured that we have taken action to ensure that this will not happen again. We do appreciate you taking time to give us your feedback and are very glad that you were able to enjoy many aspects of your stay.

10 Jul 2014


"Perfect base for sightseeing and sports"

10 minutes to the Minster, 2 to the closest restaurant, 3 to a store - by foot! Less than an hour by car to the coast in one direction and the Yorkshire Dales in another. This location is perfect. Lo… More

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay at St Denys View.
We are glad that you found our central location so covenient for exploring both the city of York and the surrounding countryside. We are delighted that you liked our interior decoration, we have really enjoyed finding beautiful and unusual things to offer a relaxing space to guests. we have tried to supply everything our guests could possibly need in the kitchen, so glad you found it to be well equipped. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the bedrooms, including the bedding and mattresses and the good WiFi access. We are pleased the booking, directions and key access all worked smoothly for you.

We are not surprised you were spoilt for choice for things to do - after many visits to York, we are still discovering new things each time we come. We are pleased that our property was an ideal base for your holiday plans, including cycle tours - a shame you had to leave before Le Grand Depart. We hope you will come back to visit the places you couldn't fit in this time.

20 Jun 2014


"Absolutely Fabulous!"

My son was getting married in York and we needed somewhere to stay within walking distance of the city centre. This house was perfect. The attention to detail was second to none: the beds were so comf… More

Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay at St Denys View.

We are so pleased that you found the house to be the perfect venue for your very special weekend and added to you happy memories. It's nice to hear you liked our style of decor and found everything you needed for your stay. We are glad you found the beds comfortable enabling you to be well rested for your son's big day. We are pleased our house offered space downstairs to spend time with you extended family. We too find June is alovely time to stay, with leafy views over the churchyard, the early morning sun on the church tower and sunny afternoons in the courtyard.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and we are delighted you rated everything so highly. We would love to welcome you and your extended family for another stay and hope you will come back to St Denys View soon.

Review 1-5 of 5

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.

Contact the manager


Estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Contact the advertiser to confirm the total cost.


You're booking with

Gerald Myler (Property Manager York Holiday Rentals)

  • 5 Years listed

Calendar last updated:25 Feb 2015

Based in United Kingdom

Languages spoken
  • English

Payment accepted

Paypal accepted

Credit cards accepted

Visit site

Don’t let an old browser slow down your holiday

Your browser is out of date and might not work well with our website. Download the latest version to speed up your hunt for the perfect holiday home.

Just click on the icons to get to the download page