List your home
Apply filters
£ to

Apartment | 2 bedrooms | sleeps 4

A spacious, bright and recently modernised apartment occupying the entire first floor of a large Victorian house. With huge windows, 10-foot ceilings, and a sparkling interior, it offers the perfect base for a visit to London, whether you're staying for days or weeks. Portobello market is around the corner, Kensington Gardens is a 15 minute walk, and nearest underground station (Ladbroke Grove) is just 100 metres from the front door.

The flat's easily big enough for two couples (but please note - no more than four people) and the reception room is a lovely place to hang out. It looks out onto lime and plane trees, and large sash windows flood the space with light throughout the day. The entire place has just been fully renovated, and its cast-iron radiators and rug-strewn oak floors make for an atmosphere that's both cozy and stylish. All the kitchen appliances are new (fridge/freezer, microwave, hob, dishwasher, and washer-dryer), as is the bathroom, where you can choose between a soak in the tub or a refreshing power-shower. There's plenty of spare space to leave suitcases and bags, and the empty wardrobe and two chests of drawers are yours to fill. One bedroom is bigger than the other, but both have wooden double beds.

Although I've specified check-in and check-out times, that's only to avoid problems if I have people arriving and leaving on the same day. In other circumstances, the times are flexible and I'll do my best to accommodate your specific plans.

The flat backs onto the Westway, an overpass through central London. Acoustic window glass keeps the noise to a minimum, but it's never totally silent, and light sleepers should probably look elsewhere or pack earplugs. The flat is non-smoking, but there's a sizeable roof terrace (about 120 square feet) where you're welcome to light up at leisure.

You'll have fresh linen, towels and basic toiletries, along with all the regular household items you'd expect: kettle, toaster, cutlery, cooking staples and so on. I'm also happy to lend you anything else I have that might come in useful, e.g. plug adaptors, phone chargers, speakers, a basic UK mobile handset, etc. The wi-fi internet connection is fast (50 MB) and reliable.

I own the flat, so there are no potential difficulties with landlords, and if you need help with anything during your stay, I'll be nearby.

The flat's located in one of London's most vibrant districts. Portobello's legendary weekend market is on your doorstep, and within a quarter of a mile, you can dine at Moroccan, French, Lebanese, Iranian, Ethiopian, Jamaican, Swedish, Chinese, Thai, Japanese, Indian, Turkish, Palestinian, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese and Malaysian restaurants - or eat some great fish 'n' chips, and hang out in one of the many local coffee shops, wine bars or gastropubs. Sainsbury & Tesco each have branches within 100 metres, and there's a 24-hour convenience store next to the tube. If you enjoy walking, the greenery of Holland Park and Hyde Park is a (very pleasant) 15-20 minute walk away.

You can reach almost anywhere in central London within half an hour. The apartment is a two-minute walk to Ladbroke Grove underground station (on the Hammersmith and City Line), from which London's transport hubs are all easily accessible. It's a 3-stop journey to Paddington (where the Heathrow Express runs to the city's main airport); eight stops (again direct) to the Eurostar and Luton Airport connections at Kings Cross/St Pancras International; and just one more stop on the same line to Farringdon, which links to Gatwick Airport. Alternatively, you're a short (15-minute) walk away from the Central Line stations at Holland Park and Notting Hill Gate. There are five or six buses that stop nearby (including 24-hour nightbuses), and between them they go pretty much anywhere: Oxford Street, the British Museum, the National Gallery, Knightsbridge, the museums of South Kensington, Victoria, Liverpool Street/Brick Lane, and so on.

I seem to get a lot of inquiries from groups of five or more people, so - just to reiterate - the flat accommodates a maximum of four.

If you're interested, I'd appreciate some details about your own circumstances and reasons for visiting London. Thanks!

Size Sleeps up to 4, 2 bedrooms
Will consider Short breaks (1-4 days)
Family friendly Suitable for people with restricted mobility
Notes No pets allowed, No smoking at this property

Also consider

Central London/Zone 1
1903 properties
Central London/Zone 2
946 properties
South West London
159 properties
East London, England
132 properties
North West London
94 properties
South East London
92 properties
West London
90 properties
North London
66 properties
Windsor
53 properties
Guildford
16 properties
Tonbridge
14 properties
Henley-on-Thames
13 properties
East Grinstead
9 properties
Hemel Hempstead
7 properties
Ascot
7 properties
Lambeth
7 properties
Abbey Wood
7 properties
Berkhamsted
6 properties
Dorking
6 properties
Chertsey
6 properties

Start a new search