List your home
Apply filters
£ to

living room

House | 6 bedrooms | sleeps 18

Key Info
  • Great for children of all ages
  • No pets allowed
  • Private garden

CENTRAL, CONVENIENT YET QUIET

My house is a spacious semi-detached villa in a tree-lined quiet residential road in central London (Islington). The house is truly central, not like many properties advertised as such: the closest underground station is the first one of zone 2, out of 8 underground zones; Trafalgar Square, the official centre of London, is 6 km away and a leisurely 30-minute bike ride; the Eurostar station is 1 tube stop away. Within minutes you can reach Upper Street, the high street of the area, which boasts over 100 restaurants, gastropubs and bars, plus theatres and lovely shops, where chains still coexist with quirky boutiques and antiques shops. Supermarkets and one of the best fish mongers in London are also within walking distance (alternatively, I can take delivery of an internet supermarket order - please enquire). However, the house is in a very residential area, away from the hassle and bustle, and has a true sense of peace and tranquillity more associated with the country than a metropolis.

FLEXIBLE SLEEPING ARRANGEMENTS

The house is full of light.

There is some flexibility in sleeping arrangements (thanks to some additional bedding that can easily be moved around if necessary). It can accommodate 9 people very comfortably, 12 using a sofa bed and single bed in the additional living room in the basement and up to 15 adults using the spare bedding, plus 2 children in 2 z-beds, a baby of no more than 2 years in a travel cot and a baby of no more than 6 months in a crib. Please note that at full capacity some bedrooms will be rather full and that the spare bedding is not as comfortable as the other beds in the house.

Please contact me with the make-up of your party and any special requirements so that I can explain in detail how best I can accommodate you.

A LARGE HOUSE, WITH PLENTY OF ROOM FOR EVERYBODY'S NEEDS

The house has a large front garden enclosed with a gate where you can easily park a car and large back garden with table and chairs, as well as two large terraces.

The house is spread over 4 floors and is therefore not suitable for people with impaired mobility.

In the basement, there is a utility room with washing machine and drier, a small double bedroom with small ensuite shower room, a further bedroom/living room with double sofa bed, single bed/sofa and direct access to patio area and back garden.

On the ground floor, there is a large split-level living room with high ceiling and large windows overlooking the garden. This is the only room in the house to have a TV, but please note that there is no reception so this can only be used to watch DVDs. Please note that the piano use is allowed only under previous specific and detailed arrangement.

On the raised ground floor there is a cloakroom, a dining room connected with a fully equipped kitchen.

On the first floor there is a large double bedroom (with access to large terrace) with ensuite shower room and wardrobe, and two single bedrooms (one with access to large terrace) with an interconnecting bathroom. One of the single bedrooms is large and its single bed can be transformed into a double bed or set up as two adjacent single beds.

On the top floor there is a twin/double bedroom (two single beds that can be put together to form a double bed) (sloping ceiling) with private terrace and ensuite bathroom.

I consider the house low in allergens: there are no fitted carpets (only one rug at the entrance), the floors are either wooden or tiled, there have never been any pets and I can provide anallergic duvets and pillows. If you have any special allergy concerns, please enquire as I am very familiar with these issues.

AVAILABILITY - WORTH ENQUIRING EVEN IF LOOKS UNAVAILABLE

I do get booked up quite far in advance (5 months typically, especially at weekends).

I keep my calendar on the site updated, but this is my family home, not a rental property, so I may not be able to confirm availability very far ahead (more than 8 months usually). I keep waiting lists of interested parties for any dates I cannot confirm immediately. PLEASE DO NOT MAKE A BOOKING DIRECTLY WITHOUT HAVING CHECKED AVAILABILITY WITH ME FIRST AND GIVEN ME DETAILS OF YOUR GROUP AND THE PURPOSE OF YOUR STAY. I am afraid that I will have to reject any such bookings.

Some dates are available but only for a minimum booking of a certain number of nights - this varies with the time of the year, for many reasons. If you are looking for a short booking (1 or 2 nights), it is worth contacting me to confirm that the house is indeed unavailable and if not see whether I can release the constraint for you.

THE CLEANING CHARGE EXPLAINED

The cleaning charge is an extra charge on top of the rental charge. It is not an optional charge.

I will make up any necessary beds with clean linen and provide small and large bath towels, tea towels and tablecloths.

I expect to find the house as clean and tidy as I have left it, but there is no need for you to worry about washing the bedlinen or towels or dust.

The charge for cleaning is better considered a one-off charge per booking. The platform does not allow me to have a sliding scale of prices according to the length of stay so the "cleaning charge" provides that.

In any case, it takes two people 7 hours to get a large house like mine ready for a rental, plus a whole day of washing and ironing of the linen and towels, so really it is not cheap.

THE BREAKAGE DEPOSIT EXPLAINED

The breakage deposit I require is high because there are many valuable and fragile furnishings in the house and I expect people to treat my home with respect.

The breakage deposit needs to be paid via the holidaylettings platform but please note that it is refundable if there are no problems with the house.

It may be possible for me to forego the breakage deposit on some dates, if you rent the house on a non-exclusive basis (that is, me and my partner staying in the house) - please enquire.

CHECK-IN/CHECK-OUT TIMES

Check-in is from 6:30pm (late check-in fee £25 for checking in after 8pm) and check-out is 9am. Therefore, if you are renting the house just for a Saturday, the rental covers you arriving between 6:30 and 8 pm and leaving before 9 am. So renting the house for one Saturday night does not mean you have the house for the whole weekend.

However, it is usually possible to have full use of the house earlier and/or later than normal check-in/check-out times for an extra fee (£25 per extra hour) - please enquire. You can pay for this in cash on arrival or through holiday lettings.

It is also usually possible to drop your bags in the house earlier or leave your bags later than normal check-in/check-out times at no extra charge - please enquire.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

There is no charge for WIFI use.

The whole property is strictly no smoking; please do not rent my home if you are smokers.

The house is rented to you to use as a normal holiday home. Unless specifically agreed in advance, no other use is allowed, including but not limited to: parties, professional photography, movie recording, sound recording.

Please also note that as per UK law there should be no loud noise/music after 11pm.

Upon arrival, I need to see proof of identity for all in the party; please bring photocopies of your documents for me to keep.

Both the rental and cleaning charge vary with the number of guests; the house is rented to you for no more than the occupancy declared and agreed in the booking (not the maximum occupancy). No other people should be allowed in the house at any time.

ANY OTHER QUESTIONS - JUST ASK! I am fluent in English, French and Italian - please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions before booking.

Size Sleeps up to 18, 6 bedrooms
Will consider Corporate bookings, Long term lets (over 1 month), Short breaks (1-4 days)
Family friendly Great for children of all ages
Notes No pets allowed, No smoking at this property

Features and Facilities

Luxuries Internet access, DVD player
General Central heating, Telephone, Wi-Fi available
Standard Kettle, Toaster, Iron, Hair dryer
Utilities Clothes dryer, Dishwasher, Cooker, Fridge, Freezer, Washing machine
Rooms 6 bedrooms, 5 bathrooms of which 1 Family bathrooms and 4 En suites, Solarium or roof terrace
Furniture 1 Sofa beds, Single beds (7), Double beds (6), Cots (2), Dining seats for 12, Lounge seats for 13
Other Linen provided, Towels provided
Outdoors Balcony or terrace, Private garden, Bicycles available
Access Secure parking

Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor

Guest reviews no reviews

Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor

5 star
1
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Excellent 5/5

1 review Excellent 5/5

Help other travellers decide where to stay

Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.

Write a review

Write a review
Review 1-1 of 1

12 Apr 2014

5/5

"Beautiful house in a very central and charming area of London."

We had a realy nice weekend in this house. A big family of 16+ a baby. Enough room for everybody and space to meet for meals and hang out. Kitchen with every thing we could ask for. Easy to get from h… More

Review 1-1 of 1

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.

Close

Min stay varies

Changeover day Flexible

from£455/nighthelp

This is the estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Contact the advertiser to confirm the price - it varies depending on when you stay and how long for.

Book your stay

*
*
*

Subtotal

 Your dates are available

Contact the owner

Close

Payment options

You need to pay through the Holiday Lettings website to ensure your payment is protected. We can’t protect your payment if you don’t pay through us.Learn more

You're booking with

Giovanna D.

100% Response rate

Calendar last updated:19 Sep 2014

Based in United Kingdom

Languages spoken
  • English
  • French
  • Italian

Also consider

Central London/Zone 1
2221 properties
Central London/Zone 2
1154 properties
South West London
175 properties
East London, England
162 properties
West London
112 properties
North West London
104 properties
South East London
101 properties
North London
75 properties
Windsor
48 properties
Maidstone
40 properties
Tunbridge Wells
29 properties
Guildford
20 properties
Tonbridge
19 properties
Abbey Wood
15 properties
Horsham
11 properties
East Grinstead
9 properties
Hemel Hempstead
9 properties
Dorking
7 properties
Chertsey
6 properties
Lambeth
6 properties

Start a new search