List your home
Apply filters
£ to

Casciana The Farmhouse

from£68/nighthelp

Good 3/5 Score from 2 reviews

Farmhouse and gardens

Farmhouse | 2 bedrooms | sleeps 8

Key Info
  • Swimming pool
  • Great for children of all ages
  • No pets allowed

Perfect for a relaxing holiday!

This farmhouse is set in the spacious grounds of an old Watermill and the garden is bordered by a trout stream.

The house is traditional in style, and has stone walls, stone and wooden flooring, with original chestnut beamed ceilings throughout.

The setting is perfect for those looking for total peace.

There is a real feel of relaxation in the large garden, with the only sound to be heard, the river running at the end of the garden.

The river is particularly pretty at this spot and can be dammed for swimming/paddling, and there are plenty of trout if you

are a keen fisherman.

Very pleasant for walking.

There is also the private swimming pool of 10M x 5M to enjoy, the spacious garden, the decked patio area, and far enough away (but not out of sight) a shaded childrens play area.

The pool is a short walk from the house (50 metres), and is partially out of ground. However the beautiful terrace surrounding 2 sides, means pool feels in ground when relaxing around it......

The detached Farmhouse is set on two floors, and can be hired either separately or with the Mill House which sleeps 4+4 . Whilst the properties can be hired together, they are completely independent and each has its own pool

On the ground floor there is a hallway, leading on the left through to the large dining room.

The dining room leads to is a well equipped kitchen with dishwasher, fridge/freezer, oven, hob and microwave, and wood burning aga.

To the right of the hallway there is a large comfortable living room with open fireplace, and a good quality sofa bed. DVD, CD, WIFI internet available (€20 p/w).

Upstairs there are 2 large double bedrooms, each with additional single bed. These are not however your traditional 'family rooms' and are very well furnished and still romantic for two.

There is also a shower room.

Outside there is a BBQ and personal eating out area, and at the back of the house, 50M away is the Farmhouse's private pool of 10M x 5M with views over to the local ancient fortress.

There is also a large garden , the river for wonderful walks/paddling/swimming/trout fishing.

Shaded children's play area with swing, slide and seesaw which is shared with the Mill

Size Sleeps up to 8, 2 bedrooms
Will consider Long term lets (over 1 month), Short breaks (1-4 days)
Family friendly Great for children of all ages, Suitable for people with restricted mobility
Notes No pets allowed, No smoking at this property

Features and Facilities

Luxuries Log fire, DVD player
General CD player, Wi-Fi available
Standard Kettle, Toaster, Iron
Utilities Dishwasher, Cooker, Microwave, Fridge, Freezer, Washing machine
Rooms 2 bedrooms, 1 bathrooms of which 1 Shower rooms
Furniture 1 Sofa beds, Single beds (2), Double beds (2), Dining seats for 8, Lounge seats for 5
Other Linen provided, Towels provided
Outdoors Balcony or terrace, BBQ

Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor

Guest reviews no reviews

Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor

5 star
0
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0

Good 3/5

2 reviews Good 3/5

Help other travellers decide where to stay

Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.

Write a review

Write a review
Review 1-2 of 2

26 Aug 2014

4/5

"Very charming and quiet place."

We had a very good stay at Casciana. It was very quiet, no noise of cars or anything else...
Very well equiped house.
Very beautiful as well and cosy with the stove in the living room.
Everything was very clean, the house and the swimming pool.
And it 's a very large and beautiful garden.

21 Aug 2014

2/5

"Too enclosed difficult to reach cul-de-sac"

The house was OK, the toilet was up 2 1/2 flights of stairs although that was not really a problem. The floor in the living room was constantly wet which made it smell musty. The kitchen and bathroom … More

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, and if we were aware of medical issues prior to arrival we would have recommended that you did not come to this area with its bendy mountainous roads. It was clear immediately on arrival that this type of holiday was the wrong choice. The owner did her best to look after you.
The Farmhouse has been successfully let for 12 years, with many repeat guests as has the Watermill, with most guests loving the peace and quiet and the extensive gardens bordered by a trout stream.

The approach road is narrow and is steep in places, but it is perfectly passable in an ordinary size car. There is a horseshoe driveway at the bottom to make turning around easy, and we are sorry the other guests blocked it- we are sure they would have moved it if they had realised they were being thoughtless. They did have trouble with getting out too, but they had brought an enormous vehicle despite our recommendations not to bring a larger than medium sized car.

That said these guests have provisionally booked again for next year, so it is assumed the road/car was not a major issue.

For future guests, so long as you are a competent country driver with a small or medium sized car the access should be fine, and there is plenty of parking/a large turning area.

This house does not have the very open views that many mountainous properties have because it is riverside and in the valley, but it has a beautiful large garden, which many guests rave about, especially those with children as there is so much room! It is a real adventure for them and many dam the river to play there too.

As per the advert, the bathroom at this house is on the first floor next to the two bedrooms. We were unaware until the day before the guests arrived that they specifically wanted a ground floor bathroom/WC too. It was of course too late..

It is a real shame you only felt able to stay in the area for just over 3 days. We worked very hard trying to find alternative accommodation but anything we had was either situated up a steep or a bendy road. As fully discussed at the time, it would not have been fair to ask the owner (who relies on the income to live) to reimburse you your costs, as it was made clear by you at the time that there was nothing whatsoever wrong with the property. It was advised it was just that the entire location did not suit, mainly due to medical issues, and you preferred to go home. We tried our utmost to rent out the second week so that we could pay any rental direct to you as some form as recompense, but unfortunately with only 3 days notice it proved impossible to do so. We sent information to many people who had requested the house previously too, but they had either booked elsewhere or could not get reasonably priced flights at such short notice.
It is a real shame that this type of holiday was not for you, but I do not feel a 2 star review is warranted for this reason.

Review 1-2 of 2

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.

Close

Min stay varies

Changeover day Flexible

from £68 /night help

This is the estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Contact the advertiser to confirm the price - it varies depending on when you stay and how long for.

Contact the manager

Close

You're booking with

Lorraine Venturelli (Property Manager Tuscan Retreats Ltd)

  • 5 Years listed

95% Response rate

Calendar last updated:01 Oct 2014

Based in Italy

Languages spoken
  • English
  • Italian

Payment accepted

Credit cards accepted

Also consider

Marina di Massa
52 properties
Barga
49 properties
Fivizzano
47 properties
Castelnuovo di Garfagnana
42 properties
Coreglia Antelminelli
37 properties
Castiglione di Garfagnana
26 properties
San Romano in Garfagnana
24 properties
Gallicano
17 properties
Seravezza
16 properties
Villa Collemandina
16 properties
Pieve Fosciana
11 properties
Fosciandora
11 properties
Casola in Lunigiana
11 properties
Reggio Emilia
11 properties
Carrara
9 properties
Minucciano
9 properties
Vergemoli
8 properties
Molazzana
7 properties
Stazzema
6 properties
Massa
6 properties

Start a new search