List your home
Apply filters
£ to

SunnySide Lodge


Very Good 4/5 Score from 8 reviews

Sunnyside living room

Apartment | 1 bedrooms | sleeps 4

Key Info
  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Great for children of all ages
  • Car advised
  • Some pets are welcome - please contact the owner

Sunnyside lodge is a secluded self catering garden apartment located in central Broadstairs, two minutes from sandy Viking Bay and restaurants and cafes overlooking the sea. The apartment is the ground floor of a Regency period house, comprising a double bedroom, lounge, fully equipped kitchen and shower room. Period features include internal flint walls and a bay window.

Broadstairs has seven sandy beaches, promenades flanked with with terraced restaurants and pubs overlooking the ocean and seafront walks: westward towards Dumpton Gap and neighbouring Ramsgate with it's historic Harbour.

Eastward there is Stone Bay, Botany Bay and Joss Bay , ideal for wind and kite surfing. For anyone wishing to enjoy the East Kent Coast, Sunnyside Lodge features a central location, modern facilities in a period setting with garden outlook, 10 minutes walk from the high speed link to St Pancras.

Size Sleeps up to 4, 1 bedrooms
Will consider Corporate bookings, House swap, Short breaks (1-4 days)
Access Car advised
Family friendly Great for children of all ages, Suitable for people with restricted mobility
Notes Pets welcome, No smoking at this property

Features and Facilities

Luxuries DVD player
General Central heating, TV, CD player, Wi-Fi available
Standard Kettle, Toaster, Iron, Hair dryer
Utilities Clothes dryer, Cooker, Fridge, Washing machine
Rooms 1 bedroom, 1 bathrooms of which 1 Shower rooms
Furniture 1 Sofa beds, Single beds (1), Double beds (1), Dining seats for 5, Lounge seats for 4
Other Linen provided, Towels provided
Outdoors Shared garden
Further details indoors

The entrance to the lodge is via a private path meandering behind the houses in York Street. There are four steps from the roadside and then the property is on the flat. The entrance to the property has a conservatory style porch and its own front door.

Within the apartment there is one good sized double bedroom, with an on suite WC, a large hallway with a daybed, a living room, fully equipped kitchen and flint walled shower room. There is central heating in the living room , hallway and bedroom with additional heaters in the kitchen and shower room, should they be needed. Hot water is available 24/7 for the shower and kitchen. There is only cold water in the bedroom. The building dates from the early 19 hundreds and has a good deal of character. All rooms have garden views.

Further details outdoors

The garden itself is well established with many ' outdoor rooms' partitioned off with flowers, plants, bushes and trees. There are two cushioned loungers in one area, a small table and chairs in another and a large garden table with 6 chairs on decking. Both the apartment and garden are south facing giving a cheery and warm atmosphere particularly on sunny days.

Parking vouchers ( available from owner at £2.50 per day) to park in road directly outside the property. Free parking available two streets away

Further details

The flat is ideal for couples, or young families.

Children's paddling pool available on request as are number of board games and cards.

The South East England region

Due to its location they say that Broadstairs has a micro climate giving it the advantage of being more temperate than most of Britain with more sunny days.

However there are a number of places of interest to visit within the South East.

Canterbury with its awesome cathedral is half an hour away. Dover Castle with its World war II tunnels is a must at forty minutes away by care, with Deal and Warmer Castles and Roman Richborough fort all at less than an 20 mile radius.


Broadstairs is a unique unspoilt seaside town with the advantage of having a large number of international restaurants. The sandy beaches are a favourite with children , sport lovers and sailors alike. There are old fashioned rides, trampoline and a daily Punch and Judy show in high season on the main beach: Viking Bay. Neighbouring Joss Bay is a hit with windsurfers and kite surfers.

Broadstairs the jewel in Thanet's crown is flanked by both Ramsgate and Margate. Ramsagte with it pretty historic harbour, one of the original Cinq Ports, is 2 miles away. The walk along the seafront from Broadstairs to Ramsgate is a particularly beautiful one. If the tide is out you can walk along the Promenade all the way to Ramsgate beach going past a number of real seaside cafes serving very palatable food. If the tide is in crossing King George VI park to get to Ramsgate is very pleasant too.

Margate 4 miles from Broadstairs has currently undergone a transformation with the building of the Tate's new gallery: The Turner Contemporary. The gallery itself houses exhibition of classic of comtemporary art. Currently showing a Turner painting and new commissions by Daniel Buren, Russel Crotty, Conran Shawcross and Turner prize winner Douglas Gordon and Teresita Fernandez.

Viking Bay has a lift during the summer months from the Promenade to the beach. Firework displays are a regular event here in Broadstairs.

Due to its location they say that Broadstairs has a micro climate giving it the advantage of being more temperate than most of Britain with more sunny days.

Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor

Guest reviews no reviews

Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Very Good 4/5

8 reviews Very Good 4/5

Help other travellers decide where to stay

Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.

Write a review

Write a review
Review 1-8 of 8

30 Apr 2013


"Quirky garden apartment by the sea"

This spacious rustic apartment was a great inexpensive base for visiting family for my fiancé, our little dog and I. It is a converted part of the owner's house with a private entrance entered via a communal garden path. We found the apartment to be well equipped with a good level of cleanliness. As it is a conversion, the layout is a little quirky. (Shower is one side of the apartment, toilet ensuite to the bedroom.) but this didn't bother us too much. The location is great, but tucked away in a quiet garden.

The owners were friendly and helpful and set up a spare bed for my brother who stayed a couple of nights.

We were concerned the bed would be uncomfortable for a budget stay but it was very comfortable and we slept well.

If you don't fancy making breakfast we recommend the Beaches cafe on Albion Street. (Is also dog friendly) and the Thai opposite the apartment did a great take away.

15 Jul 2012


"We really enjoyed our stay and definitely intend to return!"

The booking and pricing was clear and simple and even before our arrival Eda (the owner) sent us lots of helpful information. Finding the flat was easy and we were delighted that it was merely a 5/10 … More

1 Jul 2012


"Enjoyable Holiday"

My Husband and I have just enjoyed an enjoyable week at Sunnyside.
It was good accommodation in an idyll location.
The owners were very pleasant.

1 Mar 2012


"Central , comfortable garden apartment with very pleasant garden"

I stayed at Sunnyside Lodge for a week last Summer. It had a very nice time . I liked the flat which was well furnished and found the kitchen well equipped. The double bed was very comfortable and I… More

29 Feb 2012


"Great weekend break"

I spent a long weekend at Sunnyside Lodge, Broadstairs with my boyfriend in August 2011. We had a wonderful weekend and the flat was great. The lounge is very spacious, bright and airy. The main sleep… More

29 Feb 2012


"A warm welcome and relaxing break"

My partner and I stayed at sunnyside lodge in November and had a wonderful stay.It is centrally located and yet retains a secluded quietness in its quirky surroundings (private path, conservatory and … More

28 Feb 2012


"Lovely relaxing weekend"

We had a lovely weekend - so relaxing. Am recommending Sunnyside to friends and family and hope one day to come back… More

21 Feb 2012


"Extremely low grade accommodation - not recommended"

Beware – this flat is a serious health hazard!
We stayed here for a few days in February – it was not very relaxing, and we seriously considered going home after the first night.
The plumbing is sub-standard, and electrics positively dangerous.
There are not 2 bathrooms, but one toilet (located inside the bedroom with no ventilation and a door that does not close) and a shower off the kitchen separated only by a curtain.
There is no peace - there is no sound insulation to the flat above in all the rooms, and the toilet has an incredibly loud pumped macerator which wakes you up in the middle of the night.
We have passed all this on to the owner who says she will deal with it; but we would strongly urge anyone thinking of booking to check with her first that all these matters have been put right.
The flat itself is in a lovely spot, and could be really nice (for 2 people – not 4!), but has been completely ruined by a poor conversion and extremely low standard building work.
Unfortunately therefore not recommended in its current state.

We are so sorry to hear you didn't have a nice two nights in Broadstairs, and are disappointed that you did not let us know in person…we would have responded immediately to do all we could to make your stay more comfortable.

It seems only fair to address the concerns listed one by one:-

* The flat has been occupied by family members and guests consistently and there are no discernable grounds for the assertion that 'the flat is a serious health hazard'. (The electrics have been checked and approved by a qualified electrician and we have a current gas safety certificate.)

* No mention was made of dissatisfaction when we spoke during your stay. We could certainly have agreed to cancel: there was already evidence of our flexibility when we rescheduled your arrival day on short notice, at your request.

* The plumbing reflects the idiosyncratic nature of the Georgian building, it is perfectly serviceable and efficient.

*The apartment is advertised as having an ensuite WC in the bedroom and a flint walled shower room off the kitchen. I added an additional curtain to keep the warmth in, as it was so cold in February. (See floor map in apartment description). The inside handle on the WC door was missing, and has now been replaced.

*It is extremely important to us that our guests are happy, so in order to cover all eventualities the macerator has been serviced and the bedroom ceiling has had further sound insulation. The flat above is fully carpeted.

Our guests to date have enjoyed their stay - solo travellers, couples and families of 4 – and on our part we will be working to maintain and keep improving the flat and its garden. We just want people to be happy and have a nice time here.

Thanks for the time you took to write this review.

Review 1-8 of 8

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.


Book your stay


Min stay varies, Changeover day Flexible


Sleeps 4

from £46 /night help

This is an estimated cost based on a weekly stay. Enter your dates to see exact cost.


Enter dates to see your price

This home can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank transfer)

Pay online via Holiday Lettings with your credit/debit card or your PayPal account to be covered by Payment Protection

Contact the owner

Need more information first?


This home can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank transfer)

Pay online via Holiday Lettings with your credit/debit card or your PayPal account to be covered by Payment Protection

You're booking with

Eda K.

  • 3 Years listed

45% Response rate

Calendar last updated:23 Aug 2013

Based in United Kingdom

Languages spoken
  • English
  • French

Payment accepted

Paypal accepted

Credit cards accepted

Also consider

184 properties
123 properties
111 properties
Ashford, Kent
77 properties
71 properties
53 properties
46 properties
44 properties
New Romney
34 properties
28 properties
Clacton on Sea
24 properties
23 properties
20 properties
Isle of Sheppey
19 properties
Romney Marsh
18 properties
Herne Bay
9 properties
8 properties
Burnham on Crouch
7 properties
Hythe, Kent
7 properties
6 properties

Start a new search