List your home
Apply filters
£ to

Penny Cottage

from £40 /night help Price for guests, Nights

Excellent 5/5 Score from 15 reviews

Excellent 5/5 

from £40 /night help Price for guests, Nights

Estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Excludes fees (if applicable). Enter your dates to see the total cost.

The front of the cottage, mind your head as you enter!

Cottage / 2 bedrooms / sleeps 4

Need more information about booking Home 522664 ?

Cottage / 2 bedrooms / sleeps 4

Key Info
  • Beach / lakeside relaxation
  • Nearest beach 5 km
  • Not suitable for children
  • Car not necessary
  • No pets allowed

Beautiful little 16th century grade 2 listed cottage in the centre of Braunton's old village and conservation area, Penny Cottage is small and cosy and has been completely refurbished in 2013. Exposed oak beams, woodburning stove, steep wooden staircase, latch wooden doors all add to the character of the cottage to make your stay relaxing and comfortable. Fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, microwave, fridge, range cooker and slate worktops in the open plan downstairs; upstairs into bedroom 1 with double bed and through to small landing with door to shower room with walk in shower and bedroom 2 with double bed. Central heating is fitted for the Winter or for just a chilly evening use the woodburning stove in the lounge. Penny Cottage is only a 2 minute walk from Braunton's cafes, bistros and pubs or a 5 minute drive to Saunton beach, 7 minute drive to Croyde beach or 15 minute drive to Putsborough or Woolacombe beaches. On road parking right outside and storage for your surfboards, bikes, wetsuits, etc nearby at the owner's B&B.

DISCOUNT OFFER - There will be a discount on the price of Penny Cottage if you would like to bring your own bed linen and towels at £20 for 2 guests and £35 for 4 guests per week. Please contact the owner for details before booking.

Size Sleeps up to 4, 2 bedrooms
Nearest beach Saunton Sands 5 km
Access Car not necessary
Nearest Amenities 200 m
Nearest travel links Nearest railway: Barnstaple 9 km
Notes No pets allowed, No smoking at this property

Features and Facilities

Luxuries Log fire, Internet access, DVD player
General Central heating, TV, CD player, Wi-Fi available
Standard Kettle, Toaster, Iron, Hair dryer
Utilities Clothes dryer, Dishwasher, Cooker, Microwave, Fridge
Rooms 2 bedrooms, 1 bathrooms of which 1 Shower rooms
Furniture Double beds (2), Dining seats for 4, Lounge seats for 4
Other Linen provided, Towels provided

The Devon region

Close to Exmoor National Park with the Valley of the Rocks and Lynmouth a must visit. Nearby Barnstaple, Bideford and South Moulton with their Pannier Markets, shops and bistros/restaurants. Braunton itself has a good selection of cafes, bistros and restaurants or pubs within a few minutes' walk or drive to one of the nearby villages such as Croyde or Georgeham and try The Thatch, The Rock or The Kings Arms, all of which have an excellent reputation for food and live music.

Braunton

Only 5 minutes from Saunton Sands, 10 minutes from Croyde Beach and 15 minutes from Woolacombe beach. The Tarka Trail passes right through the village with miles and miles of flat cycling or walking pathways with plenty of tea/coffee stops! Whether you are a surfer, kite boarder, wind surfer, paraglider, walker, cyclist or golfer there is something for everyone close by.

Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor

Guest reviews no reviews

Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor

5 star
13
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0

Excellent 5/5


15 reviews Excellent 5/5

Help other travellers decide where to stay

Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.

Write a review

Write a review
Review 1-10 of 15

13 Mar 2015

5/5

"Great convenient cottage for 2"

We have just returned home from our fabulous stay at Penny Cottage. We have stayed before and find it big enough for our needs. It is a few minutes walk from the village, so the lack of kitchen cup… More

18 Jan 2015

4/5

"Good but with some reservations"

We stayed for a long weekend in the run up to Christmas, for myself and my mother, the size of the property was ideal, any more people and you would probably feel a bit cramped. Our stay was a bit mix… More

Firstly, apologies for the delay in responding to your review and thank you for your positive comments. I am so sorry you had a few issues with your stay at the cottage, we have tried hard and spent a lot of money on the cottage trying to make everyone's stay as comfortable as possible.

In March/April 2014 we had an Australian couple staying in the cottage for 6/7 weeks and asked them to identify improvements as the cottage had been up and running for a few months by then. They had no damp issues and this has not been mentioned by any other guests; the only reason I can think of is the fact that the cottage is around 500 years old and the walls are Cob; they are meant to breathe and absorb moisture from inside and out. We have also had the cottage inspected for damp in 2013 and it was given a clean bill of health. All crockery, cutlery, utensils and saucepans are stored on open shelves, not in cupboards and all cupboards are wiped out between guests.

In respect of the neighbours, in the last 2 years we have had no complaints about noise so I can only apologise. Regarding the lack of cupboard space, again, we have asked for specific feedback about this from the first few visitors as we could easily put in some eye level cupboards. The unanimous response was that it was fine as it is as most people on holiday eat out a lot. We also have an elderly mother/daughter couple that visit us regularly and eat in most nights. I have spoken to them and their feeling is that they do not do a 'big shop' but use local shops regularly so no problems. Woodburners can be temperamental (this one was new in 2013 and is certificated and in perfect working order) and this is why we do specify in the 'helpful information' booklet to contact us to come and show guests how to use it properly if they are not familiar with them.

Finally, regarding the parking, the whole of the Church Street area is 5-700 years old, a conservation area and no provision has been made for parking cars. Obviously, there is nothing we can do to change that apart from saying that the parking at the Church is less than a 1 minute walk away and all of the residents/holiday makers that use this area can pull in to pick up/drop off outside their houses and all the locals are very patient with this.

Thanks again for your feedback which always helps us to improve.

4 Jan 2015

5/5

"Great base for exploring North Devon"

Penny Cottage is small but beautifully appointed with everything you need for a comfortable holiday. It's in walking distance of shops and restaurants in Braunton, a short drive to Ilfracombe and Barnstaple, and near Saunton Sands and Croyde.

5 Nov 2014

5/5

"What a gem!"

Well i almost don't want to tell you how wonderful Penny Cottage is because if i do you will want to book it and there will be less free dates for me!!!Joking apart, if you have been looking for … More

2 Sep 2014

5/5

"cute, cosy and relaxing"

We spent a lovely week at penny cottage, with a great introduction to the property from Nigel, including an interesting history of the cottage.The cottage was stocked with everything to get us going i… More

11 Aug 2014

3/5

"Mixed feelings."

Overall, we had an enjoyable stay at the cottage. It definitely has an authentic charm and is close to local amenities. However, we did encounter a few problems:1. Unable to park near property 2. Co… More

23 Jul 2014

5/5

"Quirky, charming, comfortable, & deniable un-leaveable!"

We had a week in Braunton (no children) and it was superb. We know the area well and it felt like coming home. Penny Cottage is the most delightful accommodation to stay in. Sympathetically decorated… More

7 Jul 2014

5/5

"Stunning Cottage - Brilliant location"

We stayed at Penny Cottage on the 28th June for a week, the cottage was clean and really well looked after. The owner Linda had added a few extra touches by leaving us milk, bread etc. and some yummy … More

16 Jun 2014

5/5

"Clean, modern, bright, homely"

We had a fantastic few days away staying at Penny Cottage. Excellent location for bodyboarding at Croyde Beach. We loved the added touch of homemade lemon drizzle cake, went very well with a cup of tea. Cannot wait to visit again.

26 May 2014

5/5

"Home from home - very relaxing week"

Great comms booking the Cottage with Linda who was very prompt with replies to my emails /requests.My husband and I booked Penny Cottage for a week but were able to get into the cottage a day earlier … More

Review 1-10 of 15

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.

Check price and book
Your dates are available

Book your stay

Enter dates for more accurate prices

*
*

7 Nights min stay

Sleeps 4

    from £40 /night help

    Estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Excludes fees (if applicable). Enter your dates to see the total cost.

    Rental cost
    Owner fee
    Subtotal

    Subtotal

    Enter dates to see your price

    Owner fees cover things like cleaning. Click Book now to review a full breakdown of the cost before making your payment.

    This home can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank transfer)

    Pay online via Holiday Lettings with your credit/debit card or your PayPal account to be covered by Payment Protection

    Contact the owner

    Email the owner
    *
    help

    Tick this box to request a quote for your stay. The owner will email you the total cost for your dates and a link to book and pay online. Note that other guests may have received a quote for the same dates. The first one to pay gets the booking, so make your payment asap to secure your holiday.

      This home can only be paid for online through Holiday Lettings using your credit/debit card or PayPal (never by bank transfer)

      Pay online via Holiday Lettings with your credit/debit card or your PayPal account to be covered by Payment Protection

      You're booking with

      Linda T.

      100% Response rate

      Calendar last updated:23 May 2015

      Based in United Kingdom

      Languages spoken
      • English

      Don’t let an old browser slow down your holiday

      Your browser is out of date and might not work well with our website. Download the latest version to speed up your hunt for the perfect holiday home.

      Just click on the icons to get to the download page

      We've updated our Privacy Policy. You can read it here.