List your home
Apply filters
£ to

Apartment | 1 bedrooms | sleeps 2

Key Info
  • Suitable for children over
  • Car not necessary
  • No pets allowed

A delightful 1st floor apartment in an attractive period building, Captain's Cabin is furnished and decorated to a high standard by its Owners to provide comfortable holiday accommodation.

This apartment is considered as being in one of the best locations in Beer. A charming village property a stones throw from Beer beach, this cosy much loved apartment is ideal for a holiday let any time of year.

Size Sleeps up to 2, 1 bedrooms
Access Car not necessary
Family friendly Suitable for children over 5, Suitable for people with restricted mobility
Notes No pets allowed, No smoking at this property

Features and Facilities

Luxuries DVD player
General TV
Standard Kettle, Toaster, Iron
Utilities Clothes dryer, Cooker, Microwave, Fridge, Washing machine
Rooms 1 bedroom, 1 bathrooms of which 1 Family bathrooms
Furniture Double beds (1)
Other Linen provided
Further details indoors

Shared hall and stairs to first floor. Private door to contemporary lounge/dining room with new good quality furnishings. 3 seater sofa and 2 armchairs. Also a new dining table and chairs and Samsung TV. The room offers a pleasant outlook over Beer's main street and Jubilee gardens from two windows. There are glimpses of the sea. Compact fitted kitchen with wall and floor units, new electric slot-in oven, washer/dryer and microwave. Bedroom with a 4' double bed, cupboard, wardrobe and new wall mounted flat screen TV with DVD. Shower room with cubicle, basin and WC. Storage and airing cupboard.

- Bedlinen included. Electric night storage heating and immersion for hot water. Additional electric convection heating. All electricity included. New flat screen TV and DVDin lounge.

Further details outdoors

Refuse store. Public car park one minute walk. All shops very near.

The West Country region

The Dorset and East Devon Coast, known as the Jurassic Coast, features many natural landmarks including Lulworth Cove, Chesil Beach and Durdle door, and extends over 95 miles from Exmouth to Christchurch, offering a selection of the finest sandy beaches to be found in the UK.

It is the only natural UNESCO World Heritage Site in England, ranking the Jurassic Coast alongside the Grand Canyon and Great Barrier Reef as one of the natural wonders of the world.

Exploring the Jurassic Coast

The Jurassic Coast is ideal for exploring on foot, by bicycle or on horseback. All of our cottages in East Devon are situated in what are known as the 'gateway towns and villages' to the Jurassic Coast. For further information on each village and the accommodation we have to rent please click on the relevant link below or seach our Devon Cottages .

Beer

A holiday cottage in Beer will tick all the boxes - the little fishing village with the big heart and the most idyllic venue for your Devon holiday.

The beautiful and unspoilt village of Beer has everything you could want for a traditional coastal holiday and with over 40 unique holiday cottages in Beer to choose from, at Jean Bartlett Cottage Holidays we are confident that we have the idyllic coastal cottage just for you.

There is an excellent selection of local shops in Beer (village store, newsagents, Post Office, off-licence, bakery, deli, several eateries, 3 local inns, art galleries, antique shops) and of course the beautiful horseshoe shaped beach - a real sun-trap with clean waters, rock pools at low tide and beach cafes serving great breakfasts and home-made treats. See the local fishermen bring in their catch, hire a boat, watch some sailing and then curl up for the evening in your Beer holiday cottage.

Once discovered, never forgotten - Beer has a magical charm which brings visitors back year after year and is one of the most popular locations for walking holidays in Devon. We also have a number of dog friendly cottages to rent in Beer, Devon.

For your perfect holiday cottage in Beer please browse our selection of holiday cottages below and see our Food and Drink in Beer to help plan your perfect Devon holiday .

Our website also contains lots of ideas on what to do and where to go to make the most of your holiday - so why not check out our Things to do in Devon to find something for everyone.

Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor

Guest reviews no reviews

Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor

5 star
0
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0

Good 3/5

2 reviews Good 3/5

Help other travellers decide where to stay

Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.

Write a review

Write a review
Review 1-2 of 2

21 Sep 2013

3/5

"Nice location, limited accomodation with basic facilities"

This apartment is in an excellent location just yards from the shingle beach, but needs updating to kitchen and shower room. Nice size lounge, but the rest of the accommodation very limited in size. B… More

Thank you for your review, which we have tried to take constructively.

However, whilst some of the points you make have some basis of truth, others are factually incorrect, and we would like the opportunity to address these.

It is true to say that this is a compact apartment for two people, but we have never deliberately described it as anything else. There are photographs, available to view online or in the brochure before booking, which clearly show the layout of the rooms and the facilities available.

The 'owner' that you describe visiting the apartment regarding the plumbing issue was in fact the agent. Whilst we cannot comment on exactly what was said, as we were not there in person, we can assure you that we have personally taken this issue up with the agent together with asking why the apartment was not as clean as you would have expected to find it. We can only apologise for this, and must also add that we too were also disappointed to discover this to be the case, as we pay for a cleaning service as part of the contract with them and there appears to have been oversight in this case.
But we cannot let the inaccuracies you mention go without comment. The cooker is less than 6 months old (we have the receipt to prove it), as the microwave is less than 12 months old. In the bedroom a new flat screen TV has been wall-mounted, with new curtains and a new headboard in the last year too. That is in addition to the new flat screen TV in the lounge in the last year.

Over the last 3 years since we have been the owners, we have had a continual programme of investment into the property and have also bought a new dining table and chairs, sofa and chairs, TV cabinet, nest of tables, new rug, new curtains for the lounge etc.
We accept that there is always room for improvement, and as you can see, we are committed to constantly making enhancements where possible. But we will not accept your view that this apartment is sub-standard. This is independently reviewed each year and the apartment is cuurenly awarded a 4 star rating.
Thank you once again for your review. We only wish it could have been more balanced and accurate.

Liz & Garry Sewell. Owners.

14 May 2012

3/5

"Nice place but small"

The location is lovely for this apartment. Opposite a fab pub with good food and lovely regulars. The apartment itself was a little disappointing, as the double bed was a 3/4 size bed in a tiny bedroom with no room to move.The lounge was lovely, but the TV setup was something else, needs a good digital aerial. The heating system (storage heaters) wasnt very warm and not put on before arrival when the weather had been so cold. Kitchen & bathroom ok, but both very tiny. Parking nearby for a weekly fee fine. Being so near to the beach area great and able to buy fresh fish from the fishmonger every day was also a big bonus.

Review 1-2 of 2

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.

Close

7 Nights min stay

Changeover day Sat

from£35/nighthelp

This is the estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Contact the advertiser to confirm the price - it varies depending on when you stay and how long for.

Contact the manager

Close

You're booking with

Paul Douglas-Jones (Property Manager Jean Bartlett Cottage Holidays)

  • 3 Years listed

Calendar last updated:11 Aug 2014

Based in United Kingdom

Languages spoken
  • English

Payment accepted

Credit cards accepted

Landline
+44(0)129723221

Also consider

Bridport
193 properties
Lyme Regis
99 properties
Exeter
94 properties
Exmouth
66 properties
Axminster
66 properties
Sidmouth
65 properties
Seaton, Devon
64 properties
Honiton
62 properties
Beaminster
61 properties
Dawlish
60 properties
Beer
49 properties
Colyton
42 properties
Chard
27 properties
Branscombe
21 properties
Budleigh Salterton
20 properties
Ottery St Mary
14 properties
Charmouth
10 properties
Broadwindsor
9 properties
Cullompton
7 properties
Crewkerne
7 properties

Start a new search