List your home
Apply filters
£ to

The Saltings, Batheaston, Bath

from£65/nighthelp

Excellent 5/5 Score from 24 reviews

A fully restored Grade II listed cottage with easy access to Bath and the surrounding countryside

Cottage | 1 bedrooms | sleeps 2

Key Info
  • Nearest beach 56 km
  • Not suitable for children
  • Car advised
  • No pets allowed

The Saltings is a four star rated Grade II listed one bedroom cottage with an interesting history dating back to the 16th century. Up to around 100 years ago it was used as a place to salt the meat for what was then a butcher's shop on the high street, part of the same building.

The conversion to a high quality holiday let was completed in 2011 by the owners, John and Jane Moon.

As well as retaining as many of the original period features of the property as possible, John and Jane have enhanced the building's character through careful use of stone and wood to create a unique and very comfortable, character property, ideal for couples looking for a romantic or relaxing break or a single person seeking a peaceful haven.

The secure car parking space in front of the cottage is just one of the features which makes the Saltings high on convenience.

Size Sleeps up to 2, 1 bedrooms
Nearest beach Weston Super Mare 56 km
Will consider Corporate bookings, House swap, Long term lets (over 1 month), Short breaks (1-4 days)
Access Car advised
Nearest travel links Nearest airport: Bristol 35 km, Nearest railway: Bath Spa 5 km
Notes No pets allowed, No smoking at this property

Features and Facilities

Luxuries DVD player
General Central heating, TV, Wi-Fi available
Standard Kettle, Toaster, Iron, Hair dryer
Utilities Clothes dryer, Dishwasher, Cooker, Microwave, Fridge, Freezer, Washing machine
Rooms 1 bedroom, 1 bathrooms of which 1 Shower rooms
Furniture Double beds (1), Dining seats for 2, Lounge seats for 2
Other Linen provided, Towels provided
Outdoors Balcony or terrace
Access Parking
Further details indoors

The open plan living, dining and kitchen area with oak and stone features combines tradition with 21st century technology including under floor heating, state of the art Smeg hob and oven, dishwasher, integrated Bosch fridge/freezer, Samsung flat screen TV and DVD player, integrated washer/dryer, sumptuous leather Chesterfield settee and small dining table.

The spiral staircase to the upstairs bedroom is a little tight for those with limited mobility but adds yet more character.

Again, under floor heating and lots of wood and stone provide a perfect combination of tradition and luxury in the bedroom and ensuite shower room.

A super comfortable king size bed, with Egyptian cotton bedding will guarantee you the best possible night’s sleep.

Travertine tiling adds further luxury in the shower room, where you can be cosseted with plenty of Egyptian cotton towels.

You will find a small selection of books, CDs games and DVDs or just plug in to the ‘I-pod ‘ doc to enjoy all your favourite sounds. There is WiFi but try to resist the temptation to use it for work. We want you to relax and get away from it all!

Further details outdoors

The Saltings is tucked into the corner of a private courtyard. Next to the parking space is a small raised flower bed with a wooden seat which has great views of the countryside below.

If you wish to bring a bicycle, we have a covered bike shed.

Further details

Weekly lets or long weekends or short breaks, two days minimum. We can be flexible according to what suits you. Contact us to discuss.

Check in anytime after 4-00pm. We would appreciate you checking out before 10-30 am. In less busy periods, we will try to give you more favourable check in and out times.

Non refundable surcharge of £10 per stay. The surcharge covers accidental damage during your stay up to £100.

Cancellation

Should you need to cancel your booking please confirm this in writing. The following charges will apply from receipt of the cancellation:

Guests cancelling up to 8 weeks before the start of the holiday will receive a refund of 50% of the amount paid.

Guests cancelling up to 4 weeks before the start of the holiday will receive a refund of 25% of the balance paid.

Within the immediate 14 days prior: No refund (unless we can fully relet the property when we will refund in total less £50.)

If you wish to reschedule a booking we will do this free of charge for the first amendment if it's outside the immediate eight weeks prior to your booked arrival. You will have to pay the difference if swopping other than like for like. Within eight weeks of your booked date or for more than amendment, we will charge an additional admin' fee of £25 for rescheduled bookings.

We would only cancel your booking if your accommodation was unavailable for reasons beyond our control. In this unlikely event, we would attempt to offer you alternative accommodation. If this was not possible or unnacceptable to you, then we would refund all monies paid by you for the booking. Our liability would not extend beyond this refund.

The West Country region

Bath is at the centre of an almost unrivalled tourist area which offers year round entertainment and activities for young and old alike.

The beautiful countryside of the Cotswolds and Mendip hills offers plenty of opportunities for sightseeing, walking, cycling or just chilling out.

Country pubs, Michelin starred restaurants, historic buildings, great nightlife, festivals all year round - what more could you want?

Use Batheaston as a base or as a destination in its own right.

Access is from the M4 from the East or M5/M4 from the South or North. Bristol airport is within 45 minutes drive and the Bristol-London rail line provides regular services to Bath Spa station, which is an inexpensive bus or taxi ride from Batheaston.

Bath

Bath is a World Heritage tourist destination, its history dating back to pre Roman times. It is now acknowledged as the second most popular tourist destination in England and the 4th most popular in the UK.

Renowned Georgian architecture rivalling that of Paris, Venice or Rome has been enhanced in recent years with the addition of the £45+million Thermae Bath Spa, Britain's only natural thermal spa, featuring the natural mineral waters which first attracted the Romans, who named Bath, Aquae Sulis. The http://www.thermaebathspa.com offers every kind of luxury pampering experience, including the open air roof top hot bath, which is not to be missed.

But it's not just about history and architecture.

Bath has some of the best shopping, eating and drinking experiences to be had.

The new Southgate shopping area features all the quality brand names housed in impressive Georgian style buildings and complements the famous Milsom Street and the myriad of streets, alleyways and passageways housing many unique shops and designer boutiques.

When it comes to food, the choice spans everything from grand Michelin starred restaurants to family owned bistros cooking the best local produce. Amongst some of the best known names are Jamie Oliver's "Jamie's Italian" in Milsom Place and Michael Caines at The Priory as well as a huge choice of other eateries including an authentic Sushi restaurant, wonderful tapas and a quirky Nepalese dining experience You will be further spoilt for choice by the massive selection of Indian, Chinese, Italian, French, Far Eastern and British food on offer.

After your meal, Bath's evening entertainment is similarly diverse. Our number one recommendation and that of Trip Advisor is the 'Bizarre Bath' comedy walk. This is a brilliantly funny experience and is listed in Trip Advisor's top 10 of 'things to do' in the whole of Europe! The Theatre Royal, Komedia comedy venue or the Little Theatre, showing those hard to find films are popular choices or enjoy a sophisticated drink at Hall and Woodhouse. You can round off the night with a boogie at one of Bath's many night clubs.

At almost any time of the year, Bath is host to a huge number of festivals. These include the world famous 'Bath Music Festival', the 'Bath Food Festival' and many others covering comedy, banjo, guitar, street performance, costume and so on.

Many of Bath's visitors come just to explore the Roman Baths and Pump Rooms, whilst the Abbey, the Circus, the Royal Crescent and the Assembly rooms are just a few of the sights you can catch from one of the many open top bus tours.

Or you can spend the day on the look out for the famous! Amongst those known to either live or spend time in and around the City are Johnny Depp, Nicholas Cage, John Cleese, Van Morrison, Midge Ure, Manolo Blahnik and Jonathan Dimbleby .

Batheaston provides easy access to all those delights but is also a destination in its own right. Situated at the foot of Solsbury Hill, made famous by local resident Peter Gabriel, the village nestles at the end of the Cotswold Way. Bordered by the river Avon, where you can fish, take a boat ride or enjoy a waterside drink and a bite to eat. Or why not be adventurous and take in some 'wild swimming' at the fabulous Claverton Weir? It's an easy cycle or good walk from Batheaston and is a gorgeously beautiful place and one of Britain's best wild swimming spots. Also easily walkable is the Kennet and Avon canal, with its immensely popular 'George' public house, right by the water. Or wander up into St Catherine's, a valley so beautiful, Jane Seymour made it her home and welcomed the likes of Robbie Williams and other celebrities. The Saltings has already welcomed a couple of 'celebrities' to stay, but discretion is assurred so we won't say who. Other 'stars' who appreciate Batheaston's qualities and have made it their home include Ian Holloway the manager of Blackpool football club.

Batheaston has a fascinating history, much of it reflected in it's many ancient Cotswold stone buildings. Between 1909 and 1912, Batheaston was the refuge and home of the suffragettes. The most famous, Emmeline Pankhurst, was amongst many who helped establish an arboretum in the village as a symbol of their hopes for political equality.

Within a short drive of the village you can visit Castle Combe, often claimed to be England's prettiest village (check out the motor racing circuit too!) and Lacock, a National Trust owned historic village which featured in the Harry Potter films. Longleat Safari Park is an easy 30 minute drive.

Post office, pubs, traditional English fish and chip shop, mini supermarket, chemist, newsagent and hairdresser can all be found in the village, just a few minutes walk from the Saltings.

Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor

Guest reviews no reviews

Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor

5 star
21
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0

Excellent 5/5

24 reviews Excellent 5/5

Help other travellers decide where to stay

Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.

Write a review

Write a review
Review 1-10 of 24

9 Oct 2014

4/5

"Beautiful, homely cottage. Great location"

I booked The Saltings as a suprise birthday weekend for my boyfriend. Loved the location, all so friendly in the area. The cottage is very well equipped, very snug - the oven unfortunately did not want to play. We would book to go back. Thank you

Hi. Glad you had a nice time with us. Sorry about the oven - it just decided to stop working while you were there, which was unfortunate for you. All fixed now but we realise it's not great when it happens to you. It was perfectly fine immediately before your stay but faults can happen anytime. Anyway, we are pleased you would like to book again. :-)

26 Sep 2014

3/5

"a negative arrival experience"

We were lost trying to find the cottage (there is no signage or numbers on the street) and tried to contact the owners by phone and text. Received a text message saying "I don't understand … More

Jennifer,

I'm very sad you chose not to tell the whole truth about your visit here and gave us a 3 star review, which you admit is due to your arrival experience.

As you well know, the reason you had problems is that you did not read any of the arrival instructions, which are very clear and which I know you received. In 3 years, we have had no problems with guests finding their way or indeed accessing the cottage. Your issues were entirely of your own making - it's a shame you did not have the decency to admit this. You left numerous answerphone messages on my mobile phone, all of which were very rude and accusatory, as you clearly expected me to be meeting you there even though the instructions explicity said no-one would meet you. But you did not read them, or at least you did not read them properly - the address is on them so you would not have found us at all if you had not had the instructions! You also chose to quote a small part of my text message, out of context. You conveniently 'forgot' to say that I also wrote, "I have very little signal here so struggling to call you. John"

I was in the middle of a field, with virtually no signal, when you were trying to contact me and, as you know, I rang you immediately I received your messages. We had a very brief conversation before I was cut off again. I then stopped what I was doing and took a long walk to an area where I had signal and immediately called you. You snapped "Just give me the code" (the code to access the property, which of course is in the instructions) and you then put the phone down. When I tried to contact you, you did not answer my calls.

So to justify your low rating, you have resorted to the desperation of trying to pick a few small faults, which are unjustified. On Tuesday, we had our latest inspection from 'Visit Britain' who found the cottage to be as perfect as ever and gave us another 4 star rating for this forthcoming year.

We have every concern for people's welfare. Our 67 five star reviews for our courtyard properties clearly show this. I responded as soon as I could and Deborah, our house keeper tells me she rang you at 4pm, (as she does with all guests) just before you actually arrived, to check everything was ok, but you did not respond to her.

I have never had to write a response in this manner and I'm sorry if I'm rather forthright, but I am still shaking and very upset at the false way in which you have represented your experience. The reality is you should have apologised to me for speaking to me in the way you did, when the probems you encountered could so easily have been avoided if you had simply read the email we sent you. I interrupted my afternoon to try to help and this is how you choose to repay me.

We pride ourselves on providing outstanding properties and customer care, which you would find hard to beat in any hotel. Thankfully, our other guests seem to appreciate this and we enjoy dealing with them and seeing them return on numerous occasions.

John

12 Sep 2014

5/5

"Excellent cottage, great location"

Great little cottage, some basic kitchen provisions were included which was a nice touch. The cottage was modern, well maintained and clean. Parking space right outside. Short drive into Bath centre a… More

Thanks for the review and we are pleased you liked the Saltings and the area.

2 Aug 2014

5/5

"Away from bustle of Bath but so close"

If planning a trip to Bath would highly recommend staying at The Saltings in Batheaston. Has the charm of Bath but without the traffic you confront when visiting in school holidays, summer. The apartm… More

Oh, thank you so much for your compliments, it was a pleasure to have another happy person stay with us. Glad you appreciated what we have to offer and hope to see you again soon. Regards John and Jane

2 Jul 2014

5/5

"Lovely little cottage"

We had a fabulous stay at the saltings. The cottage itself is well presented and tucked away just off the main road which makes it very peaceful. Surrounded by country side with beautiful views and on… More

Thank you so much for your kind compliments. Glad you loved it!

25 May 2014

5/5

"Excellent little cottage"

Everything the previous reviewer said is absolutely true. We spent a week here to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we felt comfortable and enjoyed every minute. The only problem that we had was… More

Hi. Very pleased you enjoyed everything. We are glad you had the 'problem' of wanting to stay longer and hope it can be resolved by coming back again soon :-)

12 May 2014

5/5

"Hidden Gem"

From the start.Directions to the cottage were very accurate. Dedicated parking spot right outside the door.The owners had supplied lovely scones plus a bottle of wine, and all the tea,coffee and sugar… More

Well, we are flushed with pride at your lovely compliments, thank you so much. The scones are a relatively new 'experiment'. You were some of the first to have them but it sounds like we will carry on with them. One of our lady cleaners makes them herself and we thought they were delicious, so it's nice our guests think so too. We would love to have you back again and we will keep trying to find ways to make it even better :-)

4 Nov 2013

5/5

"Fantastic cottage, cosy, warm and welcoming"

Lovely cottage just on the outside of Bath town centre roughly a 5 minute drive.
Great views surrounding the cottage. W
ould definitley return to the cottage.
Nice and secure just off the road and very convinient with a country feel.

Thanks for taking the trouble to write, we really appreciate it and hope to see you again soon! :-)

2 Nov 2013

5/5

"The Saltings - a beautiful place to stay :)"

Just had 3 fantastic night stay at the Saltings . It is a fantastic cottage, just perfect for 2. From the start it was 5 stars...a great welcome pack and bottle of wine greeted us. The cottage is very… More

Hi,

Lovely to read your warm review and to hear you will make a return visit. Thanks for writing and see you soon!

John and Jane

21 Oct 2013

5/5

"beautiful property"

Just got back from are wonderful week in Bath, had the most amazing time and the cottage just made it more special. The welcome pack was a lovely surprise eggs, milk, the nicest butter I've ever… More

We really appreciate you writing and are so pleased you had such a lovely time. As you saw, the Saltings is quite small, but we try to make it as perfect as possible. Not sure there would be room to squeeze in an armchair, but we will think about it. :-)Hopefully, we will see you in Bath again soon.

Review 1-10 of 24

This advert is created and maintained by the advertiser; we can only publish adverts in good faith as we don't own, manage or inspect any of the properties. We advise you to familiarise yourself with our terms of use.

Close

Min stay varies

Changeover day Flexible

from £65 /night help

This is the estimated nightly price based on a weekly stay. Contact the advertiser to confirm the price - it varies depending on when you stay and how long for.

Book your stay

*
*
*

Subtotal

 Your dates are available

Contact the owner

Close

Payment options

You need to pay through the Holiday Lettings website to ensure your payment is protected. We can’t protect your payment if you don’t pay through us.Learn more

You're booking with

John and Jane M.

  • 3 Years listed

100% Response rate

Calendar last updated:20 Oct 2014

Based in United Kingdom

Languages spoken
  • English
  • French

Payment accepted

Paypal accepted

Credit cards accepted

Landline
+44(0)1225852789
Mobile
447813084046
Skype name
edisonmoon
Website
Visit site

Also consider

Bath
479 properties
Wells
101 properties
Cheddar
81 properties
Bristol
69 properties
Shepton Mallet
54 properties
Devizes
49 properties
Frome
47 properties
Chippenham
32 properties
Malmesbury
31 properties
Warminster
29 properties
Axbridge
20 properties
Wotton Under Edge
18 properties
Chepstow
18 properties
Westbury
16 properties
Wedmore
16 properties
Wootton Bassett
13 properties
Dursley
11 properties
Clevedon
8 properties
Trowbridge
6 properties
Calne
6 properties

Start a new search