from £29 /night help
Apartment | 2 bedrooms | sleeps 6
Lovely frontline beachside apartment with direct views of beach & Atlantic Ocean. Ideal romantic break or family holiday. Situated in Isla Canela a comparitively quiet beach resort a short distance from the authentically Spanish town of Ayamonte. Known as the 'Coast of Light' Costa Del La Luz offers gorgeous white sandy beaches, National Parks, magnificent golf courses & generally a less spoiled feel than other Costa's.
Isla Canela has its own marina with shops, bars & restaurants. Ferries run regularly to Portugal from Ayamonte & it is well sited to explore The Algarve, Portugal, 1 hr from the majestic city of Seville, and 45 mins from Donana National Park. Watch closely as you look across the Rio Guadiana to Portugal as Dolphins can be seen in natural habitat. Seagoing adventures also available from Marina Isla Canela. Relax on our large terrace & enjoy the unique light, or head for Punta Del Moral the nearby fishing village & sample freshly caught fish. Paddle tennis courts available.
|Size||Sleeps up to 6, 2 bedrooms|
|Nearest beach||Local beach 20 m|
|Will consider||Long term lets (over 1 month), Short breaks (1-4 days)|
|Nearest travel links||Nearest airport: Faro International Airport 45 km|
|Family friendly||Great for children of all ages, Suitable for people with restricted mobility|
|Notes||No pets allowed, Yes, smoking allowed|
Features and Facilities
|Luxuries||Internet access, DVD player, Sea view|
|Pool||Shared outdoor pool (unheated)|
|General||Air conditioning, TV, CD player, Satellite TV, Wi-Fi available|
|Standard||Kettle, Toaster, Iron, Hair dryer|
|Utilities||Dishwasher, Cooker, Microwave, Fridge, Freezer, Washing machine|
|Furniture||1 Sofa beds, Single beds (2), Double beds (1)|
|Other||Linen provided, Towels provided|
|Outdoors||Shared outdoor pool (unheated), Balcony or terrace, Shared garden|
|Further details outdoors|
The apartment complex does provide ample sun beds for around the pools. However, we also provide light weight sun loungers for the beach & 'the sun trap' on the terrace. Please note i now have had a diswaher installed too :)) ****FREE WIFI!!!***
Smoking allowed in outside space on balcony/terrace.
Taxi or coach transfer can be arranged from Faro airport. Taxi transfer can be arranged from Seville airport or for small fee we do offer a 'meet & greet' service.
Owner representative available in area.
All linen is provided including towels but not beach towels.
Change over day is flexible and end of stay cleaning is included in the price.
End of stay cleaning, Hot & cold air conditioning & British TV channel are FULLY INCLUDED in the price listed.
The Andalucia region
The Costa de la Luz meaning the coast of light is in Andalucia southern Spain and covers the provinces of Huelva & Cadiz. Away from the predominently comercialised and touristy areas like the Costa del Sol it has been left unspoilt and remains an oasis on the Spanish coast. Very popular with Spanish tourists and the locals will be sure to give you an open and warm welcome. The whole of the Costa de la Luz is a refreshing change when comparing it to the usual resorts and devlopments one associates with Spain. It has been more sympathetically developed than the Costa del Sol - local towns and resorts retain their Spanish culture and character.
The coastline is renowned for its beaches and are arguably the best in Spain. Miles of fine golden and white sands stretch out before you . Deep, wide and considerably quieter than so many beaches in other tourist resorts and without the high rise developments that monopolises many of the other Costa's. A perfect area to relax, in peace as you will always find that perfect little spot.
If you want to spend your holiday in an authentically Spanish part of Spain then the costa de la luz is the place to come. For sport lovers then you can have a holiday with surfing, windsurfing, kitesurfing and try your hand at the many golf courses that are available. It is also a great area for a cultural holiday too with lovely 'White Villages' and authentic Spanish towns like Ayamonte or majestc cities like Cadiz and Seville. In addition, this part of the Costa De La Luz is so close to Portugal that you get two countries in one trip! Visit the beautiful beaches and established resorts of the Portuguese Algarve - it's so close it would be a shame not to!
Costa De La Luz has typical Mediterranean weather, there are approximately 300 days of sun annually, with an average of 11 hours of sun during the summer. Temperatures during summer months 25-30c, sometimes more. Winters in Costa De La Luz are extremely mild, with an average of 5 hours of sun a day throughout the winter. The temperature rarely drops below 3ºC. It is worth packing warm clothes for the evening in the winter. Hot and cold air conditioning available.
Isla Canela or the beaches of Ayamonte on the Costa De La Luz. Often known as the Spanish Algarve possibly because of the close proximity to The Algarve, Portugal. 1 hr from Seville. Close to La Rabida the start of Columbus's epic journey that discovered the Americas. Visit Donana National Park. Take a ferry trip across Rio Guadiana to Castro Marim, a medieval town in Portugal. Experience the many top class golf courses within the Isla Canela area & in Portugal.
Availability Your dates are available
Guest reviewsPowered by TripAdvisor
Guest reviews no reviews
Guest reviews Powered by TripAdvisor
- 5 star
- 4 star
- 3 star
- 2 star
- 1 star
Very Good 4/5
Help other travellers decide where to stay
Add your voice to the conversation about this holiday home and your review will appear on TripAdvisor too.Write a review
12 Oct 2014
"Peaceful and beautiful beach and sea"
A very quiet time of the year but with enough facilities open to suit our needs. The weather was nice and warm (25-28 degrees) and the sea was wonderful.
Very good market in Ayarmonte, excellent fish as well as good fruit veg and local produce.
Apartment was well equipped and everything was fine.
28 Aug 2014
"Great apartment and location"
The apartment its very well equipped , nice decorated and great location for the beach. Would definitely recommend for a holiday with great beaches and good accomodation at a reasonable price.
Everything is as the owner description and as the photos . Can't really come up with anything negative.
The owner is extremely friendly and will do the best for you to have a memorable stay.
I would definately recommend this to everyone.
Thank you for taking the time to review our apartment. It was a pleasure to have you stay and hope you come back again soon :))
12 Mar 2014
"Winter break in Isla Canela"
Excellent location with front line view of the sea. For summer this is an ideal holiday location but the recent loss of English language TV in that part of the world puts a question mark against winter rental. The apartment and gardens are well maintained with excellent safe underground parking.
Thank you for taking the to review my property. Yes, I am sorry to hear that during your stay the whole of Southern Europe lost BBC & ITV channels. The reason for this is that the satellite company has moved the satellite and it now transmits from an angle that is impossible to pick up from Southern Europe even with the largest satellite dish available. However, we have NOT lost all British TV channels but we have lost BBC & ITV. I am currently researching a solution (as are most of the expats living in Spain & Portugal) & it is very likely to be internet based. I am confident that I will have a solution before next winter and am aiming to get it rectified before the start of summer 2014. So, if anyone is considering a winter let please do not let this comment dissuade you. There is always a solution it's just a question of working out the right one and best one. I am happy to see that we still received 4 stars despite the unexpected loss of BBC/ITV, I thank you for that & hope to hear from you again next winter when I will have resolved the satellite TV issues.
10 Nov 2013
The apartment has a fantastic view overlooking the ocean, enabling us to watch the sunrise over the Atlantic, and even see the ocean from the kitchen. The apartment is in a quiet location, from which one can either drive or walk down the lovely walkway by the ocean to bars or the marina. The keys were easy to collect, and parking simple. The paddle courts were available at all times. The flat is in very good condition, and contains, a dishwasher, washing machine, TV with many English channels and DVD player. I would definitely recommend staying here.
Thank you for taking the time to review our apartment. I am pleased you got so much pleasure out of it and I agree with you the sunsets are amazing from the terrace. It was a pleasure doing business with you and if you are looking for an apartment in that area again, don't hesitate to get in touch. You would be most welcome.
16 Aug 2013
We had a great holiday at this apartment. Fantastic views of the sea and a nice resort. The apartment had everything we needed including sunbeds we could take down to the beach. The small kitchen was very well equiped. It was a bonus to be able to watch British TV making the apartment a home from home.
I am pleased you enjoyed the apartment and the close proximity to the beach. If you are looking in the area again, don't hesitate to get in touch. I'd love to hear from you again.
1 May 2013
"Great Appartment & Beaches"
Great apartament. Beach just in front of the apartment, beautiful landscape and all as the photos show. It was perfect in everyway, well equipped with everything that I needed to enjoy my Spanish holiday. The promenade was lovely and there are plenty of places to eat/drink/shop.
Would definately recommend this holiday for its great beaches and great accomodation at a very reasonable price.
Thank you for taking the time to review my apartment - its most appreciated. I am pleased to hear you had a great time and that you found the apartment well equipped. Yes, the seafront walk is a particular favourite of mine too especially when you can stop off at bars and restaurants en route! I look forward to hearing from you again in the future - You would be very welcome!!
19 Mar 2013
"Excellent Location and beach."
We stayed in the apartment for five weeks in Jan/Feb 2013 and found it ideal for exploring the region, walking and relaxation.
The complex, which is secure and well maintained, is well situated within minutes of a beautiful beach and a paved promanade stretching from Punta del Moral marina to Isla Canela beach. Ayamonte, which has some very good resturants, is ten minutes drive away. Portugal is easily accessible either by ferry or across the bridge.
The apartment was clean and adequately furnished, and the heating and English television were very welcome on cold evenings! The well furbished balcony has a sea view. The Kitchen is compact but manageable and the washing machine and dishwasher are in a separate utility room. We found the bathroom spacious enough for our needs, though lacking adequate ventilation, having no window.
We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would by quite happy to stay there again
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and loved the beach walks. They are rather special and its so handy! Like most holiday destinations, Isla Canela is somewhat quieter out of season and some of the walkable bars/restaurants are closed for holidays during January. However, its good to know you discovered the joys of Ayamonte where, because its a traditional town as opposed to a seaside resort, life just goes on whatever the season. And yes, there are an abundance of restaurants! I'm happy to note that you found both the washing machine and dishwasher & that you found the kitchen well equipped :)
I take your point about the bathroom not having an extractor fan. However, the steam tends to be more of a winter issue as majority of guests tend to shower with much cooler water during warmer months & the air is warmer so less condensation. But even in the winter months it does clear very quickly. I will, however, discuss the cost/benefits of installing an extractor fan with a builder next time I visit. The next time you get the opportunity to visit the area please do not hesitate to get in touch. You were great guests and would be most welcome!!
19 Sep 2012
"Good location but too small"
we stayed in the house two weeks and it can be nearer the beach, just 100 meters away. looks on the terrace are great.
However, the house is quite small (we were a couple and a baby) and the kitchen is very small, unconfortable and it is not well advertised in the photos. The equipment is quite spartan and some things need to be replaced/fixed (for example, the bin is broken, some lamps dont work,...). Take into account that there is not washing machine. So if you are planning to go with kids and intend to cook this is important.
The pool is great and the car park is next to the house so it really helps. The bathroom was a little bit worn out and was small also.
The place is very beautiful, although the beach next to the building isnt very clean. We went to the beach in punta del moral, which is 5 minutes by car and is much better.
Take into account that if you want to use the air conditioned and the English TV you have to pay 10 Pounds extra for each one.
Thank you for the feedback. Although, I have to say, I am completely shocked and dismayed by what you have written. We take good Customer service extremely seriously and I am saddened that you did not contact me directly to give me the opportunity to resolve some of these issues & clear up the inaccuracies before leaving such disparaging comments. Now all I can do is make counter comment and try to guess what it is you're referring to – sadly, not very constructive for either party.
I am surprised that you believe the apartment is small particularly since there were only 2 adults and a baby in your party. The apartment is 75m2 with a 21m2 terrace – the dimensions are on the website. The average size of a holiday apartment is between 60-70m2 and at 70m2 they comfortably sleep 6. I accept that the kitchen is compact yet other reviewers describe it as “small but well equipped”, “compact but you have everything you need” “small but kitted out well”. I fail to understand your description of “spartan”. If that means what I think it means, then I can only imagine that some things were missing or you didn't find them. Again, without any specific details of what was not there, or the opportunity to help you whilst you were on holiday, I'm powerless.
There is very little I can say about the photo – it is as it is. No special lenses or effects were used it was taken completely naturally & I don't believe it misleads.
You mention there is no washing machine that is simply not true. There is an excellent washing machine, less than 2 years old, in the utility room. It was there when you stayed and is still there now. There is not, however, a dishwasher but it was never advertised as having one - the website shows very clearly what is included and what isn't. Having said that, I have been thinking of having a dishwasher installed and will be doing cost analysis during my next visit. So readers this may change - please check the detailed list of equipment on the website for latest situation.
You mention that the lamps were out. I have contacted my agent in Spain and I understand you went directly to them to get lamps fixed ie bulbs replaced, instead of contacting me and allowing me instruct my own maintenance team & monitor the situation. I am disappointed that you did this, particularly since your contract was with me, not the agent. Also, booking conditions clearly state that you must contact me whilst you are on holiday if there is anything you are unhappy with. There is good reason for this. The contract I have with the agency is emergency key release and cleaning only. It does not cover maintenance as I have my own maintenance team and the agency just let me know if maintenance is required. It seems that when you contacted the agency they investigated & took action on their own accord, as a favour to me. I understand that, once investigated, some bulbs had blown and they were replaced. Also there was a fault with the lounge light and, as you had 2 fully functional lounge lamps, it was deemed “out of order” until an electrician could check it. It has since been replaced with a new fitment. The agency are, however, adamant that when they left you, you were completely happy with everything. Sadly, I can now only take their word for it.
I am astonished to read you thought the bathroom was “worn and small”. I wish you had been more specific because I am at a loss to what you are alluding to. The apartment was only built in 2005 and is far from worn - all the ceramics and tiling, cabinet etc are perfect. Apart from on going maintenance, the apartment always has bi-annual maintenance check including end of season refresher, an itinary check, equipment is checked, small repairs are done and its painted where necessary. Nothing is worn. I understand, however, from my agent that the shower screen came off and a screw was missing but this was fixed during your stay. Again, it is not worn and it works perfectly, so I'm confused. If you could send me an email explaining what you mean I would be pleased to hear from you.
With regard to the size of the bathroom, I do not have the dimensions here but I believe it to be standard sized with a 4 piece bathroom suite. I will get the dimensions and post them on the website so readers can judge for themselves.
Yes there is a small optional surcharge for British TV and Air conditioning during mid to peak season. This is clearly stated on the website and in any documentation prior to and during the reservation process. You were made fully aware of the charge and that it is optional. Incidentally, had you booked through a local agent they charge 8€ per day for air conditioning.
As I said earlier, I consider good customer service as high priority and I'm dreadfully disappointed that I wasn't given the opportunity to rectify these issues. All my holiday accommodation is of a high standard – nothing is worn, its well equipped and has a washing machine. I urge readers to look at other websites where this apartment has been commendably reviewed many, many times to obtain a more balanced assessment.
26 May 2012
"Excellent apartment, clean, tidy and right on the beach"
Apartment very clean and tidy,kitchen compact but everything is there if you want to prepare your own meals. You can eat indoors or do as we did and sat on the balcony for breakfast watching the sun rise. The excellent beach is only 20 yards away and was never crowded. Secure gated complex means your hire car is safe and the on site pool is large and safe for children. The whole complex is kept immaculate and was remarkably quiet when we were there. Plenty of excellent restaurants in Punta Del Moral and Ayamonte. Good idea to hire a car to visit some of the enchanting little villages like Sanlucar and El Rompido. Well worh visiting inland Portugal, superb villages and lovely people.
Would not hesitate to go back to this apartment.
Thank you for taking the time to review our apartment. I have to say, Im with you on the balcony.. its a real sun trap & a joy to sit in. I've spent many an hour watching fishermen, cockle pickers and beach lovers go about their day. Im very happy you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to hearing from you again soon. You will be very welcome.
You're booking with
- 6 Years listed
90% Response rate
Calendar last updated:26 Jan 2015
Based in United Kingdom
Credit cards accepted
- Faro District
- 8005 properties
- 271 properties
- 134 properties
- 109 properties
- Isla Cristina
- 99 properties
- El Portil
- 96 properties
- La Antilla
- 70 properties
- Punta del Moral
- 47 properties
- Punta Umbria
- 42 properties
- 37 properties
- El Rompido
- 31 properties
- 26 properties
- 26 properties
- 23 properties
- 19 properties
- Nuevo Portil
- 16 properties
- Pinheiros Altos
- 10 properties
- Rocio, El
- 7 properties
- Lakeside Village Quinta do Lago
- 6 properties
- Sanlucar De Guadiana
- 6 properties